We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of calm in Essaouira”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Maroc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Maroc
Ranked #10 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm in Essaouira”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Great place - lots of character. We went as a side trip from Agadir to see some "real" Morocco. Great breakfast on the rooftop terrace, we also had a cooking course with head chef Hayat. She even took us to the souk shopping. She's lovely and a good instructor. We really enjoyed eating the meal we helped prepare! All round, a memorable experience, I'd happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Anything on the roof - I think there are a couple up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EndafK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    139
    43
    9
    14
See reviews for
115
333
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Incedo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Whilenwe did not stay here, we did dine here one evening and were somewhat disappointed by the amateurish service and the food.

Firstly, there is very little choice on the menu. One starter, three main courses and one dessert. Secondly, our waiter forgot to ask us for our choice of main course and then when we requested the calamari after the starter, brought us a calamari and a chicken dish. When reminded that we had asked for calamari he replaced the chicken dish almost immediately with a second calamari. On eating the main course, our suspicion that the meals were ore-cooked came true as the calamari was rubbery. The starter and desert courses were fine, but nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Incedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaroc, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
I am sorry to hear that our restaurant did not meet your expectations. Normally reservations for dinner must be made before 16h00, as the daily purchases in the market are based on the number of bookings. Accordingly we do not serve à la carte but offer our guests a choice of 3 Main Courses (fish, meat or vegetarian) to choose from. The starter and dessert are the same for everyone. The limited selection reflects our philosophy that only fresh, traditional Moroccan dishes are served. We do of course appreciate your honest feedback and we do our best to improve our service and quality constantly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The tranquil cost of morocco is in huge contrast to the chaos of Marrakesh. We stayed in the lovely Villa Moroc, a hotel snugly set by the sea. The terrace offers stunning views of the coast line, idea for relaxing in the evening. The temperatures are much cooler by the coast, still perfect for shorts and t shirts. It also means that air conditioning isn’t needed in the rooms, and we slept well every night. Our room was a light and spacious room, it was clean and we had a lovely stay. The manager is a very friend German lady called Maria, she often chatted to us and made our stay very welcoming. She showed us kindness and was very attentive, she was a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonderboy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaroc, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for your kind comment. We do our best to keep our service up to a high standard. Personally I am very touched by your kind comment. I will be at your disposal next time as well!
Mia and the team of Villa Maroc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

Much continues to be said about the now celebrated Essaouira outpost, THE VILLA MAROC.
I thought that I would take the opportunity to comment on the Dining experience at The Villa Maroc. If you are having the wonderful rooftop Breakfast you are experiencing a complete breakfast, tender service and the best sea view in town, so beautiful that it's almost a distraction!
If you are having dinner in a private salon by the fire ( 12 months a year!) you will be surprised course after course with the best wines, cuisine that's finely tuned to everyone's tastes..and quiet service that's impeccable yet invisible. The villa Maroc, both the Restaurant as
well as the Hotel are aging like a very fine wine. It's always great returning home.
And many surprises along

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ormerusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedlescombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

What a gem! Warm rustic charming little place just inside the city walls. Great breakfast, good service, beatifully decorated and just a lovely cozy little place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandMsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed at the wonderful Villa Maroc for a 2nd time recently, this time for a full week. Although it was busier than when we stayed last year, we could not have picked a more beautiful, relaxing place to stay.
breakfast on the terrace is definitely one of the highlights of this hotel - is a great way to start the day! We also ate in the hotel one evening which was absolutely gorgeous food & wine and very recently priced - lovely candlelit niche setting, very romantic!
Also had the hotel hammam, which was very good - I have had lots of hammams in my travels across the middle east, and this was definitley one of the best - great private little hammam to sweat away in and then a very good massage afterwards - we had the hammam experience for two which she managed very well.
Hotel staff are welcoming, friendly and very helpful as ever - everything is very well organised and all the staff were really sweet, supportive and helpful when I was unwell.

see you soon villa maroc!

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockinrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaroc, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
You are our perfect guests! We look forward to receiving you here again soon. May the third time be even better than the other ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
東京
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Everytime we are in Essaouira, we go to the restaurant in Villa Maroc. Great food, ambiance and hospitality. The fixed course is 200 DH, which is about 20 EUR, and you can choose one out of three main dishes. The menu changes everyday depending on what kind of fresh ingredients they have an access to on the day. We love this place so much that we sometimes go two days in a row!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaroc, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
We feel really pleased when people appreciate our fresh and organic cuisine. We do our best to keep our service up to a high standard and are looking forward welcoming you again soon.
The Villa Maroc team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
8.0 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#21 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maroc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maroc

Property: Villa Maroc
Address: 10, rue Abdellah Ben Yassine, Essaouira, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maroc 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The leading Riad Hotel in Essaouira. Villa Maroc has everything you could dream of for an unforgettable holiday. Great location tucked inside the ramparts of the historical medina, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Villa Maroc offers you breathtaking views of the sea and port, 21 rooms with simplicity, spirituality, elegance and refinement, as well as an Oriental Spa. Just a few minutes from the sea and port. Close to both shops and beaches. Villa Maroc is famous for its regional cuisine and romantic candlelit dinners round an open fire. Villa Maroc is the meeting place for artists, actors and musicians." Good Wifi connection throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Maroc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maroc Hotel Essaouira
Maroc Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing