We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“To avoid”
Review of Chez Ben Mostafa

Chez Ben Mostafa
Ranked #219 of 262 Restaurants in Essaouira
Cuisines: Moroccan
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“To avoid”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Two customers left before us without paying because the food was awful. As we ordered already we gave it a try... I will not even describe it, we couldn't even eat. our dinner was a crepe on the way to the hotel. Avoid and advise people

Helpful?
1 Thank André P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    22
    22
    19
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not good!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

The place we had planned to go for lunch was closed so ended up here as it was quite busy (got to be a good sign... Maybe not!). Our waiter was very friendly, however my Niçoise salad really was very bad. A tiny plate, piled up with bland salad, no dressing, no anchovies or egg, and a teaspoon of tuna on top of a hidden pile of rice underneath! Rice on a Niçoise salad? Very odd. Left still feeling hungry.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ewlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machelen, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
“Not for classic tourists”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Alternative café-restaurant, with friendly staff, especially the lovely lady, good music ( reggae, jazz, tracy chapman etc;;;) very good cheap food, vegetarian-friendly, the good tracker-vibe, a must for the hippy, surfer, rastaman or all other people, not suffering from prejudices... Everybody's welcome and treated like a guest. All others should go to an all-in ressort with pool-animation, without tasting the new Marocco... Go on my friends, you're the future !

Elke and Lieven from Belgium

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LievenenElke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They charged us double??”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

They charged an extra 25Dh for 'service'? We only ordered a mineral water (15dh) and a plate of fries (10Dh)?? Wouldn't go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beckiefarfaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't even think about it.”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Just bad. We ordered pizza with prawn that was tasteless. We couldn't even finish our plate. Not worth the 50dhm it cost. Stay away!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petalmetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Ben Mostafa also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Chez Ben Mostafa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing