We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC”
Review of Villa Maroc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Maroc
Ranked #10 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Amazing experience, perfect location, very relazing and cosy ambience. highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGP76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    144
    46
    9
    15
See reviews for
126
356
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

I've stayed in a few 'riads' (traditional Moroccan multi-apartment houses with a central courtyard), and I've stayed in hotels. Villa Maroc offers the very best of both. It has the authentic charm of the traditional riad - it should do, it was the very first commercial riad -; combined with the customer care and professionalism of a modern hotel. In my experience 'riad' meant a bit rough and ready, where you were left to your own devices. At Villa Maroc you are cared for, charmed and made to feel very welcome from the very start. The people were lovely. Really attentive and natural (it didn't feel like you were a 'punter', but really a guest). The decor is charming and tasteful, and the location is great.
Ask to see the Turret Room. I stayed there for my second week, and it gives the best panoramic view of the sea and port. Villa Maroc is the definitive riad.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helioholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Brilliant!!
My wife and I celebrated my wifes 60th anniversary at Villa Maroc together with two friends.
We enjoyed every single second of our stay, despite pouring rain and heavy winds the first two days.
Excellent room, helpful and friendly staff, perfect location, good food, it could not have been better.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeiGyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2010

Perfectly situated, right between the port and the souk, just on the edge of the old quarter. Everything perfect, from the most delicious breakfast ever on the terrace overlooking the square below, ramparts and fishing port, through to charming staff, absolutely wondrous dinners - 4 courses - so delicious - in lovely surroundings, and wonderfully decorated rooms, very comfortable. If you are not someone who wants to stay in a modern anonymous hotel on the beach away from the heart of Essaouira, then Villa Maroc must be your first choice. One of the best hotels we have stayed in, ever.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northbynorthbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafa, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2010

All the personnel were very friendly and helpful, starting by the receptionist, the room maid including the young woman in the boutique. We estimated the careful and friedly service (reception, bar, breakfast, boutique)
The room was adequate in size and situated on the terrasse. It was decorated with style and good taste. We felt at home and enjoyed the wonderful view and sunsets from the terrace.We also appreciated the plants and fresh flowers all over the house.
The birchermuesli at the breakfast was a highlight.
Being a Riad Hotel without elevator, the rooms at the top request a certain fitness!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desert33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Great location, charming ambience, impeccable service, personal touch, extremely clean,
excellent meals, special amenities, warm welcome, marvelous mattress, duvet like at home,
outstanding view from rooms on third floor, breakfast on terrace with sea view.
Cons: brace yourself for high steps on staircases.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bschl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2010

A charming small hotel situated in the medina , perfectly situated for sightseeing and relaxing . The service and management excellent . Very friendly and helpful . We enjoyed massages and the hamman. Food excellent .
. My only complaint was that although I had a beautiful large bed /sitting room, I was awakened for prayers every morning at 5 am !,
.Some rooms are quieter and face onto the beautiful roof terrace . with sea view ., no morning wake up call !
One felt quite safe walking around the souk and the port , most interesting town and surrounding area .
perfect weather in late october,
We were a large group of friends with a common interest and enjoyed our days sketching and painting.
Our evenings were socialising within the group , maybe not ideal for a single . person , mostly couples . ideal for a romantic getaway ..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dilevinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
8.0 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#16 of 74 in Essaouira
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
519 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maroc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maroc

Property: Villa Maroc
Address: 10, rue Abdellah Ben Yassine, Essaouira, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maroc 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The leading Riad Hotel in Essaouira. Villa Maroc has everything you could dream of for an unforgettable holiday. Great location tucked inside the ramparts of the historical medina, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Villa Maroc offers you breathtaking views of the sea and port, 21 rooms with simplicity, spirituality, elegance and refinement, as well as an Oriental Spa. Just a few minutes from the sea and port. Close to both shops and beaches. Villa Maroc is famous for its regional cuisine and romantic candlelit dinners round an open fire. Villa Maroc is the meeting place for artists, actors and musicians." Good Wifi connection throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Maroc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maroc Hotel Essaouira
Maroc Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing