We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful artwork” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galerie d'Art Damgaard

Galerie d'Art Damgaard
Ranked #17 of 54 things to do in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Rotselaar, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“beautiful artwork”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

A place worth visiting, with a temporary exposition, but also some permanent works. All are artists of Essaouira, who's people are a mix of different cultures. It gives interesting artwork :-)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    19
    8
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not for everyone- but it was for me”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I loved it, my partner hated it. It's not a gallery for all tastes, that is for sure, but for those who enjoy fauvism, folk art and outsider art it's one of the few galleries that hosts this kind of work.

It holds the type of art you instantly find compelling, curious or strange and full of colour. There is a lot of folk art and some it it is ingenious, wild, imaginative or just adorable nonsense that I came out feeling creatively fulfilled.

It's free to enter and not out of the way at all so if you're outside do go in. At the very least it'll give you something to talk about if you hated it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank NatalieOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I guess it depends what you like but kids could paint as well, in fact if you've seen the painting cloths after I've finished decorating then ........

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MagnaRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“I'not cultured enough to understand itm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was right next to my hotel and had some weird African looking pieces in it, all apparently made by local artists. Not really my scene, but different from all the usual stuff you see in Morocco. Check it out you might like it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank marionvalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overwhelm!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

It's interesting to have a gallery/shop dedicated to outsider art, but the work doesn't have breathing space, stacked on the walls it's quite overwhelming whereas a few pieces in a white-walled gallery with space would be a lot more powerful.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galerie d'Art Damgaard also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Galerie d'Art Damgaard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing