We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well intentioned, well located...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well intentioned, well located...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Enjoyed a few days in this hotel by the sea.

+'s:
- location: easy walk into town, well lit and safe trot in to have a wander and Essaoira is perfect for casual exploring
- free parking across road from hotel with security
- big room (no need to book suite in my opinion) with balcony and a choice of view - pool or sea
- big comfy bed with great pillows
- sunbeds/towels on beach
- outside restaurant by pool has some buzz at breakfast time

-'s:
- food, not great quality and rather spendy, I would recommend eating out - plenty of options on the doorstep
- lovely bar, but no-one in it so zero athmos- shame as they could do more to promote this and encourage people in; the hotel is rather dead generally of an evening
- breakfast buffet - reasonable selection of breaded goods, some hot options, cheese/ham and fruit. Coffee not so hot or good, which is strange in Morrocco. Also they don't replenish the coffee, for example as is typical elsewhere
- no tea/coffee making facilities in room, which I appreciate is not a standard 5 star thing but I like a camomile tea before bed!
- hotel could do with a decor freshen up, it's a little dated

Probably the main issue with the Medina,the staff are nice and there are lots of them but one has to ask for everything and typically wait some time for it to appear. Having staff circulate at meal times asking if everything is okay or would you like more of x or y would be appreciated I'm sure.

Room Tip: Don't bother with a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmoraItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear AmoraItalia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

Your opinion is very important to us,we will take the necessary actions, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I certainly would be very pleased to see you again on a next visit at Essaouira.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    524
    171
    60
    35
See reviews for
306
744
93
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was our first stop on our honeymoon. Overall we were really pleased with it all and would recommend although only through 'offer' prices as our value for money included visiting with a Groupon.

The pool, breakfast, room, room service, cocktails and general service were all great. Not being particularly bilingual was not an issue here as most spoke English sufficiently if not very well.

The room did end up with ants roaming around but we had a small amount of snacks around and part of the scenery was large plants reaching up the side of the building. Although annoying it couldn't be helped much.

The wifi was very temperamental which led to quite a bit of frustration. When offered it should be consistent either way so that customers know what to expect.

The bed was the largest I think I've ever seen and the room was fantastically dark with the curtains drawn so 5 stars there.

Unfortunately the spa services were quite lacking, not in what was on offer but the organising of doing any. We waited for more than an hour whilst one other couple were served. I know there is a line to draw between giving customers a focus and importance whilst moving them a long in good time but they were WAY off in our single experience.

Overall very nice, would recommend to couples and families (there's lots to do in Essouira for all) but the price was high when not on offer.

Room Tip: Pool facing is not windy. Sea facing is windy but has an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Andrew,

I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa MGallery.

Your feedback is very important to us,I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

I hope to receive you another time with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

stayed 7 nights staff very helpful we found service to be very good in need of refurbishment but rooms very clean as was all of the hotel pool area nice place to chill out drinks average price for hotels we had lunch round the pool and food very good we had a great time in essaouira and would like to thank all the hotel staff for playing there part in making our holiday memorable stayed september 2013 travelled as a couple

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy2255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Andy,

Thank you very much for your message.

I appreciate that you take time to give us your feed back!

I will transfer your comment to my staff; it is the biggest reward for their daily effort and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Booked on hotels.com based upon location and good star rating and T/A reviews. Very much as billed - nice rooms, good amenities, lovely pool, great for the beach and town. Could do with a bit of a refurb/tidy up but not a major problem.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnygoogles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Jonny,

Thank you very much for your message!

Happy that you enjoy your stay, all the staff hope to welcome you soon in this Hotel!

I hope to receive you another time in Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Overall I was very impressed.
At check in my friend waved his Accor platinum card about and we were given an immediate upgrade to a junior suite which was really big and had an enormous balcony.

As others have noted here the hotel does indeed need a thorough renovation especially the hallways (the carpets are truly revolting - more a case of wipe your feet on the way out rather than on the way in) and the room itself is very dated although still very clean and comfortable.

The pool area is very nice and we didn't have any problems getting sunloungers.
We found all staff to be friendly and helpful especially the staff on duty at breakfast - breakfast was very nice, at tables around the pool, with a big selection. Only criticism was that neither the tea nor the coffee were ever particularly hot.

The first coupe of days we were here a tray of aftenoon snacks was left in the room which was a nice touch. I can't comment on the restaurants as we didn't try them - there are lots of high-quality restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Our favourites were la Licorne and la Decouverte.
Overall, I'd recommend it - I'd also thoroughly recommend Essaouira which is a lovely sunny seaside town full of nice restaurants and interesting little streets.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you very much indeed for having taken the time to write your opinion in Tripadvisor and to express your satisfaction following your stay at Le Médina Essaouira hotel Thalassa sea & spa .

I will not hesitate to share it with the entire team.

I hope to receive you another time .

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

If you read through the last dozen reviews you get the same feel as we do. It's trying hard to be something they are falling short of. This is a great shame. Some staff are excellent and attentive and some are going through the motions. The pool and decking need a serious refurbishment. We witnessed 2 people having incidents where the poolside / decking gave way underfoot. Unacceptable. We agree with all past comments. Ideally located for beach and medinas. I would recommend the 'BAR' just 5 minutes away towards the port. Cheap local beer - ice cold and great views of the coast or local football games. Goals and fighting! Just like Ice Hockey!!

Otherwise all the usual expectations of hotel life. The staff need a bit more motivation about the priority of service and the hotel revenue it generates rather than being tipped as a desire to do the job.

Loved all the restaurants in the hotel. Give this hotel a go before Essaouira develops.

Finally we would not like a standard response from the hotel management. Mix it up a little. Some of the more hard working staff would benefit from management experience and some of the managers from starting again and learning that standing round looking serious in a shirt and tie is not what hotel service is all about. Step back and look again as if with fresh eyes.

Room Tip: Rooms to 100 + face the pool. No issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy.lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Andy,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa MGallery. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At MGallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Thank you again for taking the time to contact us and please accept our sincerest apologies.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We arrived here from a few days in Marrakech and the difference in the whole area and in particular this hotel was fantastic. On arrival we were ushered to the sofas in the reception area and immediately offered a very refreshing cold towel and a glass of mint tea. All the registration process was completed in comfort and the receptionist was particilary friendly and helpful.

Our car was parked across the road in a small section reserved for the hotel. Parking was free.

The room we had was a pool view one and was spotlessly clean and very spacious. The balcony was well equippped with a lounger, chairs and a table. Perfect for a very pleasant start or finish to the day.

The room was immaculate with a huge king bed. The quality of the sheets and pillows made the bed one of the most comfortable I have experienced anywhere in the world. There was even an evening turn down service which is becoming very rare even in 5* hotels nowadays. Even the small chocolate was very good!

The room had the usual minbar which was restocked with complimentary water on a daily basis. The seperate toilet was handy and the actual bathroom was bright and clean. Towels were of an acceptable standard and replaced daily if required.

Breakfast choice was faily standard but again the quality of the fruits, meats and cheeses were very high and were always fresh. There was a hot station doing omlettes, fried eggs and a few local specialities made to order.

We also ate in the main restaurant mid afternoon. The food was half the quality and 4 times the price of what you can get within 5 - 10 mins walk from the hotel.

The hotel location was excellent with the medina and fish market stalls just a few minutes away.

The medina is a delightful place to wander with none of the agressiveness of the shop keepers that we experienced in Marrakesh with the prices markedly cheaper.

The food stalls beside the fish market are an essential visit for any fish and seafood lovers. Just pick your own ingredients, haggle the price and that will mean the freshest of freshest fish meal anywhere in the world!

All in all Essaouira is defiantely worth a few days to relax and you can do a lot worse than Le Medina Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlaswegianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment; I’m going to share it with the entire team of Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

I will be pleased to see you again in Essaouira

Best Regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#23 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
5.2 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection

Property: Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Address: Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#17 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a sumptuous Moroccan riad, the facade of the Sofitel Thalassa Essaouira is painted the traditional red of Mogador. Set on the coast, close to the medina, this charming luxury hotel furnished with thuja and lemon wood cabinets, provides direct access to a luxury thalassotherapy centre. Enjoy an unforgettable leisure and fitness break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea And Spa - Mgallery Collection
Accor Thalassa Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira
Essaouira Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing