We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place, but limited vegetarian options”
Review of La Table by Madada

La Table by Madada
Ranked #9 of 276 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$50
Cuisines: Moroccan, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Restored carefully with respect for tradition and heritage, la 'Table Madada' is a former warehouse where the Jewish traders, "the 'kings traders", stored carob. This fruit of the carob tree, a tree in the legume family which grows in the region of Essaouira, was then exported via the port towards Europe. The seeds of the carob have a strangely regular weight, which gave the name to the unit of measure 'carat'. Its seeds but also the sap of carob tree, is nowadays used in the form of a stabilizer found in sweets and ice cream. Originally a sub-Saharan slave at the service of privileged families, the dada in time became a cook, nanny and confidante. Loved and feared at the same time, she represented the guard of the home and passed on her traditional cuisine. Some of these dadas became famous for having a particular dish.
Reviewed 16 August 2014

La Table by Madada was suggested by our hotel, and after seeing the great reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to eat here. The decor inside is quite unique and beautiful. They have a nice wine list and the server was knowledgable. We found the staff in general to be very helpful and friendly. We didn't have a reservation, but were seated anyways even though the restaurant was actually quite busy, so I really appreciated that. We started with a salad dish and it was quite good. My only complaint is that there we no vegetarian options. They adapted a fish tagine for me and made basically a vegetable tagine (with no fish). It wasn't great, but I was pretty full from the appetizers anyways. My husband had the sea bass and he really liked it (it looked really good- I just don't eat fish). Other reviews have noted the smokey interior and this was off-putting to us as well since its been against the law in the states for so long. I understand that it's not against the law yet in Morocco, but we dealt with it at multiple restaurants and it seemed to be particularly smokey in this one, maybe we were just in a smokey corner. Another big plus about this place what that it was easy to find! Its just off the main square and there was a sign off the main road pointing to the restaurant so we didn't have to wander around forever looking for it. The desert we got was pretty good too. We do not often get deserts and this one was nice because it was not overly sweet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la-Table-Madada, Responsable relations clients at La Table by Madada, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

We'll do our Best in October to get some more option for vegetarian people, promise!
Anyway thank you for your positive review on our restaurant la Table and it was a pleasure to welcome you.
Regards gourmand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 238 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

After having such a delightful meal on our first night out in Essaouira, the lovely staff, friendly service and magnificent food compelled us to go back twice more.

Special mention to Nabil, who was an excellent waiter, hosts were also lovely and very welcoming. A lovely way to spend an evening with the family.

The Taylor Family.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la-Table-Madada, Responsable relations clients at La Table by Madada, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

MERCI BEAUCOUP! We are very pleased to read that you spend a so lovely evening and then come back twice.
Nothing else than thank you...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I've found this restaurant when i was 3th time in Essaouira and i was surprised. Absolutely great !
I thought maybe i'm somewhere in Germany or in Paris in an old fancy restaurant but not in Essaouira between Medina walls. The food it's excellent, the atmosphere it's nice, the waiters are polite and the host it's really helpful and enganging.
Definitely it's the best what you can have there and i recommend it to everyone who wants a nice dinner not an ''cuisine experiment''.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Valentina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la-Table-Madada, Responsable relations clients at La Table by Madada, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

It is delightful to read that your evening and diner was perfect and we'll share with attention your review with the chef and the all staff.
Smoking law is not yet applicable in Morocco and we look forward for this...
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a delightful restaurant, a mix of modern Morocco tucked away in the old Medina of Essaouira. A warm welcome from Gladys and friendly waiter service. The modern take on Old Morocco really works. The restaurant specialises in fish so non fish dishes are limited, but the beef entrecôte was superbly cooked and the blue cheese sauce was beautiful. The food was well presented and not scant in portion. Sadly there was no cheese for dessert as they had run out, but other sweets were excellent. The only downside was the smoking allowed, which as a Brit used to non smoking restaurants was distracting.
A great place to eat and good value as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jez T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la-Table-Madada, Responsable relations clients at La Table by Madada, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your excellent review and we appreciated your comment about our famous entrecôte who was the special dish of the day which encourage our chef to follow on.

We understand that smoking allowed is not comfortable but in Marocco the non smoking law is not yet applicable, we are waiting for..

Kind regards from La Table Madada staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Every course was delicious - great wine, nice background music and at the end of the evening the host gave us a flower! I had the spaghetti with clams and it was so tasty and generous portion.

Thank Nina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la-Table-Madada, Responsable relations clients at La Table by Madada, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Nina, chef Suad thank you very much for your lovely review.
We really appreciated your words and share your comments with the whole staff.
Regards "gourmand"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Table by Madada also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Table by Madada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing