We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service and food”

Sofitel Essaouira Mogador
Ranked #98 of 261 Restaurants in Essaouira
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Londo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Service and food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I spent two nights at the Essouira Sofitel during a family holiday. We were meant to stay for a week but upon arrival changed our plans and left as soon as we could. The hotel is quite run down and service is terrible from the moment you arrive and all throughout the hotel. Food was quite mediocre and very limited in terms of number of restaurants and options on the menu, which given the fact that the hotel is so far from town is a problem. The beach is about 30 mins away walking, not great especially if you have children and font expect to find any type of services on offer once you get there. The pools in the hotel were freezing cold, not great in April when it's not that warm. Would never go there again.

Helpful?
Thank gcm74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Apt, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mediocre "gastronomic" restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Totally disapointed by a mediocre, TASTELESS, meal well presented in a very stylish and attractive room (but not very comfortable seating).
From mise en bouche to various entrees and main courses the meal which was supposed to be gastronomic was bland and uninspired. Morocco is the land of spices, no ?
Had to request 2 times a salt mill . Service was friendly but not classy and professional.
The friends we invited live in Essaouira and were embarassed to have recommended this
restaurant...and I doubt they will ever recommend it again to their many visitors.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdpdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good evening out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Super de luxe hotel. Large garden fabulous interior Good food. Good marrocan weine.
Super service large swimming poole.i would say the best i seen so far in marrakech.
Super friendly staff expence but worted in all aspect.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petrus Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

good quality food with very good service.
Cost was £50 pp for buffett dinner you can get better value in town.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank coljul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

I was having diner in the Sofitel Essaouira on 25th September 2012 and the experience was really good. It was even bette since I was coming from the IBIS hotel in the same town (rather totally C-A-).

The sofitel is only 2 years old and clearly outstanding. Staff are really nice, very polite, well dressed. Food was perfect. I don't have any bad comment to make. The architecture of the hotel is really well done and worth to be seen.

I would wish that only this kind of hotel would be allowed to exist in the world. The others don't deserve 1 penny from a human being. Indeed within this hotel, the client is respected as a proper human being.

Worth seeing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jean-pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sofitel Essaouira Mogador also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Sofitel Essaouira Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing