We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food”

La Mouette et les Dromadaires
Ranked #54 of 262 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This beach restaurant is a bit difficult to access, but it's part of the charm. Once there, there is a lovely view, a relaxing atmosphere and the food is delicious. After lunch the long walk on the beach is a great way to get rid of the calories! I would recommend the place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sylvie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    24
    11
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch and Lazy Afternoon”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

On a wonderful stretch of beach just north of Sidi Kaoki south of Essaouira Patricia runs the perfect place for a very long lunch.You arrive down a rather bumpy piste, through the forrest,
leading to Patricia's beach huts-a kitchen,a dining room open to beach and sea, and terraces(one with Berber tent-great favourite with children).There are comfy lounges,deck-chairs,bar stools,and you can choose how much sol e sombre you want.Order some water and wine and then go for a swim or a stroll(preferably with your dog-if you do not have one you can borrow one of Patricia's).Check what is one the menu blackboard-fresh fish and sea food,great salads and vegetable flans, and perhaps a klafouti for desert?Read your paper or book,listen to the sea,and look at it's colours changing as the sun moves from south to west.
Perhaps a coffe and another wine,and then a snooze,or a swim.Chat with Patricia or with old
friends also there,or with new ones you've never met before but who happens to be there on
the same day as you(in fact this must be one of the best places anywhere for meeting communicative people from all over the world-we think the large number of dogs present is conducive to this).We keep coming back when we are in Essa.
To sum it all up-this is the perfect open living room away from home,and we love it dearly.
Well done, Patricia,and thank you.
D&C

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank claesgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almayate Bajo, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

What else do you want? A lovely spot very near de beach, comfortabel chairs, good food , a nice glass of wine and a lovely, charming Patricia who owns and runs the place. Carpaccio de mulet, rouget croustillant, salade de pulpo and a lot more. All together lots and lots of ingredients for spending a great and sunny and lazy afternoon near the Ocean.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DULCEYSAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweet little summer restaurant”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We were quite exhausted when we found that place just randomly. Two big beautiful dogs had come to pick us up from the beach and showed us the way. At the restaurant terrace the owner kindly greated us. Isn't it just what you've been dreaming of? We only had a light meal, yet really great and balanced! My favorite was courgette flan with curry! And finally, there was classical music streaming from an ipod... ah, I wish I could be there now...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UrteKaralaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Mouette et les Dromadaires also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Mouette et les Dromadaires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing