We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved everything about this place!”
Review of Dar Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Maya
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I almost hesitate to write this recommendation because I know that, deservedly, this riad will be in constantly high demand. It was fantastic! We were a three-generation family-group of five, filling three of the five rooms, all of which felt extremely luxurious. The rooftop terrace and pool were sublime. We could sometimes feel a slight spritz of sea-spray from the Atlantic crashing on the rocks a half-block or so away. Gareth, the owner, was extremely welcoming and steered us to some great eateries. This was the high point of our entire Moroccan adventure.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
There are newer reviews for Dar Maya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

Beautiful Riad Dar Maya is a no-brainer for a luxury stay at an affordable price. We stayed here for 2 nights and we knew we made the right choice from the moment I received a response from Gareth (the owner) during the booking process. Dar Maya is centrally located and literally a few minutes walk to the souks, main square, sea front and all the lovely restaurants and bars in Essaouira, the staff are really well informed of the city and cool places to hang out, they go out of their way to give you all the information you need, always happy to help. They make amazing, delicious food at the riad, being vegetarians, we had nothing to worry about, the food was just fantastic and extremely tasty.
You must not miss the Hamman and Massage at this Riad, especially the Berber Massage, the lady who did our massage was absolutely fantastic, do not miss this wonderful experience.
Gareth and his team pay their utmost attention to detail to make sure your stay is warm and cosy, with amazing background music and wonderfully scented candles lit for our dinner and massages, this team goes above and beyond to make their guests feel comfortable at all times. If you're looking to stay in a luxury chic/boutique riad, don't look any further, go to Dar Maya.

Room Tip: The Tignna room was really comfortable especially the marble bath
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bina-Suraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We have just spent two wonderful days in Dar Maya in Essaouira. I had seen some of the photos and read some reviews, but, on arrival, I thought they just weren't good enough. The riad was beautiful right from the entrance, and our room and bathroom were absolutely fabulous! If, like me, you're a passionate of interior decorating, then the Riad Dar Maya is"THE PLACE TO BE"!
What´s more, Gareth and his staff's attentions made our stay unforgettable, The riad's hammam and the massage afterwards will certainly help too! Thanks to you all!

Room Tip: The Akal room and bathroom are fabulous
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASNobrega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I knew that Dar Maya was going to be an excellent choice due to my prior communications (e mail etc) which were dealt with professionally, efficiently but most importantly with absolute sincerity and kindness. My husband and I have complex health needs which had to be talked about prior to our stay. Gareth (bless) took our situation seriously and assured us that our stay would be delightful and it was. He handled the subject of our health or should that be ill health with a perfect delicacy which was appreciated. The riad is simply lovely, the care and constant concern taken by all the staff - namely Gareth, Abdel, Youssef, Foozia, Saadia, Souaad, Eddy and Nini (the latter being the adorable doggies who own the place not Gareth!) - made this stay extra special. This was my husband's first trip away in 6 yrs and he was nervous and apprehensive about travelling again. The breakfasts were fabulous and Abdel who is one of those people who can do everything (and all well) cooked us dream meals which were frankly better than the restaurants in town. His fresh fish (like caught that morning) was sumptuous - can you use that word about a meal? It is the people that make the hotel and the team afore-mentioned were wonderful. At the end of our 6 day stay Gareth and his darling team including the pooches - gave us two beautiful Thuya wood caskets which have pride of place in our home. I could go on and on about this hotel/riad - aesthetically tasteful, practical and the bedrooms are large and beautiful. The special touches roses and so many candles were more than appreciated. The beauty treatments manicure/pedicure and facia/massage were heavenly - thank you Hannah and I would go back to Dar Maya tomorrow! We will return because the whole experience was so life enhancing. Thank you Gareth et al - you all deserve all the praise you get. Do give Dar Maya a try people out there - as it is heavenly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful take your pick
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreensy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

When the beautiful Moroccan door of Riad Dar Maya opened we felt immediately that we made the right choice. As a welcome, we were given mint tea with cookies and the staff gave us a lot of inside tips. Where to go, where to eat etc.

The riad is beautiful decorated (like it comes straight out of a magazine) and really, really clean. Rooms are amazing and so is the breakfast. Some very nice things are: white roses and scented candles everywhere, crisp white linens and a big bed, the finest bath robe I’ve ever worn and a very (very!) big bathtub, nice music in the public areas of the riad.

This Riad is really a hidden gem. Very quiet, relaxing and it always smells good in the Riad. I couldn’t think of anything I didn’t like. The best meal we had in Morocco was in Riad Dar Maya, the fish Tajine is to die for! The rooftop bar with swimming pool area and a see view is great, loved it!

Really a luxury five star place with a personal touch because of the wonderful staff and Gareth, the owner. They really try there best to make you feel like a princes. Thank you so much, we definitely will be coming back! I would highly recommend this place. You will not regret your stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joooolien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We went in May and it was just perfect. The riad is gorgeous, the rooms lovely, breakfast lovely, service lovely. Gareth and his staff really can't do enough to help. They made our stay very special. We highly recommend this place, it's immaculate, the terrace is wonderful, the plunge pool a godsend...basically everything is there for a perfect break. Can't fault it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vic19662010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My daughters and I stayed for 2 nights at Dar Maya, looked after by the wonderful host Gareth. The accomodation would rival any 5 star hotel! there are 5 rooms in total, each with its own Moroccan theme, beautiful bathrooms and wonderful beds. the Riad is beautifully decorated by Gareth, the attention to detail feels like you are in his own home.
Something not to miss is the Dar Maya Hammam, an arabic scrub and massage, a little confronting but well worth it.
Thankyou Gareth,Eddy and Ninni for a memorable stay, Im sure we will be fondly talking about it for years to come

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue8699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
523 reviews
5.7 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
640 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
1,124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
721 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Maya

Address: 33 Rue Oujda, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range: £93 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Maya is a luxury boutique hotel, offering five rooms, a spa and rooftop hot tub in a chic, tranquil riad in the heart of Essaouira's historic medina. Having successfully blended a mix of understated Moroccan and contemporary European styles, Dar Maya oozes elegance, subtlety and intimacy. Our aim is to make your stay at Dar Maya as enjoyable as possible, and we offer an impeccable level of service that only a small luxury hotel can provide.With stunning ocean views from the terrace, the hotel is a few minutes walk to all the main attractions and amenities including the bustling cafes and restaurants, souks, port and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Dar Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing