We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steve and Elaine stayed at this lovely Riad”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Maya
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Steve and Elaine stayed at this lovely Riad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

On reading other reviews we decided to stay for 7 nights, and were glad we did. We felt at home and very relaxed after a warm welcome by Gareth and his staff . From the time we were picked up by the taxi arranged by Gareth to the time we left we had a wonderful relaxing holiday. Just wandering around the streets and markets of Essaouria stopping off at a cafe every so often kept us occupied along with some long walks along the beach. A few afternoons spent on the rooftop terrace listening to the sea and seagulls, and using the newly installed Jacuzzi added to the relaxed feel. The riad is beautiful. The understated design is cool and calming compared to the busy medina. Gareth seems to know everyone and everything about the town and his recommendations for places to eat were spot on. We have told everyone we know what a great place Dar Maya is. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms look great, its your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    46
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
55
271
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We just had a wonderful and relaxing stay at the lovely Dar Maya. Gareth has created a beautiful riad in the heart of the medina, one were all the buzz of the blue alleys disappears as you enter inside. Our room was very comfortable and he provided an extra bed for our young daughters who loved playing with his dogs. The hot shower was also quite nice after a day at the beach. Garett also went above and beyond by finding and returning my daughter's sketch pad she had left at a restaurant all the way to Marrakech. Many thanks G!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Essaouria was brilliant and Dar Maya complimented the vibe and spirit of the town. There is a fine line between being comfortable and relaxed and feeling as though you are being spoilt; staying in 5 star luxury or living in your dream home. Dar Maya does it. After staying in Marrakech for 5 days, Essaouria was a calming surprise, not as frantic and very friendly. I dont know whether it was the dogs greeting you at the door, the comfortbale lounge areas and bedrooms with beautiful furnishings, the music, the books, an available and knowledgeable host, the smiling staff..............but it was all fantastic and Dar Maya was the highlight of our stay in Morocco

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcbtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I stayed with Gareth for 4 nights and were really sad to leave. He managed to accommodate us for an extra night last minute, and was always on hand to help with restaurant recommendations, what to wear on a camel trek (!) and other helpful information. The food suggestions he gave us were all excellent, not too expensive and we had some of our best meals in Essaouira.

We loved the modern, spacious, and comfortable Riad. It is right in the centre of town, yet is so quiet you wouldn't know. The rooms are beautiful, bathrooms spacious, and beds large and comfortable! There is a lovely roof terrace with a jaccuzi to relax in, a cool lounge to shelter from the sun and the wind and an inner courtyard with water feature where we had breakfast every morning.

The staff were so friendly, we had an amazing hammam and massage (the best we had by far during our 2 week trip to Morocco), and were always on hand to help with anything you needed.

We are now planning our return trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here 3 nights with our daughter and son-in-law. We loved the modern architecture and our spacious and luxuriously appointed rooms with bathrooms, balconies, and comfortable beds. The roof terrace and sitting out areas are great for relaxing in the cool and quiet. The friendly owner Gareth and his staff were very helpful and attended to all our requests (and the dogs Eddy and Nini also made friends). Gareth was a mine of information and booked a taxi transfer back to Marrakech airport for us. The ample breakfast (fruit juice, pancakes, fresh fruit, eggs, croissants, baguettes, jam and butter) was excellent, and we had amazing meals in the evenings following Gareth’s local restaurant recommendations.

We thoroughly recommend this Riad which is ideally situated if you want to be in a quiet location in the medina with easy walking distance to shops, fishing port, beach, and good eating places.

Room Tip: The riad has 4 floors (including roof terrace) without a lift. Laafit and Tignna both very comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValnRichard2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Dar Maya is brilliant, and I loved Essaouira — I'm already plotting our return. We only stayed for two nights, but I'd love to stay longer and spend more days wandering the streets of the medina and lounging on Dar Maya's rooftop watching the changing skies and drinking tea. Everything was perfect.

The staff were all exceptionally friendly and helpful, and didn't laugh at me at all when I locked our cameras in our in-room safe and then couldn't get them out again. Every single surface at the hotel was lovely (I kept touching the walls, because I became a bit obsessed with how smooth the gorgeous tadelakt felt) and the underfloor heating in the bathroom was luxurious. The breakfasts were particularly yummy, and our tagines at dinner very tasty.

And, it was a delight to meet Gareth and his dogs, made Internet-famous by their TripAdvisor fans! We'd emailed Gareth before arrival to book our pick-up from Marrakech (an enjoyable journey with a very friendly driver) and a spa treatment (an amazing dreamy hammam followed by a really great in-room massage) and everything was wonderful. Thanks, Gareth!

Also, there's a little case of beautiful things you can buy in the lovely tiny lobby, and the earrings I picked up there became my staples for the rest of our honeymoon; I love them.

Room Tip: We had, I think, one of the smaller rooms (Akshood), and it was still big. We had massive cases, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJC_NW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband & I recently stayed at Dar Maya, only for one night, but our time at the riad was wonderful. When we arrived we were immediately greeted by two very lovable dogs, Eddy & Nini. We did not have the pleasure of meeting Gareth but the staff was welcoming and very helpful. The riad is spectacular in design & décor. Very romantic with a gorgeous rooftop lounge. Breakfast was delicious, one of the best we had in Morocco.

We would highly recommend Dar Maya to anyone travelling to Essaouira. We can't wait to return & stay long. We stayed in the Tignna Suite and it was beautifully decorated and a fabulous bathroom.

Room Tip: Tignna Suite is great, private & quiet but I'm sure all the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
5.9 mi away
Le Jardin des Douars
Le Jardin des Douars
#5 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Maya

Property: Dar Maya
Address: 33 Rue Oujda, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Maya is a luxury boutique hotel, offering five rooms, a spa and rooftop hot tub in a chic, tranquil riad in the heart of Essaouira's historic medina. Having successfully blended a mix of understated Moroccan and contemporary European styles, Dar Maya oozes elegance, subtlety and intimacy. Our aim is to make your stay at Dar Maya as enjoyable as possible, and we offer an impeccable level of service that only a small luxury hotel can provide.With stunning ocean views from the terrace, the hotel is a few minutes walk to all the main attractions and amenities including the bustling cafes and restaurants, souks, port and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dar Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing