We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with outcome.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Brough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed with outcome.”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Having recently done a two stay holiday in Marrakech and Essaouira with the second leg at Le Medina we were devastated after discovering we had left our camera by the pool and that it was not there nor had it been handed in after realising it was missing. It never occurred to us that this would be the case. This is a five star hotel, you would expect your belongs to be safe, of course we appreciate that leaving your valuables accidentally unattended there is a risk but with hotel security ever present we can not understand how a camera can disappear and the Management are not able to locate it. We even offered a reward but to no avail. Sadden by our loss as the camera held many special memories, not just from this trip but others that as yet we hadn't managed to download, we returned to the UK with promises from the Management that they would contact us with news. This of course did not happen and we had to chase through our tour company. So for the reasons that our valuables were not safe on the hotel premises and the Management failed to resolve to a satisfactory manner or keep to their word that they would be in touch we would have to say this has left a very bad taste in our mouths and would not recommend nor stay again at Le Medina.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 486hayleyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Hayley,

First and on behalf of le medina team I want to thank you for the interest that you have shown by choosing our property,

Regarding your problem, I want you to be sure that we have done all the necessary search and investigation in order to find your camera, elsewhere, we’ve been aware that you had a talk with our GM who was on a leave recently but she didn’t forget about your issue and her assistant was in contact with your agency giving them all the explanations and the development regarding your camera lost case.
As you know Sir, the pool side it’s a public area patrolled day and night by our security team besides it’s under camera surveillance, all these precautions are dedicated to assure the security and safety to our hotel residents.
However our hotel policy regarding the loss of valuable objects it’s very clear.

At the end, we want to express our sincere sorrow for what happened during your stay in le medina, and we still doing our best to find your camera.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    536
    177
    60
    37
See reviews for
313
764
96
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We decided to move across from (the not so nice) Marrakesh to the subtle, serene splendor of Essaouirra and stayed at the majestic Le Medina. The staff were overly diligent and the location was also very impressive, overlooking the sea. We did not eat here as we would rather try the local cuisine but one could certainly feel the overwhelming sense of fantastic service (all enquiries were met with an infectious enthusiasm). Will I return? Yes. Will I use the Medina? Absolutely. From the hotels we saw, they didn't seem to have the same grandeur or location. Perfectly located, easy to find, superb staff and the rooms were beautifully decorated and luxurious.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeTomk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear LukeTomk,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the MGallery Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

I will transfer your opinion to my staff.

I will have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
196 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Very well located right in front of Essaouira bay and just a step away of the medina walls, this hotel still offers very good confort though it's growing age. We were really surprised how well the wifi worked at the balcony of our room or at the big lounge room. Very welcoming staff, surveilled parking car just in front.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Manuel ,

Thank you for this enthusiastic comment; I’m going to share it with the entire team of Le Medina Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

I hope to see you in the very near future!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

the sea facing room with a balcony was great - sizeable, well appointed - although we would have loved a coffee making machine - excellent views etc. The staff were helpful and efficient. The breakfast was good - the coffee indifferent and inconsistent. The other guests were mainly French. There was an excellent selection at breakfast - and when staying a few days it was obvious that the menu varied.

Room Tip: Have a sea view but beware the sparrows are brave enough to fly into the room whilst you are there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annegill1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear annegill,

Thank you for your positive comment; for your beautiful words! I’m going to share it with the entire team of Le Medina Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

I hope I will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
123 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Le Medina is a high-end hotel. Forget about stars, as they are mostly an exercise in fiction and vanity. Very few places (France, Spain) have rigid standards for stars. As fair as I can tell, TA accepts the self-rating of hotels, so everything turns into a 5 star hotel. So, let's stick to "high-end".
The room is well finished, the bathroom amenities are more spa-like (although they could still be better).

I stayed two nights there, in January (not the best time to visit Essaouira). So low season that I got an upgrade to a pool view room. Not sure what I had before, as all the rooms look the same.

Room is comfortable, large, overlooking the pool. No kettle (fewer hotels have them nowadays), free wifi (despite booking.com claiming that it is 10 euros per night), and free safe (paid 10 dh per day everywhere else).

There are 3 restaurants at the hotel, but I did not try any. The two in the main building are not my idea of fun: fixed (high) price, for a set menu, based on what the chef thinks you will be impressed by. The third restaurant is on the beach, and it looks like it serves normal food.

The location is impeccable: right across the wide (and windy) beach, and about 5 minutes from the old town. If you are coming by bus (Supratours), the stop is about 500 meters from the hotel. Worth printing the map in Marrakech with the bus stop and the hotel. It will save you money and time when the bus arrive, and you are surrounded by drivers offering taxis.

Breakfast was 100% french, and 100% good. Outstanding service, fresh baguettes, and voila, fresh orange juice.

The one negative about the hotel is that it feels cold, and empty. But in January the whole town feels cold and empty. Still, I am not convinced that this would be a place to bring kids too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcn_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest,

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa
-MGallery Collection-

I am satisfied that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, and I hope to welcome you home again.

Thank you for all your comments.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
278 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

What better way to start the day than breakfast sitting under the palms by the swimming pool, away from the dust and bustle and traffic noise? It's a decent breakfast too, with lots of fresh fruit, pastries, pancakes and hot food if required.
The rooms are large and functional, the bed wide and comfortable, the shower hot and strong.
The staff are charming (apart from one or two on reception, though there was one consistently smiling and profesional lady at reception too) and you can even leave your car securely for free.
We occasionally ate in the beachside restaurant who do very good salads.
The hotel is well situated a short walk from the Medina and just opposite the beach.

For the off season rate that we paid, I felt that this hotel was a bargain.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffordchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear cliffordc,

Thank you for this enthusiastic comment,I appreciate that you take time to give us your feed back!

I will not hesitate to share it with the entire team.

I hope to receive you again with us.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Just staying one night, not enough time to see all facilities. The hotel was on good location, good ocean view and short walking distance to medina. Reception staffs were very friendly and well trained. Room was standard for a good 4-5 stars hotel. Breakfast was buffet with variety of choices. Dinner was excellent although it took so long to serve. From our experience with hotels in many cities in Morocco, this hotel was among the best.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pairoj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Pairoj T ,

Thank you for your positif comment, i’m going to share it with the entire team of Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea and spa.

we will be pleased to see you again in Essaouira.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#23 of 74 in Essaouira
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
610 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
788 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection

Property: Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Address: Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#17 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a sumptuous Moroccan riad, the facade of the Sofitel Thalassa Essaouira is painted the traditional red of Mogador. Set on the coast, close to the medina, this charming luxury hotel furnished with thuja and lemon wood cabinets, provides direct access to a luxury thalassotherapy centre. Enjoy an unforgettable leisure and fitness break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea And Spa - Mgallery Collection
Accor Thalassa Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira
Essaouira Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing