We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good service”
Review of Dar Al Bahar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar Al Bahar
Ranked #34 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, good service”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed there for two nights in early January and really enjoyed the amazing ocean view (and sound!) from the Nour room. Our room was very tastefully decorated, just like the rest of the hotel. The view from the terrace, where breakfast is served, is wonderful. Our room was quite cold, though, so we had to ask for a heater. Most of the people working there are really friendly and pleasant. All in all, this pretty hotel is a good choice for everyone.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Krazykat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    73
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
29
102
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We specifically chose this Riad for its location by the sea and stayed in the Abla apartment which is laid out over 2 floors with great views from both the bedroom and living room below. The kitchen is small but has all you need and had we been staying more than 3 nights we would have liked to cook one evening and enjoy it on the rooftop terrace (a great spot for the good breakfast also). The riad is stylish and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful though inobtrusive, it's worth paying someone (20dh) to bring your bags and direct you from the Bab al Marrakech but once you find the Riad navigation around the town is pretty straightforward. In late November the nights were turning chilly but it was a real pleasure to sleep with the window open to hear the waves crashing against the rocks outside Although the weather wasn't brilliant we were very impressed with Essaouira, it's a lovely little town, the people are charming and it's great to wander around the harbour and see the catch being landed and people going about their quotidian lives. We'd happily return to Essaouira and stay at the Dar Al Bahar again.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighburyExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed here in December for Christmas and had a lovely visit. The staff are helpful and friendly and the rooms clean and pretty. The roof top terrace was a wonderful place to have breakfasts and afternoon tea and has great views over the medina and the sea.

Best to note that these rooms are designed to be cool for the hot months. Bring warm socks and PJS for the nights as they're a little chilly then.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea obviously have a great view but get no sunshine which was a shame in winter but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarAlBahar, Owner at Dar Al Bahar, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Thank you for your nice review. Concerning the sunshine, the house is facing the ocean so, considering the position of Essaouira, the rooms with a sea view are looking to the west and in the morning, there is obviously no sun but in the evening, you can enjoy wonderful sunsets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

This Guest house is lovely!!! We chose a double room with a sea view and we weren't disspointed. The room was small and cosy. This was the first place that we did not feel the cold in the night. There were candles lit in the hallway and this made the place romantic. The people that worked at the guest house were friendly and nice. We ate our breakfast on the roof terrace looking out to sea. I wished we stayed another night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie&rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarAlBahar, Owner at Dar Al Bahar, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Thank you very much for this nice review !
Jean-Claude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We had a very nice time here, a very welcoming experience. We even decided to stay for a few extra nights. No need to get the room with sea sight, cause just hearing it is priceless.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonvanoldenbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here for a week and had a wonderful time. The hotel has nice views of the coast if you get the right room, but you can always go up and sit on the roof terrace. The room was spacious enough and spotless. It did get a bit damp though due to being right by the sea but I don't think this could have been helped and it wasn't a big deal. The food was rustic but lovely and also plenty on offer.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful and courteous. The owners themselves were outstanding, we had an emergency (cat bite, risk of rabies etc) and they helped us out an awful lot.

I couldn't fault our experience of this hotel, especially considering the price we paid.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarAlBahar, Owner at Dar Al Bahar, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thanks a lot, Amanda, hope to see you again in Dar Al Bahar !
JClaude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

During a recent trip to Morocco we stayed a couple of nights at Dar Al Bahar in Essaouira. It had been recommended to us by the British couple who owned Riad Merstane, the place we'd been staying in Marrakech.

It was where they stayed when they visited Essaouira and I'm indebted to them for letting me in on the secret as it wasn't on the list of places to stay that I'd compiled from internet research.

Dar Al Bahar is a great position, set into the ramparts overlooking the sea. It's spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated with Moroccan artefacts and paintings of Gnawa musicians. The staff were absolutely lovely and responded to every question and request with a smile.

Our room overlooked the sea and it was wonderful to wake in the mornings to open the soundproof window to look out over a small rocky beach populated by only a handful of local fisherman. The room itself was quite small (that seems to be common in these old riads and dars), but it was nicely decorated and the bed was a good size and very comfortable. The bathroom was beautifully decorated in warm Moroccan hues and looked especially lovely after dark lit by the Moroccan lamps.

A delicious and good sized Breakfast of fresh fruit, yoghurt, Moroccan bread, crepes, jam, orange juice and coffee was served either in the cosy and attractive dining room or in the morning sunshine on the roof terrace which has great views along the Essaouira's fortified sea walls and across the rooftops of the Medina.

The dar also served evening meals, if pre-arranged, and has quite an appealing and varied menu that includes pigeon pastilla. Unfortunately we weren't there long enough to try it out.

For us Dar Al Bahar was in a perfect location for exploring the most interesting parts of the town. It is located in the heart of the Medina, about a 10 minute walk from the main square and it was interesting to see how the Medina changed between daylight hours and darkness. The streets leading to Dar Al Bahar are narrow and quite darkly lit at night but the town felt totally safe.

All in all we found Dar Al Bahar a relaxing and welcoming base from which to explore Essaouira and would recommend it to anyone planning to visit the town.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room overlooking the sea. It's not much of a difference but it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarAlBahar, Owner at Dar Al Bahar, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Thank you very much for this nice and much detailed review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#24 of 74 in Essaouira
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fontaine Bleue
Fontaine Bleue
#27 of 74 in Essaouira
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 74 in Essaouira
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#36 of 74 in Essaouira
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Al Bahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Al Bahar

Property: Dar Al Bahar
Address: 1 Rue de Touahen, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#20 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#22 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Al Bahar 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Al Bahar is certainly the name it deserves: the house by the sea.Built on the ramparts of the city of Essaouira in the "San Dion" area, she faces the ocean and its trade winds. From the terrace the view is one of constant movement, winds breaking against the rocks of the coast, offering an amazing spectacle. From there, you can also enjoy the panoramic view over the medina with its northern fort of the ancient Scala and the Mellah (the former Jewish quarter). In the distance, you can see the sand dunes, which actually touch the northern outskirts of the city. Jean-Claude and Lise, a french-dutch couple, have completely renovated this house which was built at the turn of the last century. At that time, this part of Essaouira was much more animated thanks to the presence of an authentic windmill which formerly provided flour for the city and the back country. At this place, a new hotel has been built but the street name remained: Touahen, which means ‘mill’ in Arabic.Today, the peacefulness of this place is only disturbed by breaking waves and shrieking seagulls.During October 13-17, 2012, the town of Essaouira witnessed the filming of parts of the third season of "Game of Thrones", the popular medieval fantasy series. On October 15, some of the scenes were filmed on our street and near Dar Al Bahar, both almost magically transformed in a medieval set by the crafty crew, some of them also being our guests in the hotel. For the current and future fans of the series, we share some of our photos of the stars, extras and set, and, for those wishing to experience the "Game of Thrones" atmosphere, we look forward to having them of our guests.You will certainly have a pleasant stay in Dar Al Bahar ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Dar Al Bahar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Al Bahar Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing