We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious homemade meal”
Review of Shyadma's

Shyadma's
Ranked #43 of 305 Restaurants in Essaouira
Cuisines: Moroccan
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

My girlfriend and I ate here this evening, and really enjoyed our time! We’re both vegan so were more than happy with the menu, and ordered the vegetable couscous and vegetable tajine, and I had the peach juice as a drink. As from other reviews I’m not sure if the man doesn’t work here anymore as it’s run by one lady, and as another review stated she didn’t speak any languages the reviewer could communicate, however we didn’t find this an issue at all, as we were able to order, eat and pay without issue.
You get a very homely vibe and the food was really tasty, the women was very inviting as well, and we get the impression that the other restaurants are trying to copy her advertisements of vegan options.

If the Moroccon home cooked style or quality of food isn’t enough to tempt you, the price should as it’s much more reasonable than other touristy restaurants.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Fraser H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2018

we dident get wat we ordered, the woman dident speak any languages it was very dificoult for us and touks more than a half hour... the food wasent special at least not to recommand

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bio-Hôtel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

We went there while visiting Essaouira in November 2017. The owner is the cook himself, he is a very friendly, humble and caretaking person. He offers all sorts of moroccan traditional meals, from Tajines and couscous, to salads and fresh juices... We arrived there in the evening, while searching for a place with Wifi (which is, by the way, available and pretty stable). We went for a menu for 50dirhams only, containing a fresh beetroot or carrot juice and a rich chickpeas tajine. The served meals were generous and well flavoured. We highly recommend!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 710mariechristines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

The host is very open and welcoming. My partner (who's gluten free) and I ordered the pumpkin and the vegetable (olives, lemon, onions) tagine dishes and really loved the meal. Can't wait to try the couscous next time!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank 36nadavd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

I really wanted to like this place and support his business, but the food was just okay. We tried vegetable couscous, chickpea tagine, and vegetable tagine with lemon and olives. They were not bad, a little too salty for our taste though. The owner himself is pescatarian and he is really friendly. The location is inside the small courtyard/plaza and really nice. The best item on the menu is probably the peach juice! I would just have drinks here and eat elsewhere.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank ArinaM563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shyadma's also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Shyadma's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing