We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the experience we hoped for”
Review of Dar Liouba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Liouba
Ranked #26 of 180 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We booked to come here during the third week of January for a stay just three weeks later: big selling points were the variety of meals available and the sun terrace on the fourth floor roof. Unfortunately the chef was on holiday and the terrace was closed for repairs so that was a major disappointment for us. The staircase is pretty steep and uneven but our room (Ocean) was fine though looking a bit tired, especially the bathroom. The staff were friendly enough but for these cold evenings it would have been nice to have a fire in the big fireplace but none was forthcoming. There is more to running a hotel or B&B than just putting facilities in place: they need to be actively used, maintained and promoted to the clients. It will be interesting to see how the small, new garden in the lofty atrium eventually grows but for now it somehow doesn't look quite right. The breakfasts were OK and we had some fruit one day and were offered a boiled egg another day. Perhaps we expected too much from the website but on the whole we felt that our experience was not as good as we might have expected.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank doversole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
didinou30, Propriétaire at Dar Liouba, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear David,
I am sorry to read that your stay at Dar Liouba was a little bit disappointing for you.
The renovation of the terrace is now over since several weeks and we are happy to offer our customers the possibility to enjoy it for breakfasts or sun-bathing.
It happens sometimes that our cook is on holidays or day-off , but that doesn't prevent us to prepare dinners for our guests on demand. As far as I remember, we haven't refused you to have dinners at Dar Liouba but you didn't particularly ask for them...
As mentionned into our website, the fireplaces are only decorative in the rooms for obvious security reasons. Sorry if the descriptions were not clear enough and have created this misunderstanding.
Warm wishes,
Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

This accommodation is superb. The owners care about their guests which shows in their attention to detail, their friendly and helpful attitude, the wonderful and varied breakfasts and the cheerful and efficient staff. The place is very clean and the design of the rooms lovely, with great use of colour - making a relaxing atmosphere. Can't fault it!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

A well run and friendly place to stay in a quiet corner of the Medina. The building is very open with an amazing central stairwell filled with light and plants. It's about 2 mins walk to the main souk and 5 mins walk to the Supratours bus station. All the staff were very friendly and helpful - Yousef must be one of world's happiest people. Breakfast was fine on most days and great on some days - the fresh strawberries were lovely and the Egyptian custard was amazing (ask for the recipe). Good selection of books to borrow and read - about 80% in French but then this is Morocco! Our only grumble was that the terrace was being re-fitted at the time, so we couldn't go up there and there was a fair amount of banging some days. But once the renovation is complete (and it virtually is), the terrace will be an amazing place to have breakfast and watch the sunset. I would go back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pottig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Friendly staff. Gorgeous decor and very clean rooms with comfortable beds. Great location in the centre of the old town, a lovely surprise amongst otherwise dirty cramped little streets. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed just one day. The riad was close to Medina and we could walk to bus stop within 10 minute. Also the location and room were quite nice. The owner and stuff were very kind and they gave to us about infomation of the town, restaurant... We wish go to there again.

最初はリアドの場所が分かり辛いと思いますが、メディナから近く、バス停からも徒歩10分以内のロケーションなので便利です。こじんまりとしたリアドで清潔感があり、部屋も広くはなかったのですが十分リラックスできるので満足でした。 オーナーがおすすめしてくれたシーフード料理のレストランに行ったのですが美味しかったです。

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YuhK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The staff was great. The roof deck was an oasis. But the meals they served were exceptional. Some of the best meals we had in Morocco were had at this riad. If you stay here, make sure you eat here at least once.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floors get great sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skotso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed there for one night passing from casablanca to marrakesh. The riad is a great place to stay in, it was my first experience with those roads, and every time we passed in front of one I got panicked, but when we reached dar Liouba, I was relieved to see the place from inside. The room was comfortable, clean and smelled nice. It has the username and password of the wifi hanged on the closet and it worked just fine. the breakfast was the usual pancakes, bread, jam and butter.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oralsurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#2 of 75 in Essaouira
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jack's Apartments & suites
Jack's Apartments & suites
#27 of 180 in Essaouira
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Lazuli
Dar Lazuli
#30 of 180 in Essaouira
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kafila
Riad Kafila
#1 of 180 in Essaouira
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Liouba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Liouba

Address: 26/28 Impasse Moulay Ismail, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: £45 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Liouba 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Liouba is much more than a charming guesthouse, it is a place where you will feel at home. A house where conviviality, enchantment and an atmosphere of relaxation reign.The general atmosphere is laid back and cheerful, with a bright architecture.A pergola rises three floors from the interior courtyard of this former Imam’s house, culminating in an octagonal skylight. This intriguing structure provides each bedroom with a charming cedarwood balcony, hand carved by local craftsmen, overflowing with flowers, from which you look down into a small internal garden that is a specific feature of these town houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Dar Liouba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Liouba Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing