We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous riad”
Review of Dar Liouba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Liouba
Ranked #18 of 176 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous riad”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Really loved our stay at Dar Liouba. We stayed for 3 nights after driving around the coast and it was a really relaxing stay. The Riad is absolutely beautifully decorated with great attention to detail. We had the Argane room which was decked out in green and was really airy and bright overlooking a quiet street. We took breakfast on the roof terrace every morning and each day the breakfast varied slightly which was a nice touch. Patricia gave us great advice on the town when we arrived and each day Fatima would ask our plans and gave us recommendations on places to eat which always turned out to be spot on. Loved Essaouira and absolutely loved this Riad, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisF80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    112
    18
    2
    4
See reviews for
75
224
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed here for three nights and found it to be perfect. We had chosen our room upon booking but when we arrived they upgraded us because apparently we had chosen an internal room. The room was very pretty, spotelessly clean and plenty big enough for two people. Breakfasts were fabulous...we really loved them! And the staff are great, and so friendly and helpful.
Essaouira is a beautiful little town too - will very happily return to both Dar Liouba and Essaouira.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMH23386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Tucked away from the crowded area and yet close to the 'happening' area of this lovely beachside town, the Riad has a charm of its own. Tastefully done up rooms, each with it's own colour combination arranged over 3 floors are all well appointed. The only trouble is lugging your heavy luggage up and down the stairs!

Room Tip: Take the room on the top floor and enjoy having a bath in your room itself, though the toilet is jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrQuresh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed in this place only one night as part of a large family trip and my only regret was that I wish we had stayed longer at this beautiful and charming Riad. Patricia was very helpful in planning our short stay and giving us excellent dinner recommendations in the old town.
Our group had 4 rooms. Each of the rooms was decorated in a different color scheme to the tiniest detail of the room. The rooms were very comfortable and cosy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gshewakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We arrived here after somewhat more rustic accommodation in the mountains and a hot drive, and were delighted by our big room on the top floor, with nice cool tiles on the floor, plenty of space for luggage, a great view over the town, excellent hot water and a toilet with a functioning door! (I think our room was Saffron.) This is a very attractive, beautifully decorated, well-designed, clean and comfortable riad in an excellent location in Essaouira. As otehrs have said, the staff were very friendly and helpful and did their best to make us feel at home. We didn't dine in but ate in restaurants recommended by the staff each night and I have to say it was the best food I had anywhere in Morocco. Would definitely recommend and come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room lower down if you don't like walking up too many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLT725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed as a couple for three nights. It was a beautiful riad with large airy comfortable rooms (lavande I think was the best). Patricia was an excellent and kind host, helped us to find everything we needed from a lovely restaurant to an hammam (all at short notice). We only had a short time in Eassaouira and staying at Dar Liouba made everything easy. Would definitely recommend and go back again.

Room Tip: Lavande on the top floor was bright and big (and the only room with a bath, and separate toilet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller64_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falun, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We were a group of seventeen people that had five wonderful nights at this riad. We enjoyed every moment there. Very helpful and friendly staff. The riad is clean and nice and beautifully designed. It is located in the medina and is very quiet and peaceful with a great view of the city and the ocean.

Room Tip: Our group preferred the rooms with windows out to the street compared to the rooms with windows ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
808 reviews
7.7 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#16 of 74 in Essaouira
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#21 of 74 in Essaouira
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Liouba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Liouba

Property: Dar Liouba
Address: 26/28 Impasse Moulay Ismail, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Liouba 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Liouba is much more than a charming guesthouse, it is a place where you will feel at home. A house where conviviality, enchantment and an atmosphere of relaxation reign.The general atmosphere is laid back and cheerful, with a bright architecture.A pergola rises three floors from the interior courtyard of this former Imam’s house, culminating in an octagonal skylight. This intriguing structure provides each bedroom with a charming cedarwood balcony, hand carved by local craftsmen, overflowing with flowers, from which you look down into a small internal garden that is a specific feature of these town houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Liouba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Liouba Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing