We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great location”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I wouldn't say that this hotel qualifies to be a 5 star hotel, but it's wonderful location just a couple of blocks away from the medina in Essaouira and the great service worth of it. Rooms are very comfortable and quite, breakfast is good if not perfect. As a whole this hotel applies for a great relief in the frentic Moroccan style.

Room Tip: Even if you may prefer a room facing the sea, if what you need is quietness, the ones facing the swi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricio_Odw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Patricio,

Thank you very much for your message.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel.

I hope to welcome you home again.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    543
    181
    63
    37
See reviews for
323
772
97
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

If there is a price for the worst interior design, this hotel will definitively qualify. This old Sofitel looks like a worn out abandoned hotel and as they could not sell it to a new owner, decided to keep it in the Accor group. As far as I am concerned, a wrong decision. I am sure some 10-15 years ago this probably was the best what Essaouira had to offer. However, the hotel is in dire need of refurbishing. Apart from the appalling interior taste (never seen such a random collection of furniture, colors, randomly placed in the reception area, a front desk absent of any attractive design, simply an affront to the senses. The first room we were shown as appalling, many details simply wrong. Hopelessly outdated furniture, a balcony where the plants were absent or dying to lack of water with a view on the very dated pool area. Rooms are small, balcony and blistered woodwork, two hangers in the closet, one of which was so often used that the color on the hangers partly disappeared, no slippers, a annoyingly slow internet. Atat 3:10 am at night we wer woken up by the TV suddenly flashing up, making a horrible noise. One small bottle of water for a room of two persons. Noisy, you can hear the neighbours showering.
In short, whoever is the ownner should close this hotel for a thorough refurbishment. Its really not up to standard to 2013. To present themselves as a 4 (even some say: 5) star hotel is an affront to taste. Ae left the hotel after one night to change for the Sofitel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGeeks2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment, I appreciate that you take time to give us your feed back!

I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

I hope that this experience will not leave you with a bad impression of the Hotel.

Thank you again for taking the time to give us your opinion and please accept our sincerest apologies.

Best Regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

There are so many reasons not to like this hotel; the greatest of which is the horrible service. When we arrived, they asked us to sit and wait even though we had a reservation. They insisted on 3000 deposit; more than 3 times the rooms rate. Because their connection for the credit card didn't work, they made us sit and wait until for 45 minutes before they allowed us to go to the room! Then they put us in a room where the halls had just been varnished and the smell was horrible, ****Note - the hotel was basically empty. We saw only a few people the entire stay. There were so many rooms they could have put us in - but they chose the worst available. We asked to move - more waiting. That room was filthy. There was blood in the tub! I ended up cleaning it just so we could get some sleep after the long trip.

One outlet did not work, the other was protruding dangerously out of the wall and gave a shock when we tried to charge a device.

What the hotel did not know was that I was previewing the property for a 30 person 30 day stay for a language/cooking intensive. Obviously, after the poor service we will book elsewhere.

As far as the hotel - its in bad shape. Paint was peeling EVERYWHERE! The floors were dirty ad the napkins at breakfast were stained. There were pre-made crepes and they girl responsible for heating them picked them up with her ungloved hands. Use a tong or gloves - but not your bare hands when handling food!

I asked in advance if the pool was heated. The hotel said yes - but it wasn't. The indoor pool was heated - but only available after 7 since they reserve it for spa (not hotel guests) I asked if anyone was booked in the spa and they said no - but we were told we had to wait.

The list goes on, and on, and on....

The location is great - but the service was horrible and the hotel in bad shape. I would only recommend based on the location. There was a hotel next door that was smaller, but we took our meals there and the food and service were excellent.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter -but the smell from the varnish permeated the entire hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Noelle,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa MGallery. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At MGallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect, opposite a private beach and 5 minutes walk to the walls of the old town of Essaouira you couldn't ask for a better location. It used to be the Sofitel but since Sofitel has opened a brand new resort in Essouira it has been "downgraded" to a McGallery Collection and whilst there was nothing particularly wrong with it I can see how it is starting to fray around the edges both in decor and service levels and it just needs a little bit of a push to get it up to a higher standard again.
Upon arrival we waited for 5 minutes until anyone helped us with our luggage up the steps, check in was complicated and slow and there was some confusion with my booking.
Once all that was sorted we went to the rooms - if there is one thing that this hotel needs to do as an absolute PRIORITY it is to replace the carpets in the corridors. They were disgustingly old, tatty and stained and it really did not give a good first impression.
Once inside eh room all was well again, clean, spacious with great comfortable beds, fluffy duvets and pillows and all in all a good sleep experience.
The bar area is very homely with big leather sofas but they insisted in having a TV blaring out at all hours when in fact no one was paying the slightest bit of attention to it and was much happier having their own conversations with the people with whom they were sitting - please bar staff take the hint and turn it off (Or at least the volume down) when no one is watching.
The outdoor pool was a reasonable size and we also loved the raised terrace with hammocks and enormous cushions where we spent relaxing hours reading in the early November sunshine!
You can only access the indoor pool, hamman etc after 7pm, in the day it is reserved for paying spa guests, The hamman is very nice - dark and cavernous and very hot as it should be!
Breakfast was good with a wide variety of freshly made items - all in all this hotel has got definite potential to be 5 star again but just needs to go up a gear to get there. A definite 4 stars but not in the 5 star league.
Everything you read about the wind chill in Essaouira is true - by evening time it was long sleeves and jackets for us - don't forget to pack accordingly!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJT999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Guest,

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

I noted all your negative remarks; please accept my sincere apologies. I will take the necessary actions with whole teams.

I hope to welcome you soon in better conditions

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The room and the bathroom were both very nice and clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The private balcony was also very nice for relaxing.

We found the service to be professional and efficient. We ordered room service on the second day when we wanted to leave early. The food arrived at the time requested. The buffet breakfast was decent and had a variety of items.

The location is great. We had a rental car, and there was free parking across the street. It is about a five minute walk to the medina along the beachfront.

Overall we found it good value and definitely recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rabnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Rabnut,

I appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa MGallery. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I will have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and had a great time. The hotel is well placed just outside the Medina and opposite the beach. They have generally good facilities, but the side of the pool which gets the sun is a little small and they did run out of towels! The Hammam is very nice - very dark and cave like!

Apparent from the fact our room wasn't ready when we checked in we would have little to complain about - all of the people were very nice and the hotel-organised tour of the Medina was very informative. Not a 5 star hotel by European standards (it needs some refurb work) but altogether very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelA632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Joe,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa MGallery.

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0.6 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#23 of 74 in Essaouira
1,080 reviews
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#18 of 74 in Essaouira
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
678 reviews
5.2 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
623 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection

Property: Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Address: Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#17 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a sumptuous Moroccan riad, the facade of the Sofitel Thalassa Essaouira is painted the traditional red of Mogador. Set on the coast, close to the medina, this charming luxury hotel furnished with thuja and lemon wood cabinets, provides direct access to a luxury thalassotherapy centre. Enjoy an unforgettable leisure and fitness break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea And Spa - Mgallery Collection
Accor Thalassa Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira
Essaouira Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing