We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad and great food”

Zahra's Grill (Riad Zahra)
Ranked #6 of 267 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Grilling dishes on glowing embers was at the base of all cookery, and is an art our Chef Mohammed has mastered perfectly. Here on the second floor of the Riad Zahra with an ocean view Mediterranean cuisine is to the fore. Paëllas, lobster or prawns, sea fish, shellfish, meat ... At the heart of our cuisine are the superb natural products, which give out all their savours under the embers' influence, sharing their aromas with the grills and the products cooked on them. Jofre will help you choose dishes that are just right for you and will help you choose wines to match them. There's also a wide range of wines for you to enjoy.
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This restaurant was real little gem. We messed around with the menu asking for a small main as a starter, also as there was no lamb chops the chef provided my husband with the most amazing piece of beef. The young man serving was fantastic, great personality and definitely an asset to the restaurant. Try it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Georgie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Zahra's Grill (Riad Zahra), responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Georgie,

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your diner in Zahra´s Grill .
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon and thank you so much for your
visit.
Kind regards
Xavier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (614)
There are newer reviews for Zahra's Grill (Riad Zahra)
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 173 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

This delightful restaurant is located on the beautiful Riad Zhara, which contrary to the other riads we stayed in our 1 week trip to Morocco, the sorroundings were very nice. The restaurant is located on the 3rd floor with large windows that overlook the ocean (dont miss the sunsets up there, since Esauira is on the west coast, the sunsets are magical). As per the food, Fresh!...I had a word with the owner, as he strolled by the tables making sure everything was perfect, and he personally overlooks the quality of the seafood to make sure it is of highest quality and meeting his own safety standards, which are a tier higher than then country's standards. The chef's are Moroccan but the spanish presence was felt which created a delicious fusion..The staff was able to acomodate any request we had and it was certainly the best dinner experience we had in morocco. The desserts are to die for...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JProundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Zahra's Grill (Riad Zahra), responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic review.
We're so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Zahra´s Grill , and look forward to seeing you again!
Kind regards
Xavier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I had the pleasure of dining at Zahra's a couple of months back and it is by far one of the nicest place to grab a bite in Essaouira. The view is stunning (you get to enjoy a great ocean view without all the hustle and bustle of the medina), the ingredients are super fresh (the seafood is to die for) and their creative chef is always coming up with new and interesting food combinations which make everytime you go there a different yet equally enticing experience. The staff is really friendly, professional, and always available to give great tips about things you can do while staying in Essaouira. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Zahra's Grill (Riad Zahra), responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Amal,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic review.
We're so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Zahra´s Grill, and look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards
Xavier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

What a place to find! One of the most amazing views of a beach sunset in Essaouira with the food to match. I had the fish of the day which was monkfish and was cooked to perfection. Will definitely be going back for our final night. Service was impeccible too. Do yourself a favour and eat at this place!

1  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Zahra's Grill (Riad Zahra), responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Ben,

Thank you for writing such a positive review of Zahra´s Grill on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the quality of food and the sun set views.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon and thank you so much
for recommending the Zahra´s Grill.
Best regards
Xavier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We visited Riad Zahra based on the other reviews and I highly recommend it! I had the sirloin steak and it was absolutely delicious! There is a great choice of 'fish of the day' options. We also had a table overlooking the beach watching the sun set. The service was also very attentive - will most likely go back for final night of holiday.

2  Thank juliedawson47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Zahra's Grill (Riad Zahra), responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Julie,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Zahra's Grill.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the service, the quality of food and the views.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Xavier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zahra's Grill (Riad Zahra) also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Zahra's Grill (Riad Zahra)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing