We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful end of Morocco trip”
Review of Villa Maroc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Maroc
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Great location, charming ambience, impeccable service, personal touch, extremely clean,
excellent meals, special amenities, warm welcome, marvelous mattress, duvet like at home,
outstanding view from rooms on third floor, breakfast on terrace with sea view.
Cons: brace yourself for high steps on staircases.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bschl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2010

A charming small hotel situated in the medina , perfectly situated for sightseeing and relaxing . The service and management excellent . Very friendly and helpful . We enjoyed massages and the hamman. Food excellent .
. My only complaint was that although I had a beautiful large bed /sitting room, I was awakened for prayers every morning at 5 am !,
.Some rooms are quieter and face onto the beautiful roof terrace . with sea view ., no morning wake up call !
One felt quite safe walking around the souk and the port , most interesting town and surrounding area .
perfect weather in late october,
We were a large group of friends with a common interest and enjoyed our days sketching and painting.
Our evenings were socialising within the group , maybe not ideal for a single . person , mostly couples . ideal for a romantic getaway ..

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dilevinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We stayed for 8 days, the service and friendlyness was outstanding! The atmospheer relaxing and lovely.......the food very good, all and all we had a lovely time, and you will see us again! thank you for a lovely holiday.......Marlene

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlene54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

The Villa Maroc is a haven of peace and quiet and it is quite outstanding. This is mainly due to the excellence of its staff who are always smiling, welcoming and attentive. They are without exception loyal and devoted and have been there for many years which speaks for itself. There is a kindly and relaxed atmosphere created by the owners. As painters, we appreciated its prime location which meant that we were minutes from the fishing port and the medina. The rooms are scrupulously clean, the food delicious and we all loved painting on the terrace with its exceptional views. It was a delightful experience and we cannot recommend it highly enough.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
Thank CanXenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

An easy to find location, just within the medina walls. Staff were welcoming and efficient. Very good continental breakfast best taken on the roof terrace where you can enjoy sea, beach and medina views. We had a spacious suite with windows to the outside for sea views, to the inside courtyard, a comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. There are small intimate areas or larger more sociable areas to enjoy an excellent evening meal. If you want to be really cosy you can select a table by a crackling fire.

This is a well run and super riad in a really good location.

rnished riad. Lots of different sized areas to enjoy a very good evening meal, to be in intimate or socialiable dining either in private

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgwdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

The staff and owners of Villa Maroc are warm, welcoming and have all the details covered. From my first email enquiring about accomodation, right up till their goodbye at the door, we were treated as honored guests with our every need attended. Everyone had a big smile on their face and went above and beyone to meet our requests. They arranged a side trip for us to see the women's Argan collective in Tidzi which was very interesting. The goats in the trees were so comical. Our host spent some time explaining the different processes invovled in Argan oil collection which I found fascinating, being in the tree business myself. Staying at the Villa Maroc was an unforgettable experience, made so by the staff and charming decor. The food was to die for! Can't believe I didn't gain more weight. They have a great selection of Morrocan wines as well. The hotel is just inside the walls and a very short walk from the parking area - no problem at all with luggage or visiting the rest of the town. Everything is within walking distance as is the beach. We took advantage of the Hammam and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Hope to revisit in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ok2go2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Essaouira is a town of mystique and magic, and the Villa Maroc is perfecttly situated to take full advantage. From the roof terrace there is a vista of the beach, the port and main town square, and all can be reached within minutes. No part of the town is more than 10 minutes away.
But that is only part of the story. What makes this hotel so special are the people who make it work. Every member of staff is charming and ready to bend over backwards to offer assistance - I was ill during my stay (unconnected to the hotel) and was visited twice by the owner to make sure I had everything I needed. I have never visited any other hotel where so many quiet spaces are furnished for guests to escape, read, have intimate conversations, or dine together. A simple request to staff, and breakfast can be delivered to any of them, including the roof, which is a wonderful place to start the day. Equally, I have never known another place with so much floral decoration, all apparently changed every couple of days. It all seems to speak of a quiet elegance, which never becomes more important than the warm-hearted friendliness which, from my experience, was offered to every guest. I only left this morning and would go back immediately if I could.
By the way, my one restriction, regarding sleep quality, was due to the morning call to prayers at 5 am each day, but there are so may minarets that the same comment must apply to every hotel in Essaouira. In any case, it becomes quite endearing after a couple of days.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan_STV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 75 in Essaouira
546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
0.1 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
859 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
679 reviews
8 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maroc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maroc

Address: 10, rue Abdellah Ben Yassine, Essaouira, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £113 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maroc 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The leading Riad Hotel in Essaouira. Villa Maroc has everything you could dream of for an unforgettable holiday. Great location tucked inside the ramparts of the historical medina, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Villa Maroc offers you breathtaking views of the sea and port, 21 rooms with simplicity, spirituality, elegance and refinement, as well as an Oriental Spa. Just a few minutes from the sea and port. Close to both shops and beaches. Villa Maroc is famous for its regional cuisine and romantic candlelit dinners round an open fire. Villa Maroc is the meeting place for artists, actors and musicians." Good Wifi connection throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Maroc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maroc Hotel Essaouira
Maroc Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing