We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful Riad, wonderful attention from the owner and it's staff”
Review of Dar Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Maya
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I staid one week in Dar Maya, in august.We were a group of friends and we rent all the riad. We loved everything: the dar's location in the middle of the medina, we loved the architecture and the decoration, and we really appreciate the kindness of the staff and the help and suggestions from Gareth, the owner of the riad. Abdel is a perfect cook, and we appreciated to have diner at the riad after a day full of activities ! And breakfast are just perfect ! I would like to add that the small swimming pool on the terrace is a plus additional.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chroniquetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

Overall I had a fantastic stay at this lovely Riad. The positive reviews below reflect my experiences of what is a great place to stay in the lovely port town of Essaouira.

This small hotel, while traditional in design, is new from the ground up and shows the care, style and attention of the owner/builder. I stayed not long after it was completed, and there were a few minor issues as the last finishing touches were made. I would safely assume that by now the hotel is complete and running like clockwork.

The rooms are large and comfortable with plenty of natural light from the inner courtyard. I stayed in the 2 of the rooms, and both were fantastic with their clean no fuss modern design. The included breakfast on the roof terrace was a great way to start the day.

Despite being in a fantastic central location, the hotel is very quiet and you can hear the ocean on a calm night. All the major sites are an easy walk from the front door. The staff are very keen to help, and while I was there made some fantastic food recommendations.

Fresh flowers, decent wifi, plenty of power plugs and nice soft towels demonstrated the good attention to detail.

Room Tip: You can check out the 5 rooms on the hotel web site. The top rooms have the best natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oz_Pete_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

L'ensemble du séjour nous a comblé. Le riad est situé en plein centre de la vieille ville, à deux pas des remparts et des rues commerçantes. Cette proximité n'enlève rien au calme absolu, que seules les mouettes viennent perturber. La décoration est juste somptueuse, un petit palais en plein cœur de la médina. Chambre spacieuse, salle de bain avec une baignoire qui s'apparente à une fontaine, une piscine sur les toits (l'un des plus hauts de la ville) avec terrasse pour le petit déjeuner et transats, un salon décoré avec goût, le tout parsemé de bougies parfumées pour éclairer les soirées. Le personnel de l'hôtel est d'une gentillesse rare, souriant, toujours présent pour vous servir, et pour autant d'une discrétion absolue. Il faut absolument diner au moins une fois sur place, on y a mangé le meilleur tajine de la ville !! (alors qu'on en a mangé plein). Et pour ne rien enlever au confort, un massage mémorable dans la chambre. Nous nous y sommes sentis comme chez nous, en mieux !

Amazing stay. The riad is located in the center of the old town, closed to the remparts and the shops, and however, it's absolutely quiet, the silent being only disturbed by seagulls. The decoration is sumptuous, a small palace at the heart of the medina. Spacious room, a bathroom with a bath that looks like a fountain, a nice little pool on the roof (one of the highest of the city by the way) with a terrace for breakfast, a living-room decorated with a lot of taste, all of it strewed with perfumed candles, lightened every evening. People working there are really kind, smiling, always around to serve you but somehow very discret. You must eat at least one time there, since we had the best tajine we've eaten around the city. And in order to achieve perfect comfort, a nice massage in your own bedroom. We felt like we were at home, and even more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Me and my partner stayed 5 days in July in the ryad and can't really complain about anything.
The Dar is perfectly located in the good part of the Medina, near some good and affordable restaurants.
Decoration inside is a mix of trendy design and traditional Moroccan style.
It's the prefect place to chill out thanks to the sound of the nearby ocean and the delicate smell of some Moroccan perfume.

Our room on the third floor is probably the best one of the Dar. There is plenty of room, a huge bathroom and very nice, comfy and brand new furnitures.
The living room of the Dar is on the same floor and you feel like the whole floor is your own home.
Internet (wifi) works everywhere and we were even able to watch streaming videos on our iPad.

The roof terrace and its swimming pool offers stunning views of the Medina and the Ocean.

Staff is very nice and discreet. You can have breakfast where you want in the Dar and also when you want. We also had an enjoyable diner in the cosy living room.
Drivers from the Dar will pick you up at the airport and will bring you back at the end of the stay, even if the flight is awfully early in the morning.

Essaouira is a lot more pleasant than Marrakesh. This is a better place to relax and get some rest.

If we are to come back to Essaouira, we will of course book our room again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mickael13001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My husband, 11 year old daughter and I stayed at Dar Maya for 3 nights at the beginning of June. It really is a lovely place to be - we felt the staff were exceptional, so willing - nothing was ever too much trouble and all achieving that balance of friendliness whilst still allowing guests privacy. My daughter loved it - mainly because she found 2 small canine friends, but also because she felt relaxed and there was lots of space for her to safely explore. We would absolutely recommend this riad to anybody wishing to stay Essaouira - you wont be disappointed!

Room Tip: We loved our room and the bathroom particularly was a joy to bathe in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I read the review written by JillLindsay below and I confirm everything she said. She could not have written a more accurate description of the wonderful Dar Maya. There's no need for me to recount all her praises for Dar Maya as she was my travel partner. I would whole-heartedly recommend Dar Maya to anyone, and this is coming from someone who often stays at the Four Seasons. The team at Dar Maya has earned all of its excellent reviews. Keep up the good work and thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPL80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Booked this Riad the day before coming to Essaouira. After having spent a week in the other cities in Morocco, Essaouira turned out to be very laid back and accessible.

The highlight however was the hotel and its brilliant rooftop pool. The room turned out to be large enough to spend a whole vacation in and the bathroom was gorgeous as it was comfortable. The whole Riad is meticulously thought out and carefully crafted. Combining Moroccan hospitality with the luxury of a modern (and stylish) apartment/hotel makes it luxurious without having to 'tippy-toe'. My girlfriend and I spend two nights at Dar Maya and were deliberately trying to find something wrong with the place... Found nothing except for more details to admire. The staircase is supported by a Moroccan artisan style wooden frame. Towels and bathrobes of thickest quality. We even spotted a strategically placed Wifi booster to enhance reception.

The staff was very helpful, polite and lived up to high cleaning standards. A broken lightbulb was instantly fixed. Gareth (the owner) proved, apart from a nice guy, a very helpful resource on restaurants in Marrakech as well.

Altogether a very relaxing and unforgettable stay with that sought after mystical 'Arabian Nights' vibe.

Room Tip: The so called 'Akal' room is a big room on the first floor, comfortable and really looks lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#2 of 75 in Essaouira
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
730 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#7 of 75 in Essaouira
1,128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Maya

Address: 33 Rue Oujda, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range: £93 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Maya is a luxury boutique hotel, offering five rooms, a spa and rooftop hot tub in a chic, tranquil riad in the heart of Essaouira's historic medina. Having successfully blended a mix of understated Moroccan and contemporary European styles, Dar Maya oozes elegance, subtlety and intimacy. Our aim is to make your stay at Dar Maya as enjoyable as possible, and we offer an impeccable level of service that only a small luxury hotel can provide.With stunning ocean views from the terrace, the hotel is a few minutes walk to all the main attractions and amenities including the bustling cafes and restaurants, souks, port and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Dar Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing