We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the hostel with the best atmosphere!”
Review of Green Milk Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Milk Hostel
Reviewed 24 March 2014

For sure, one of the best places to stay in Morrocco. The people working there are always kind and helpful, and maintain a great atmosphere in which everyone can feel welcome. Combined with the people staying as guests, the mood is always good, full of interesting conversations and makes the place really make you feel like home. Good kitchen facilities and rooms for resting.If you want a trip full learning and gaining life experience while having fun, that`s certainly the place where you can look for it. Thank you for the time everyone in Green Milk. We`ll see each other again soon, inshalah!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiril_D2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

I first stumbled on Green Milk Hostel three months back, and since that first night I've been back countless times. It´s no average hostel, its a place of gathering, a home away from home, somewhere you´ll always have to be welcomed, to be free to kick back, make plenty of friends, and get in on all sorts of misadventures across Morocco and beyond.The staff are some of the coolest and most helpful guys this side of the Atlantic, the beds are well priced and comfortable, the meals are great every time, but its the social atmosphere that really makes the place what it is. If you don´t need lots of quiet time and personal space, and want something more than a bland hotel, Green Milk is the place for you. Hope to see ya there!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Green Milk was sure one of the highlights of our trip. It never felt like living in a Hostel it was more like sleeping at a friends house! Sure the perfect place to stay for young travlers and backpackers! people from all over the world meet and hang out together and the stuff cares about every single one!a truley amazing place with the greatest hospitalitys i've ever experienced! If you have no idea about Marokko and Essaaouira go straight to green milk.. its the best base and startingpoint for your Marokkotrip you can find! Thanks somuccch Green Milk! it was a true pleausure and i will see you guys definatly again! why not? =)

Room Tip: Sleep where you feel like to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dahiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I would not have enjoyed my time in Morocco nearly as much if I had not found this place. It is not a hotel (the accommodations are not at all cushy), but the people here truly love what they do, and the travelers are some of the most interesting I have ever met. Most of all, it has an amazing sense of community.

Bottom line: if you're in Essaouira and want a great relaxed Moroccan atmosphere, this is your place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Over the course of four months I have popped in and out of Green Milk more times than I recall, and every time I show up it is as good as coming back to your own family house...and far friendlier! The staff is spectacular, very knowledgable, and extremely involved in making certain that your stay in Essaouira is memorable. The constantly rotating cast of guests is entertaining, adventurous, and always ready for an intellectual discourse over any topic under the sun. The prices are affordable, and you get far more than you pay for! I recommend a stay at Green Milk for anyone who has an open mind and wants a more real and authentic stay in Morocco than staying in a Westernized Riad or Hotel.

Room Tip: The sound of the ocean crashing against the medina walls from the terrace is one of my favourite thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Woelfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Let's get one thing straight...Green Milk is not your average backpackers...it's so much better than that. As someone who had never been to Morocco before I was made to feel extremely welcome by Abdul and Omar, two young guys who don't just run a business but a home from home. I stayed for three nights and met some great people, felt a sense of belonging and despite the fact that I am a non- smoker and like to get an early (ish) night found people generally very respectful of noise late on.

If you are a time Nazi, OCD on cleanliness and generally uptight then Green Milk is definitely not for you! If you like to meet open minded, friendly people who enjoy cooking together and sharing beautiful memories, there's nowhere better...keep up the good work!
x

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richir00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I had an amazing time in this hostel. Everyone's super laid back, friendly and there's a family feel to it. They could do better on cleanliness, but I didn't find it a problem.
The interior is nice, staff friendly and helpful. Most importantly, there's this reaaaaally good vibe floating around.
loved it!
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AndMa8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#42 of 75 in Essaouira
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hostel
Atlantic Hostel
#2 of 63 in Essaouira
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
White and Blue
White and Blue
#16 of 63 in Essaouira
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Essaouira Youth Hostel & Social Travel
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Afram
Riad Dar Afram
#4 of 63 in Essaouira
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surf and Chill House
Surf and Chill House
#13 of 63 in Essaouira
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Milk Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Milk Hostel

Address: 26 Rue Ceuta, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Essaouira
Price Range: £10 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Green Milk Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing