We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consider making this your choice in Essaouira”
Review of Fontaine Bleue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fontaine Bleue
Ranked #26 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Make sure you include La Fontaine Bleue in Essaouira as part of your itinerary when you travel to Morocco. We read many reviews of Riads in Essaouira before deciding upon La Fontaine Bleue. We wanted to stay close to the sea and were not disappointed in our choice. We booked early and were able to stay in a room overlooking the rocky coast. I, a native of Brittany, thought I was back in my native province! The room was much larger and nicer than the photo on the website and was well appointed and comfortable. The Riad is an easy 15 minute walk from the Bus Station and one is in the souks in no time. There we enjoyed great shopping for anything traditionally Moroccan. The neighborhood is very quiet. The only sound you will hear is that of the nearby surf. The inside of the riad is very quaint and furnished in traditional Moroccan décor. If you make it to the rooftop, you will have a spectacular view of the coastline while you are enjoying a delicious breakfast with Moroccan pancakes, bread, varied jams and honey, yogurt, fresh fruit and exquisite fresh orange juice. You owe it to yourself to have at least one dinner at the riad. It will be prepared by Malika and Hafida. Hafida, who is also the manager, surprised us by asking us what we would like to eat. If you get the chance, make sure you taste her eggplant caviar and the 3 pepper salad. We found those two young women charming, friendly, and helpful. And so was the rest of the staff we met, Waffa, Fatima and Malika. Everyone was always smiling, cheerful and showed a genuine interest in us. Another unexpected surprise upon our return to our room was to find two water bottles in our bed which we thoroughly enjoyed on that chilly night. We were lucky to meet and have dinner with the owners, Thierry and Martine. They are a charming couple and should be very proud of their beautiful riad which they almost totally rebuilt and furnished themselves with great taste. Our stop in Essaouira was excellent. We enjoyed the cooler weather after the six days spent in Marrakech with 90+ degree temperatures. But what made our (too short) visit just perfect was our stay in La Fontaine Bleue.

Room Tip: If you can, book a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BZSTEPHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We just loved our two nights, a beautiful riad, spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, amazing views of the ocean, huge room with separate bathroom, delicious breakfasts overlooking the ocean (loved the inclusion of fresh fruit salad and homemade strawberry yoghurt), fine dining in separate dining room, open fireplace, red wine, sincere genuine hospitality all enjoyed before retiring to turned down bed and hot water bottle. This is a very special place and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for a room with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NswAustraliaDidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Great Riad located on edge of Medina overlooking the sea and a short distance from some excellent restaurants.The staff were very friendly and helpful and the Riad was spotlessly clean with comfy beds and 2 lovely pillows! Very nicely appointed bedrooms,quite location and great shower. Breakfast was also excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lloyd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a lovely riad, very clean and comfortable. We were warmly greeted and taken to our room. The mattrass on the bed was very comfortable and sheets and towels clean and changed every day. It was lovely having breakfast on the terrace top every morning with a superb seaview. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and would recommend to everyone. The decor throughout the Riad was beautiful morrocan style and all in all the Riad was very comfortable and fresh. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We loved this riad! The overlook to the ocean is gorgeous. We enjoyed sitting on the roof, drinking mint tea, and later, a glass of wine. We stayed in the room off the rooftop, which was beautiful. Hafida and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. The riad was fairly easy to find from the supra tours terminal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This riad is beautifully located in a seaside location in the heart of the Medina. It was incredibly quiet and we literally were woken by nothing. The breakfasts are delicious and served on the lovely roof terrace from 7 to 11. The manager, Hafida was a warm and helpful presence and cooked lovely meals at a reasonable price

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 788MirandaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with amazing hospitality. We stayed here for 2 nights and wished it could have been longer. Our host, Hafida was so lovely and went the extra mile to help us out. My boyfriend was sick with food poisoning (not from the hotel!) and she brought us medicine and called a doctor to visit the hotel. She even put a hot water bottle in our bed when we popped out to get some food. The rest of the team were just as friendly and helpful too.
We had a lovely room overlooking the sea. The bed was so comfy and the shower was fantastic. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah611Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#34 of 75 in Essaouira
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#16 of 75 in Essaouira
317 reviews
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#2 of 75 in Essaouira
535 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 75 in Essaouira
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontaine Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontaine Bleue

Address: 45 Rue Oujda, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range: £50 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontaine Bleue 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Fontaine Bleue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing