We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and accessible riad, service and breakfast leave much to be desired”
Review of Villa Maroc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Maroc
Ranked #10 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and accessible riad, service and breakfast leave much to be desired”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed at Villa Maroc earlier this year, and were disappointed. Due to the strength of recommendations on Tripadvisor, and the relatively higher price compared to other riads, we had pretty high expectations for Villa Maroc.

Pros:
-The rooms were the best part of our stay, as they were elegantly furnished and very cosy.
-The location for Villa Maroc is quite convenient, and easy to access.

Cons:
-The standard of the breakfast was bad, in terms of the spread and taste, compared to the fare we had in other cheaper riads that we had stayed in during our stay in Fes and Marrakech.
-Upon checking out, the hotel staff tried to charge us a higher price than what we been quoted earlier. Thankfully, we had printouts of the quotations, and even upon presenting this, there was some unpleasantness and tantrums from the staff. I would advise printing out documentation or emails before staying here to avoid any misunderstandings.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scared_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaroc, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We do appreciate your honesty.
Of course we apologize for the inconvenience you had at checkout. I want to emphasize though that misunderstandings like the one you suffered are not our habit and the payments usually work out without any trouble.
We are looking forward welcoming you again in Villa Maroc in order to prove the necessary.
Kind regards, Villa Maroc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    144
    46
    9
    15
See reviews for
126
355
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed at Villa Maroc during our honeymoon one year ago! Unforgettable the pleasant atmosphere, wonderful cooking and the simple elegance of the rooms. The service was friendly and helpful throughout. A wonderful time we had!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batthyany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed in the Villa Maroc in the beginning of July for 5 days, enjoying our time there a lot! The room was very nice, furnished with love and care and provided an oasis to relax and come down from hectic every day troubles! When you start your day with a breakfast on the terrace your do just has to be good ;) I really enjoyed the breakfast, having fresh-made yoghurt and butter combined with the marocan pancake (mzemen) every day..the hotel is directly in the center which makes it perfect for trips to the harbour or into the medina, however there is no noise disturbing the calm and peace of this hotel.
The four riads, which make up the hotel, are nicely connected, there are so many niches where you can just lay back, grab a book from the small bibliothek and enjoy..

We stayed in the Villa Maroc because we went there already the last time in Essaouira for dinner - and it is really a highlight to eat there - one can just TASTE that the ingredients are totally fresh and probably bought at the market on the same day. We had dinner at the Villa Maroc 5 times and it was hard to decide which dish was our favourite because everything was just sooo good! At our last stay I had a dish with beef and apricots and a dreamt to eat it again since then - so I asked if it would be possible in any way to have that dish again. The cook, she was really nice by the way, even showed me how to prepare the dish and i could eat it again...whereas I have to say that my partner had a calamar filled with vegetables and rice and now i know which dish will be my favor for the next time ;)

The Villa Maroc is just the perfect place to relax, have a nice time in the spa, enjoy the view over the harbour, having a walk through the medina and feel like a marocaine princess - and this is especially also because of the really nice and helpful staff! Thank you so much for the lovely service!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Astrida2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaroc, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Well, we thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comment which may help us make improvements if appropriate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We were upgraded to room 16 and it was awesome. If you can, try to be in the open air courtyard section. Roof is great for breakfast but bring a sweater...boy does it get windy! Staff was extremely pleasant though our bathroom toilet stopped working and at first they said it would be fixed the next day, once I explained that next day wasn't a reasonable response, they were able to get it done pretty quickly. Deffinetly worth staying here when in Essaoura.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCTraveler729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Great place - lots of character. We went as a side trip from Agadir to see some "real" Morocco. Great breakfast on the rooftop terrace, we also had a cooking course with head chef Hayat. She even took us to the souk shopping. She's lovely and a good instructor. We really enjoyed eating the meal we helped prepare! All round, a memorable experience, I'd happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Anything on the roof - I think there are a couple up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EndafK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incedo
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Whilenwe did not stay here, we did dine here one evening and were somewhat disappointed by the amateurish service and the food.

Firstly, there is very little choice on the menu. One starter, three main courses and one dessert. Secondly, our waiter forgot to ask us for our choice of main course and then when we requested the calamari after the starter, brought us a calamari and a chicken dish. When reminded that we had asked for calamari he replaced the chicken dish almost immediately with a second calamari. On eating the main course, our suspicion that the meals were ore-cooked came true as the calamari was rubbery. The starter and desert courses were fine, but nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Incedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaroc, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
I am sorry to hear that our restaurant did not meet your expectations. Normally reservations for dinner must be made before 16h00, as the daily purchases in the market are based on the number of bookings. Accordingly we do not serve à la carte but offer our guests a choice of 3 Main Courses (fish, meat or vegetarian) to choose from. The starter and dessert are the same for everyone. The limited selection reflects our philosophy that only fresh, traditional Moroccan dishes are served. We do of course appreciate your honest feedback and we do our best to improve our service and quality constantly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The tranquil cost of morocco is in huge contrast to the chaos of Marrakesh. We stayed in the lovely Villa Moroc, a hotel snugly set by the sea. The terrace offers stunning views of the coast line, idea for relaxing in the evening. The temperatures are much cooler by the coast, still perfect for shorts and t shirts. It also means that air conditioning isn’t needed in the rooms, and we slept well every night. Our room was a light and spacious room, it was clean and we had a lovely stay. The manager is a very friend German lady called Maria, she often chatted to us and made our stay very welcoming. She showed us kindness and was very attentive, she was a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonderboy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaroc, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for your kind comment. We do our best to keep our service up to a high standard. Personally I am very touched by your kind comment. I will be at your disposal next time as well!
Mia and the team of Villa Maroc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
8.0 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#16 of 74 in Essaouira
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
518 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maroc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maroc

Property: Villa Maroc
Address: 10, rue Abdellah Ben Yassine, Essaouira, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maroc 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The leading Riad Hotel in Essaouira. Villa Maroc has everything you could dream of for an unforgettable holiday. Great location tucked inside the ramparts of the historical medina, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Villa Maroc offers you breathtaking views of the sea and port, 21 rooms with simplicity, spirituality, elegance and refinement, as well as an Oriental Spa. Just a few minutes from the sea and port. Close to both shops and beaches. Villa Maroc is famous for its regional cuisine and romantic candlelit dinners round an open fire. Villa Maroc is the meeting place for artists, actors and musicians." Good Wifi connection throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Villa Maroc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maroc Hotel Essaouira
Maroc Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing