We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best restaurant in the Maghreb.”
Review of O'Bleu Mogador

O'Bleu Mogador
Ranked #9 of 297 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: To find our restaurant in the Medina is not easy thus here is about indications: if you come from the outside from the Medina Bab (door) Marrakesh to take the second street to the right and to follow arrows. If you come from the medina to ask for it the door bab Marrakech or the street SIDI ABDAHLLA and follow her(it) arrows ring (at the top has right the bell) and we shall come to open you and Riad du XVIIIeme discovers her( before discovering the slate which Serge (the parton chef) will explain you and after ben it will be has you to tell it to us ...........
Reviewed 28 October 2018

As you enter the Medina through Bab Marrakesh and shorty take a turn to the right you may wonder if you have made a mistake. Follow the dimly lit alley with its running water in the centre, left and right and you will find a heavy door with nothing but the resto's name above it and high on the right-hand side, a doorbell, press and you will be ushered into a beautiful arena of calm.
This was by far and away the best meal we had in our most recent visit to Essaouira, that being said it was also the most expensive, but what a blow out!
After the obligatory hors d'œuvres & the amuse bouche, we started with a plate that contained all of the entrées that were offered that night. Fantastic.
With the plats to follow, a remarkable offering of mixed seafood and a divine Lobster and Langouste with no scrimping on the fare (1½ Lobsters no less).
Desserts to follow consisted of another selection of all the dishes on offer that night.
A good wine list, if a little out of our normal league, but that said this was a very good restaurant with prices to match.
With the rain pouring down at the time to leave, the waiter gave us an umbrella for the trip back to our hotel, he did not want us to return it.

Chef Serge Peuzin and his brigade have taken a true Riad and turned it into wonderful dining experience.
Inshallah we will return here as soon as possible.
C'est fantastique.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank le-dolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

Having spent a few days in Marrakesh, we’re now in Essaouira for a few days. Tonight, we’ve had the most amazing meal in O’Bleu Mogodor. Easy to book and not so easy to find....it’s along narrow alleyways but once you find the door you just feel there’s an Alladin’s cave behind the thick wooden door. Both of us being gluten free reduced the choice a little but the soupe du poisson was perhaps the best fish soup we have ever tasted....containing mussels, razor clams, samphire and other amazing tastes. Served hot with a small accompanying tagine of seafood, this set us on our way. Next up was a very tender piece of lamb slowly cooked in ginger and saffron along with saffron mashed potatoes....to die for. The maitre D and master chef was a genial Frenchman who came to greet every guest and his staff were pleasant and provided terrific service.

A hidden gem indeed and so glad we found it.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Corky0456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Overall, the service is good, the ambiance is inviting and cozy,and dishes are solid/good, but the reason to eat here is the amazing lobster dish. Definitely shareable and absolutely delicious!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jeannie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is definitely worth searching for as when found it will provide of of,if not the best, meal you will have in Essoauria or likely anywhere else.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank wendylawson385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

Found this restaurant on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed!!! This restaurant is truly a hidden gem in Essaouira. Its location is off the beaten path,but worth the trek. The food was exceptional, however for me, the best part of this experience was the service. I have celiac disease, and therefore often have trouble eating out in restaurants. Not only was the server fully aware of what gluten was, and the need to place close attention, he truly made me feel apart of the overall experience this restaurant offers. I was there with friends who often share plates. When there was food I was unable to try, our server brought separate and/or similar plate options for me to try that allowed me to taste and remain apart of the experience. This is very rare and was so much appreciated!!! Serge, the chef, has done a marvelous job with the cuisine and with training his staff. Thank you!! Merci beaucoup!! I will definitely return and recommend!!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chanell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Bleu Mogador also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to O'Bleu Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing