We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect for a proposal !”
Review of Dar Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Maya
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Just Perfect for a proposal !”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Dar Maya is a truly hidden gem in the heart of the Medina offering a rarely experienced dedicated personal service to each guest. This is a quiet and relaxing place, with a stunning interior decoration, perfect for a romantic getaway close to restaurants and places of interest. We truly had a memorable stay at the Dar Maya and Gareth, the owner ensured that our stay was perfect. On our proposal night, Gareth organised a nice surprise for my fiance, by arranging heart-shaped flowers petals on the bed and scented candles throughout the room!. This was an unforgetable moment for my fiance and myself. We cannot recommend Dar Maya more. Many thanks to Gareth and his staff for the truly amazing time we had in Essaouira. We will be back!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julien R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    46
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
61
281
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in this lovely modern Riad. Unfortunately we did not get to meet the owner, Gareth, although had lots of positive correspondence with him. His staff were friendly and helpful although it would have been nice to have a bit more info on arrival ie. breakfast details, wifi passcode, map etc rather than having to ask for these.
The Riad itself is fabulous. Nice, clean and modern. The pool on the roof terrace is lovely and breakfast by the pool in the sunshine was a treat.
Great location in the heart of the medina, walking distance to everything.
Very nice place to stay!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Retired_at_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Gareth the owner is a complete gentleman and he made the place feel like so homely. This boutique hotel is a new build so it has lots of modern amenities yet the architecture fits in well in Morocco. Downstairs there is a small patio and there always seemed to be soft lighting and easy listening music. Our bedroom was so spacious. Obvious thought had gone into the decor. The bathroom had a marble bath that you got into by going up marble steps. The lighting throughout was soft. On the second floor was a comfortable lounge area with internet access. The best bit was the terrace with a lovely plunge pool. Thoroughly enjoyed my time there. There are two dogs but they were clean and family friendly. It was like a dream home that you would see in an interior design magazine rather than it being a hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Although this Riad was a little out of our price range, we took a jump and did not regret it. In the centre of Essaouira, with friendly and helpful staff this was a treasure of a place. The rooms were luxurious, beautifully decorated and a roof terrace with stunning views. The breakfast was also lovely! The owner Gareth was very helpful and gave us better recommendations for food than our LP. Definitely worth a stay, can't rate this charming Riad enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We arrived after a homestay in the high atlas mountains and this couldn't have been a bigger contrast. A reallyy beautiful riad in a great location with staff that are more than willing to help. Every detail has been thought about from the stylish lounge, the rooftop area (great for watching sunset and having a dip in the heated pool) to the delicious tajines that are cooked in the riad's own kitchen and eaten in the snug- the best we had on the whole holiday! Bedrooms and certainly bathrooms are luxurious. Would definitely recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickster6690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

WOW…. What a place!!

Dar Maya blew us away. It completely succeeds all expectations on every level. The rooms are perfect, the terrace stunning and the staff extremely friendly.

Graham has built a riad of complete luxury and tranquillity which is the perfect escape - and all for amazing value. Just got back but already planning our return…

Room Tip: I think the rooms are probably all amazing, but I would recomend ones with the mini balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here for just one night in September. We drove to Essaouira and were met at the gate of the old Medina by one of the hotel's staff and led through the labyrinth of narrow streets to Dar Maya where we were warmly greeted by the English owner, Gareth. Although new, the hotel has been designed and built in the fashion of a traditional Moroccan Riad. It is very stylish throughout and has a very peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. We loved the rooftop plunge pool and terrace! I can only echo the many positive reviews from others!! We were sorry we could only stay one night!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pontius57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
512 reviews
5.7 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
614 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
800 reviews
5.9 mi away
Le Jardin des Douars
Le Jardin des Douars
#6 of 74 in Essaouira
790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Maya

Property: Dar Maya
Address: 33 Rue Oujda, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Maya is a luxury boutique hotel, offering five rooms, a spa and rooftop hot tub in a chic, tranquil riad in the heart of Essaouira's historic medina. Having successfully blended a mix of understated Moroccan and contemporary European styles, Dar Maya oozes elegance, subtlety and intimacy. Our aim is to make your stay at Dar Maya as enjoyable as possible, and we offer an impeccable level of service that only a small luxury hotel can provide.With stunning ocean views from the terrace, the hotel is a few minutes walk to all the main attractions and amenities including the bustling cafes and restaurants, souks, port and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dar Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing