We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect :)”
Review of Green Milk Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Milk Hostel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect :)”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

If you enjoy hostels and meeting new people then this place is perfect, the ethos of the place is everyone helps out with opening the door and cooking etc even painting/decorating the walls :) If you believe that the best part of travelling is the people you meet then you cant go wrong staying here :) There are dorm rooms and private rooms (all shared bathrooms) we had a private room but all the rooms looked good, you can even sleep on the roof if your trying to save some money (even though its already super cheap) :) Loved the atmosphere of the place, the owners and the guests were all so friendly and welcoming. Essaouira is an amazing place to be an this hostel compliments it perfectly :) especially loved the resident ducks :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyF1493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    9
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
8
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My stay in Essaouira would have been less than half as nice had I not stayed at this hostel.
The staff really believe in the motto of the hostel, which is that Green Milk is a place for sharing and caring, where if you want to change something, you just have to speak up and contribute to make it better. As a result it is great. I stayed two nights and I could witness with my own eyes that the staff were working 24/7 to improve the facilities, in a very artsy and original way. They made a tab out of a wheel and worked on the terrasse, to give it a truly Moroccan feel.
As I was travelling solo, I had a few moments where I really felt Morocco was hard to be in. I went to talk to the staff, and they cheered me up a lot, offering a shoulder to "cry" on, a thourough explanation about Moroccan culture and tourism approach and a few personal stories that gave me a new perspective on life. Meeting other people at the hostel was also super easy. We had communal dinners which were truly inclusive. One night, the entire hostel joined in, and even a few people that were staying at another hotel. The foold was delicious, and cheap as well.
I could not recommend this hostel more. Be sure to reserve in advance, as it is no wonder it has a 100% rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Awesome_ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Although it took us a while to find a trek from the CTM bus station, the minute we stepped into the hostel we felt at ease and comfortable. We were shown to our mixed dorm shared room (8 beds per room), and then given a tour of the place. It is small but cosy- 2 dorm rooms, a private room and kitchenette/living area on the main floor, a terrace eating area above that, and a bedroom terrace above that! The beds are comfy although make sure to bring a sleeping bag or a liner as there are no sheets provided. Guests are provided with a little safe above their beds to keep valuables in, however your bags are left on the floor, but I doubt anyone there would steal your stuff. As you are sharing, people coming back late at night may wake you up so I'd recommend some earplugs, although personally I slept deeply.The hostel is very clean, but there are only 2 toilets/bathrooms so it can take a while before you get a free one! Green Milk also provides a very good breakfast and dinner option, for very little money (breakfast was 15dh and dinner was 25dh), and they do vegetarian/vegan options too. There is a great feel about the place-everyone is a young traveller so open and friendly towards eachother. The owners encourage people do artwork such as painting on their walls, anywhere you would wish to! Overall a very nice place, safe and welcoming, would recommend for friends and young travellers, not for families.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peppermint_dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

A lovely, relaxed hostel with a great community feel. We stayed here for a week, longer than we intended! The food cooked by Mostafa is fantastic and so cheap, highly recommended! Beds are comfy and there are lots of areas to sit in. We loved Green Milk, definitely stay if you are in Morocco.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hlawrenceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The atmosphere in this hostel was super! The staff did everything they could to provide a vegan version of all the meals for me. And the meals were very good (also breakfast)! The atmosphere created by the staff was great and they were very helpful. There was a nice sitting area and terrace where really great music was made. The hostel was tidy and very nicely decorated, so the general feel was very good. The dorm rooms could use some painting tough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dirkoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This place is special - never stayed anywhere quite like it. As mentioned in other reviews it feels more like a family home than a hostel, with travellers chipping in (if they feel like it) with cooking and decoration of the hostel, which seems to be continually evolving. The three owners, Mustapha, Othmann and Omar, are all friendly, welcoming and helpful (and excellent cooks), and it doesn't take long to feel you belong - as demonstrated by the number of people who stay far, far longer than they had intended! The mascot ducks add to the slightly surreal air of the place, and the communal dinners are a lovely touch, with special diets catered for on request. Took a real effort of will to leave!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

We stumbled on Green Milk accidentally, like the rest of the motley crew of translate hanging around the communal dinner table. More like a share house than a hostel (as per the literal writing on the wall), the place is brand new, has a kitchen you're welcome to use, and everyone pitches in to open the door (no key) and put extra toilet rolls in the bathroom. Hot water showers, and everything is made from recycled building materials: there are two mascot ducks living on the upstairs rooftop and driftwood sculpture everywhere. Guests are encouraged to contribute to the art of the place, and photos of the people who helped build the place are taped to the wall by the kitchen. More like the welcoming hippie houses of forty years ago than a modern sterile hostel or hotel Green Milk made me want to sell my plane ticket home and stay in Essaouira for months.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hostel
Atlantic Hostel
#2 of 54 in Essaouira
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Essaouira Youth Hostel & Social Travel
0.3 mi away
Surf and Chill House
Surf and Chill House
#9 of 54 in Essaouira
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Afram
Riad Dar Afram
#3 of 54 in Essaouira
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Milk Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Milk Hostel

Property: Green Milk Hostel
Address: 26 Rue Ceuta, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Green Milk Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing