We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay - will be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Maya
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay - will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We were visiting Essaouira for my partner's birthday and had a fantastic stay at Dar Maya.

The property is a lovely riad refurbished to a very high standard by the English owner and his excellent team.

From the first email communication to the day of departure, nothing was too much trouble. Flowers and a bottle of wine in the room for my partner's birthday were a lovely welcome. The bathrooms are amazing, with a double bath in one of the rooms we stayed in (we tried out two rooms, just for the variety ;) ). A lovely balcony and excellent communal lounge made the place fabulous for relaxing. The roof top terrace is great for breakfast, and there's a small unheated pool up there that would be great to cool off in during the hotter summer months. There's also a view of the sea from the terrace.

Breakfasts are great - pastries, eggs and coffee (or English tea for my mildly homesick companion!) were all served by very friendly staff, wherever and whenever you desire (breakfast starts at 0830 and finishes whenever everyone has decided to get up and eat).

There's also a hammam on site, and the option to have dinner prepared for you too - unfortunately we didn't take advantage of either of these services.

Taxis were arranged to transport us from Marrakech and back to the airport at either end of our stay, including porter from the car to the hotel - again, first class service in a comfortable, clean car with a friendly driver.

Overall a wonderful, relaxing stay - we'll be back. Thank you.

Room Tip: The tignna room was our favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    46
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
55
269
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Very nice, small riad in the middle of medina.Beautiful rooms, wonderful details.Very friendly staff and owners.Like small boutique hotel!peaceful place.good breakfast.Big bathroom with nice designs.Good bed.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heusden-Zolder, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Beautiful decorated riad in the heart of the medina. Very friendly and helpful host and staff. We were picked up at the airport in Marrakech by a driver, arranged by Gareth. The driver accompanied us till we arrived at the riad.
The first night we had our dinner at the riad. To recommend: the chicken tajine!
Delightful breakfast with pancakes, fresh orange juice... Cosy roof terrace.
The owner even send out someone of his staff to get us some wax for our tadelakt at home.
If we will come back to Essaouira we certainly would like to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reynders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The staff were excellent, the rooms were large, well appointed, and clean. The staff were an excellent source for restaurant recommendations, and for driving directions for the rest of our itinerary. Great breakfast included. The resident canines were also very friendly! It was a very restful property.

Room Tip: The two rooms we had were fantastic, large, beautiful bathrooms, very nice common sitting areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haymacVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband & I stayed at the Dar Maya in December 2013.

We only have good things to say about the riad. It´s interior design is fabulous, a modern design with the touch of Morocco.The rooms are big and have the same design you can find throughout the whole riad. The rooms were very clean, which is always important. The terrace on the top is so beautiful. We had breakfast there almost every morning. The library, or how we call it the living room of the riad, is a good place to just sit and relax.

We did not book any spa activities, so I cannot say anything about it. But I am sure it is as fabulous as the rest of the riad.

The staff is super friendly and very helpful. We could ask anything, any trip we wanted to do was planned for us, when we were hungry and too lazy to go oustside, they cooked us super delicious food, nothing has been too much for the staff. SUPERB!

My husband and I are big dog lovers, so the two "riad-dogs", Nini & Eddy, were a plus for our stay. Super cute!

We definitely come back!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We were happy we chose Dar Maya for a recent 4 night stay in Essaouira. We loved the place from the moment we stepped in to a warm greeting by Gareth, the owner, and his friendly, competent team. They took great care of us. This riad is newly and luxuriously built, but is right in the heart of the medina. Excellently located, the hotel is an oasis of calm in cool colours and contemporary chic.

Our bed was big and comfy with deliciously crisp linens. The transfer from Marrakech was arranged by Dar Maya. We liked our driver and enjoyed the ride. We ate at several restaurants recommended by Gareth and his staff and enjoyed them all. The in-house hammam/massage was excellent. Several other reviewers have mentioned the canine "staff" Eddy and Nini, who are both little sweethearts. But Gareth also helped Diana, a lovely little street dog, when she was ill. She repays him by keeping watch over the surrounding area.

Dar Maya's a home away from home. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Riad Dar Maya is a fabulous place to stay. It is a haven from the bustle of Essaouira. Our room was incredibly comfortable and the bathroom was jaw-droppingly luxurious with a walk-in shower and underfloor heating ... bliss. Gareth was away; but even with the owner not there over-seeing things the staff were impeccable and went out of their way to provide a very personal and friendly service. I can't rate this place highly enough. I felt looked-after from the moment I booked with Gareth (who stayed in touch by email) to the time I left when the staff got up extra-early in order to provide us with breakfast before our 630am departure to the airport. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RB1561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#10 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
5.9 mi away
Le Jardin des Douars
Le Jardin des Douars
#5 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Maya

Property: Dar Maya
Address: 33 Rue Oujda, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Maya is a luxury boutique hotel, offering five rooms, a spa and rooftop hot tub in a chic, tranquil riad in the heart of Essaouira's historic medina. Having successfully blended a mix of understated Moroccan and contemporary European styles, Dar Maya oozes elegance, subtlety and intimacy. Our aim is to make your stay at Dar Maya as enjoyable as possible, and we offer an impeccable level of service that only a small luxury hotel can provide.With stunning ocean views from the terrace, the hotel is a few minutes walk to all the main attractions and amenities including the bustling cafes and restaurants, souks, port and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dar Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing