We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel, food could do with improvement as it is over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Uerikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel, food could do with improvement as it is over priced”
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Great location, lovely rooms, nice pool, they even invited all the guests for drinks one night to celebrate a staff members b-day


All in all great place, the only area lacking a little was the food

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lad1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    527
    174
    60
    36
See reviews for
310
751
93
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We got a decent deal on Expedia, no breakfast included but no issue to walk 5 minutes to the medina and choose from all the cafes there. Swimming pool area does not get the sun all day, pool was therefore pretty cold but it is long and good for "proper swimming". The fitness centre looked well-equipped. Room and service were excellent. We stayed in riad-style accommodation in Marrakech which was a great experience, but decided to choose a more mainstream option here in order to get the pool and king-size bed, and didn't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy_gft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We stayed at the Sofitel for 3 nights in September. After arriving at Marrakech airport and dealing with sold out buses and over charging taxi drivers we paired up with 2 British ladies and shared a petit taxi from the Supratours bus station to the centre of Essaouira (dropping us off on the way). FYI we paid 800dh for the trip that takes about 2.5 hours.

We arrived at the Sofitel and were greeted immediately with a mint tea and moroccan biscuit. The reception staff were efficient and helpful with good English. In no time the bell boy took our bags up to our 2nd floor room. The room was spacious, well decorated and clean, absolutely no complaints. We had a view of the pool which looked quiet, calm and made us dump our bags and get straight down there after a long morning.

We had lunch by the pool, people moan that the menu is in French and no one speaks English, you can't really complain too much, you are in a French/Arabic speaking country, English is probably their third language. They do try and do well but it does help if you speak a little bit of French, my A-level french got me by 10 years after studying.

The hotel is a pleasant 5 minute stroll along the sea front to the medina where there are a great selection of cafes, restaurants and shops as you'd expect. Essalaam is good for breakfast 30dh for 2 which is about £2.50. It is supposed to be difficult to get alcohol here but you can easily seek it out if you want to. We ate at After 5 on the first night which was ok but overpriced when you can get a tagine and a beer next door for a quarter of hte price with a friendlier and livlier atmosphere.

Other places we'd recommend, Taros for dinner or a drink (the service was a bit hectic but you're on holiday, just relax and go with it), Il Mare for a drink to watch the sunset, Elizir was good value, Chez Driss is good for breakfast and you have to go to Gelateria Dolce Freddo for an icecream!

We also ate at the fish stalls which you should do, it's back to basics but soooo worth it!

Back to the hotel, it is so relaxing and the pool staff can't do enough for you, there are so many areas to get away from it all, up above the pool in the hammocks (for 2 people!), big beds, or out on the front of the hotel. Not to mention the indoor areas.

We booked a particularly good deal through Expedia so we got it for £60 per night per room, but something that isn't made clear by Expedia when you book is that local taxes are applied when you check out, it only worked out to £35 but still a bit of a surprise after a thoroughly relaxing break. I wouldn't mark the hotel down for that though, i blame Expedia.

Would definitely recommend this hotel for couples, families or a quiet break for a couple of girls. The location is fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LD1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Great hotel in Essaouira, only a 5 min walk from the Medina, but as a result it is much quieter than being right in the Medina. Restaurants and drinks were hugely overpriced (£5 for a beer and £10 for a mojito) but the pool and bed make up for it. The bed is so comfortable, we could hardly drag ourselves out of it, down to the double bed sunloungers downstairs. After our mistake eating in the hotel beach restaurant on the day we arrived (very nice, but hugely expensive), we ate out every day breakfast lunch and dinner in any of the multitude of great restaurants and cafes nearby.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianp83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
286 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

I spent 2 nights here last week and had a fabulous stay. Customer service in the hotel was excellent, rooms were beautiful, location was perfect and the pool area was just lovely. I really do not understand the negative comments, I remember one i read was re the TV channels but the TV had english channels, one was an English film channel. Another was re not having French; i have in total about 30 french words and though I used them! each member of staff had English and was very happy to speak to me in English.

Also, a huge bonus was that the hotel offered different excursions, some of which were complimentary. The one that suited me day wise was a complimentary guide for a 2.5 hour tour of the Medina. There were 8 of us, I was the only person who did not have French so our guide, Hassan, went through everything with me either before or after each topic with the French guests. I discovered, too late, that my camera battery was dead so Hassan offered to meet me (after a visit to the hotel to get my other battery) to take me on my own after the tour through the areas of the Medina that I wanted to catch on camera. He stayed with me for an extra 90 minutes which was so fantastic.

Overall a fabulous stay in a fabulous location, I will definitely go back to Essaouira as it is so lovely and I would not even think about staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaitDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel from beginning to end and would highly recommend it to friends and family.

Staff & service excellent - the staff couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome and provide excellent service from the moment we arrived. They were charming and nothing was ever a problem. I speak French and my husband makes the effort and I think this goes a long way when visiting a country where their second language is French (particularly whilst staying in a french chain hotel). Sadly neither of us speak Arabic but we learn't a few words out of our book and this made people smile.

Excellent room - it was spotless throughout, bed was extremely comfortable. We had a room on the ground floor with a view of the garden/pool. We had a lovely terrace with a table and two chairs, perfect to have a drink.

Excellent pool - the pool is very big and very clean. Major plus point as this is one of the few hotels in Essaouira that has a pool. We had no problems getting a lounger on any day of our 7 days there. There were families with children but everyone was very respectful and it was perfectly relaxing.

Hotel location is ideal - situated on the beachfront and within just a stone's through from the medina. We were really impressed with the beach - its vast, extends as far as the eye can see. The locals even play football on it - hive of activity. I personally wouldnt have gone in the sea to swim as the hotel pool was perfect and intimate. The hotel section on the beach has a few loungers and cabanas but nothing to write home about.

Restaurants - Restaurant 'cote plage' (on the beach front is the one to go). Make sure to reserve on the day at reception. It beats the other two restaurants (moroccan and international) hands down for ambiance. We were there during Ramadan and it was fantastic to see the beach area/promenade come alive after dark once everyone had eaten. Breakfast is fantastic. We had lunch at the pool side a few times, quality of food is very good and is convenient if you are lazing by the pool. Food and wine is expensive compared to the local offerings in the medina but this is obviously expected as is within a hotel complex.

Hotel excursion - we did the camel tour (lasts approx 2 hours including transfer) which was great fun. Highly recommend as much better than taking the camel on the beach close to the hotel.

Cost tip: we took the half board option and it paid off.


The only downside to this hotel for us would be the two other restaurants (Moroccan and international) and the bar. Whilst the bar was beautiful in its decor, it lacked ambiance the time we went - there were two french singers on guitar but this wasnt really our cup of tea.

Essaouira is a wonderful differnt place to have a summer holiday compared to the usual mediterannean spots. Its full of culture, charm and is very laid back. Its a delight to wander around the medina and watch local life go by. Head for Taros cafe (its signed just off the main square (Place Moulay Hassan). Here you can have a drink (alcohol is served) on the roof top terrace whilst watching the sun set. They'll even lend you hendira (Moroccan poncho) to keep warm when the wind picks up.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena_londoncity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warks
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Con's,
Much of the hotel is very dated. 2nd floor corridor had a strange smell. Carpet was filthy, door lintels had huge scratches, chips and gouges. While the room was spacious and clean it was old and in need of refurbishment, as was the bathroom, though again spotless., Tiny balcony, though not much can be done of course.
Lack of pool loungers. This could be improved within existing space. By 10am all loungers had been taken or reserved. Not an issue as we preferred the beach
Private beach was a disgrace with broken loungers of varying types and condition, A number were broken and could not be used. Again a shortage which could be rectified. The real disgrace however was the total lack of beach cleaning. Over the 6 days of our visit the area was not raked once and cigarette ends had probably not been cleared for weeks. In fact the public beach areas were far cleaner
Shabby restaurants in desperate need of a full refurbishment

Pro's
Superb and helpful staff in all departments, excellent breakfast and lunch. Dinner in the seafood restaurant was fine though a little expensive compared to local restaunts offering more atmosphere.
Without such good staff the hotel would really be a poor example of a Sofitel. My 3 *** rating may have been 4 **** had it not been such an awful beach area which can only be down to inattentive management.
I would recommend to friends but with reservations

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gluggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#23 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
5.2 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection

Property: Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Address: Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#17 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a sumptuous Moroccan riad, the facade of the Sofitel Thalassa Essaouira is painted the traditional red of Mogador. Set on the coast, close to the medina, this charming luxury hotel furnished with thuja and lemon wood cabinets, provides direct access to a luxury thalassotherapy centre. Enjoy an unforgettable leisure and fitness break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea And Spa - Mgallery Collection
Accor Thalassa Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira
Essaouira Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing