We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and chic !!”
Review of Dar Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Maya
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here for just one night in September. We drove to Essaouira and were met at the gate of the old Medina by one of the hotel's staff and led through the labyrinth of narrow streets to Dar Maya where we were warmly greeted by the English owner, Gareth. Although new, the hotel has been designed and built in the fashion of a traditional Moroccan Riad. It is very stylish throughout and has a very peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. We loved the rooftop plunge pool and terrace! I can only echo the many positive reviews from others!! We were sorry we could only stay one night!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pontius57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

This place is really great and a definite recommendation. It has real Spa-like sense to it that makes you feel calm and feel at home at once. The bathrooms in particular look fantastic. Not to mention the enormously helpful staff. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, take the suite option. (even though the smaller rooms are quite big already)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerritsenwillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Wow!! What a simply beautiful riad decorated with taste and style. From the moment we arrived we had really good vibes about Dar Maya and we were right! (not always the case I hasten to add from past experiences!). What struck me was the gorgeous aroma from the fragranced oil in the entrance area - so wonderful I had to buy some to take home!! Gareth, Yusef, Abdul and the other staff are wonderful. Our room was amazing especially the bathroom and my what a great shower & soft high quality towels!! As for the bed - huge & comfy. We had dinner at the riad on our first night and my husband said it was truly the best lamb tagine he'd ever had!! and he's had a few!! Nini and Eddy are a sheer delight, two beautiful, very friendly but well behaved small dogs who just add something extra special to this wonderful retreat.

Essaouria itself is a lovely town/city (not sure which!) and so pleased to say that there were NO English pubs, McDonalds or greasy spoon breakfast places in sight!! We were lucky as there was very little wind during our stay (arrived 9 Sept) and we could lie on the beach comfortably. I even took a camel ride which was an experience!! Far less chaotic than Marrakesh but still managed to get a bit lost which wasn't a bad thing as we'd come across things we hadn't seen before. Morocco is not a money rich country but what they lack in wealth they more than make up with their friendliness and hospitality, which I think says a lot.

Thank you Gareth and team, you deserve to be number one on TA and we wish you every success and hope we will be able to visit again one day. You made our long awaited holiday very comfortable & special.

Louise and Delvin

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

After seeing the lavish photos on their website, we could only expect to be disappointed ... but no, it was even better in person. A great place for unpretentious luxury and romance, from the courtyard and hamman and service on the ground floor, to the rooms and living room on the middle floors, and the terrace and pool on the roof. A treat, with warm hospitality. A place to admire interior architecture.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Gareth's Dar Maya is a lovely oasis hidden in the Essaouira medina. Not only is the space stunning, as detailed in every other review but Gareth and his team went the extra mile to make sure my stay was every bit as decadent as possible. Word is obviously already spreading as during my visit were a variety of different guests from honeymooners, families and couples from around the globe all who also loved their time there!
The rooftop pool and setting is gorgeous for a glass or two of rose after hours in the medina or the beach and both the communal lounge and dining areas are lovely to just relax in. I would also recommend having the hamman and massage as well, this was a fantastic way to finish a day.
Though it has to be said my absolute favourite part of my stay was the two furry helpers who are so adorable and if you ask Gareth nicely you might even get to take them for a stroll on the beach like I did! I had an amazing four days here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

A beautifully decorated modern "dar" run by Gareth who certainly knows how to make one feel at home with his lovely dogs, Eddy and Nini!
The rooms and bathrooms are spacious, tastefully decorated with all the top notch amendities and in general the whole home is spotless clean.
The terrace with its dip pool is lovely even though there could be with a few more daybeds!
The staff are extremely kind and helpful, nothing was a problem (makes a change), thank you all for making our stay so easy.
Perfectly situated in a quiet area of the medina and very easy to get around, in general Essaouira is a very chilled out place, a must if visiting Morocoo.
We shall definately return, hopefully soon!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAURA s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Thank you for your warm and kind hospitality, we had a lovely time over there. Room and bathroom are very comfortable and luxurious. Having breakfast on the roof top in the morning watching the skyline is amazing. Staff is very courteous and happy to make your stay joyful.
I would recommend it to anyone, especially for couples like us who wanted to visit Essaouira.
Thank you!
M&R

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cesco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#2 of 75 in Essaouira
536 reviews
5.7 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#7 of 75 in Essaouira
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
704 reviews
5.9 mi away
Riad Baoussala
Riad Baoussala
#4 of 75 in Essaouira
689 reviews
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Maya

Address: 33 Rue Oujda, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range: £87 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Maya is a luxury boutique hotel, offering five rooms, a spa and rooftop hot tub in a chic, tranquil riad in the heart of Essaouira's historic medina. Having successfully blended a mix of understated Moroccan and contemporary European styles, Dar Maya oozes elegance, subtlety and intimacy. Our aim is to make your stay at Dar Maya as enjoyable as possible, and we offer an impeccable level of service that only a small luxury hotel can provide.With stunning ocean views from the terrace, the hotel is a few minutes walk to all the main attractions and amenities including the bustling cafes and restaurants, souks, port and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Dar Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing