We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old world charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Maroc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Maroc
Ranked #10 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked this because of its history and I must admit that I had some reservations and feared that it might have lost its lustre or become casual about service in the way that places that get customers without trying can become. What a surprise then to find that the staff were very kind and helpful and that the place still has the charm that no doubt made it attract its first customers. We had lovely rooms (although I got a bit of a shock when we arrived to be told that we had to move room after the first night as this was not mentioned to me at the time of booking.... so one black mark!). Beds were very comfortable and both rooms had sitting rooms with writing tables and a little private terrace outside with our own table and 2 chairs where we could breakfast if we wished - a nice touch. We breakfasted on the roof terrace which had wonderful views of the dramatic coastline.
Be warned though - Essaouira is very windy most of the time (hence the kite surfing) and so terrace dining can be chilly.
The hotel is full of little nooks where one can disappear to read in peace and lovely open fires are lit at the first hint of chill. Its position is excellent for heading to the harbour or to the souk. I would return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 53rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    139
    43
    9
    14
See reviews for
115
333
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Villa Maroc dates back to the early 90s. It was THE place to stay at in Essaouira and I must admit 30 years later; it still lives up to its' fame. A lovely, chick boutique hotel/riad just at the entrance to the Medina. I still have not been disappointed even once. Each and every room is very tastefully decorated . Nothing overwhelming, just very chick and comfy. Dinner time sees the riad come alive with candles in every room. Small private alcoves are set for you to enjoy a "private dinner", if you wish. The food is FABULOUS! And must admit, the wine list "aint bad either".
This is the real Essaouira from years gone by. The real little gem.

Room Tip: If you like the sea-view , ask for a room on the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely compliment. We are here every day to make our guests feel at home away from home. See you soon again at Villa Maroc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Spent two nights here and wished it had been more. Beautiful Riad-style hotel in a good location in the Kasbah area of the Medina close to the main square, the harbour and the beach. Also very handy for the Supratours bus terminal. Lovely ambiance, enhanced by the staff, the furnishings and the quirky layout which comes from its conversion from three separate houses. Breakfast on the roof terrace with sea views, dinner in a super dining area full of intimate nooks and niches, and with a welcome fire against the March evening chill. We had specified a sea-view room and were thrilled to be shown to a bright, small but perfectly-formed 2-room + bathroom suite at roof level with views towards the harbour and islands. Scrupulously clean throughout. Relaxed atmosphere in one of Morocco's most relaxing resorts.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms are at roof level, with immediate access to the roof terraces but there are three sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisyfield1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your comment. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Villa Maroc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
208 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Arriving in Essaouira drive along the front until the end and park in the car park there. Villa Maroc is not far just inside the medina wall. We had the standard room which was basic but clean,quiet and fine. The riad is four houses perhaps not ideal for the very mature!! You can get lost going up and down the little stair cases! Breakfast is taken on the roof. We did not have dinner here because there are so many restaurants in the town but they do serve dinner. This is a very nice no frills riad.

Room Tip: 28 was quiet. No view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulou089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Lovely seaside riad located just inside the medina. A charming riad with lots of character ! The views from our room were stunning. Rooms were basic, but had lots of charm. Our room was very open and airy, no AC. Didn't eat at the riad but heard it was excellent. The staff was very helpful especially the waitress at breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolly616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for recommending us. Looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Villa Maroc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Villa Maroc was one of our favourite hotels in Morocco. We loved all the little staircases and nooks and crannies. Our room (can't remember the number) was huge and tastefully decorated with Moroccan art. As many others have stated, the location couldn't be better. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely, but there were a lot of wasps. Perhaps management could consider some wasp traps for those times when they are bad.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vancouver reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
We are happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Maroc.
It wasn't wasps but bees on the roof terrace and that only for a short period. We feel bad to kill bees and we do our best to keep them away.
We hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed at Villa Maroc as the second part of a two city holiday. Being a riad inside the medina, it was very different to our previous hotel, and felt like a real hidden treat. We were greeted very warmly on arrival and shown to our room at the very top of this characterful hotel. The thing I've learnt about medina living is that higher floors are better... you get the sunshine and the views, and suite 25 had plenty of both. The room wasn't huge but was perfectly comfortable (despite the very firm mattress), with a powerful shower, handy heater for the chilly evenings, and a great terrace (immediately adjacent to the terrace where all the guests have breakfast). Breakfast is continental style - yoghurt with museli, fruit, breads, galettes, jams, coffee - but the lovely staff will whip up an omelette or serve English breakfast tea if you prefer. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as it felt a bit chilly in the dining area in the evenings, despite the fires, but the menu looked good, very authentic. The recently-opened Jardins de Maroc, offer a day by the pool, about 15 minutes drive from the hotel. It costs 250 DHS per person which includes transport and lunch. The bbq buffet lunch is plentiful and delicious, and the pool area itself calm, clean and surrounded by sun loungers. A very nice spot to spend the day but I think you need to eat a good lunch to justify the cost. Every member of staff at Villa Maroc, from the multi-lingual Swiss owner to receptionists and the waiters, was welcoming and helpful, making our stay very enjoyable. This is great base for exploring Essaouira and especially the medina; you're just 1/2 a minute from the nearest coffee bar and 2 minutes from the beach. Yes, the seagulls can be loud and there's some noise from the medina in the early evening, but for us neither of these caused any problems. Essaouira and Villa Maroc fully justify the 2 1/2 hour drive from Marrakech airport.

Room Tip: Our suite, 25, was ideal. Top of the riad, perfect view, and we could breakfast outside our own door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelenPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your report. We hope to see you soon again at Villa Maroc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
8.0 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#23 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maroc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maroc

Property: Villa Maroc
Address: 10, rue Abdellah Ben Yassine, Essaouira, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maroc 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The leading Riad Hotel in Essaouira. Villa Maroc has everything you could dream of for an unforgettable holiday. Great location tucked inside the ramparts of the historical medina, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Villa Maroc offers you breathtaking views of the sea and port, 21 rooms with simplicity, spirituality, elegance and refinement, as well as an Oriental Spa. Just a few minutes from the sea and port. Close to both shops and beaches. Villa Maroc is famous for its regional cuisine and romantic candlelit dinners round an open fire. Villa Maroc is the meeting place for artists, actors and musicians." Good Wifi connection throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Maroc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maroc Hotel Essaouira
Maroc Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing