We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat well, eat cheap, enjoy!”

Essaouira Fish Market
Book In Advance
More Info
US$114.42*
and up
Essaouira Day Tour from Marrakech
Ranked #22 of 56 things to do in Essaouira
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Local fishermen sell their fresh catch at this market each morning.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Eat well, eat cheap, enjoy!”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

If this is your first encounter with( Barbery) fish mongers you are in for a real treat. You are dealing with the decendens of the most feared corsairs of the middlle ages, their tongues are as sharp as old sabres. These Fish mongers are like octopus, once they get their suckers (paws) on you there is no escape. Come to the market early, hungry and with a plan of attack! Arrive at the market stalls through the centre, not from one end or t'other.. This sets the boys at one anothers throats and right in your face too -- In for a penny in for a pound, jump in & go for it!
Come early before the throngs come for lunch run the gauntlet of hawkers and check out whats on offer, The freshest of fish (100 metres from the boats) for a pittance. They will want to sell you lobster at 400+ diram/kilo, ignore them! Check out what looks freshest, nice sheen on fish with glassy eyes, crusteaceans live. NEGOTIATE/NEGOTIATE/NEGOTIATE - this is the real fun apart from the eating, dont forget these guys are pirate spawn & don't feel remorce, whatever deal you do rest assured they are making money on you, smile ! Once you make your choice and agreed a price have them set it aside & go have a long walk on the promenade or better on the fantastic beach. Walk to the end and back and guranteed you will have an appetite for that meal.
Early for the best price, hungry after your walk, a plan of attack to enjoy the entertainment.
Bon Appetite!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank BRIANL861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    34
    18
    11
    11
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fish Massacre”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

By rights this should have been a fantastic experience but I really didn't enjoy my experience or my meal here at all. The fish I ordered was clumsily cooked, poorly prepared and the staff didn't seem to care. It was a great bargain and I wasn't too put off by the nonsensical rush for customers (done with so much more style and flair in Marrakesh's night market) and trying to get you to order more expensive fish than those agreed. My main issue was that given the location, the availability of good fresh fish and simple cooking over charcoal I would have expected a far more appetising and enjoyable eating experience.
A blind, no armed man could have done a better job cooking my fish - covered in scales and burnt on the outside. One to experience but only once.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rovaniemi, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Restaurant tent no.29”
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

After an hour photographing the fishermen arriving and selling wish at noon we went and picked up the cheapest restaurant tent by the harbour with most variety for a late lunch (most tents said they close before dinner or latest at 7pm) and had an amazing meal! For 50DHS per person, we were 3, we had drinks, salad, three fishes, three handfuls of shrimps, handful of squid and some other small crab type of seafood to which I dont have an english name to. Super good BBQ with hand washing facilities we sat in the sun for a spring afternoon chatting with the staff.
Definetly a place worth visit of on west coast of Morocco.

Helpful?
2 Thank olipakerran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“They cook your pick”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Near the port, you can pick you fish and they grill it for you. Go for a hole fish instead of small crustacés (lobster and other small shell fish have less meat and can be expensive). They grilled them perfectly.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Miyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
158 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Beautiful fish, beware of the salad!”
Reviewed 14 August 2010

The fish on display was varied and looked really fresh, ranging from sea anenomes to langoustines to fresh scampi through to sardines and flat fish. There were also shark, dog fish and red snapper and they all looked and smelled really fresh. The lobster and crab were still snapping! We ate a variety of fish, beautifully cooked and reasonably priced but I avoided the salad and my husband ate his! We won't go into details but I would strongly recommend you avoid the salad. Eat the fish not the salad and then I would recommend it.

Helpful?
2 Thank shefftrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Essaouira Fish Market also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Essaouira Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing