We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely riad”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dar Leila

Courtyard and fountain
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Courtyard and fountain
Detail of fountain Grand Salon lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Courtyard and fountain
Detail of fountain
Grand Salon lounge area
Grand salon library
Dining Salon with Madam Couscous
Meal cooked by Aicha
Ground floor shower room
Red room - king-size bed
The White Room - king-size bed
The Indian Room - double bed
First floor bathroom
First floor shower room
The Blue Room - twin beds
Ground floor study / bedroom 5 - double bed
Breakfast on the Terrace
Essaouira Medina - looking towards the horloge
Essaouira port fishing boats
Essaouira beach at sunset
Essaouira port at sunset
Essaouira fish market
Essaouira
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kateinmar...
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely riad”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Excellent, refurbished riad. Good Location in the medina. Plenty of space. Lovely roof terrace. Great service, particularly the daily clean and bed making. What a treat, particularly with children! We'll return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana L
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Heavenly birthday weekend”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Having stayed at Dar Leila first a few years ago, it was the main draw for choosing to come back to Morocco with a group of friends for an extended 21st birthday weekend. The riad is absolutely stunning- so beautifully decorated and as ever we were looked after wonderfully by Abdaul & Aicha; we even had a three course meal cooked for us all by Aicha the evening we stayed in. Breakfast under blue skies every morning on the roof followed by lazing in sun or exploring Essaouira cannot be bettered. We were made to feel so welcome by many of the restaurants and hammams when they heard where we were staying- Dar Leila has a deservedly high reputation! I would recommend Dar Leila to anyone planning a trip to Morocco- Essaouira especially feels much friendlier and more laidback than Marrakesh, and the sea breeze means you can actually spend sometime out in the sun without melting. The owners booklet on places to see/eat/things to do is comprehensive and filled with good ideas- we only got round to eating a lot and riding horses on the beach, but we will definitely be back to try and complete the list...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything- I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoppyD199...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay for Christmas!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The Dar was more like a riad - lovely layout and very homely - with good fireplaces we lit in the evenings to keep warm. The owners are very helpful and give you brilliant notes on the area and options on what to do - great food places, shops, day trips etc.
The house is kept by a lovely Moroccan couple who were really helpful, brilliant with my son too who learned some Arabic! They picked us up from the transfer and led us to the house, which was helpful.
I would recommend it for families and groups as it's got a good roof and is in a very central location.
I even lost my hat and they are going to return it to me.
We were in safe hands.
Would go to again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is great.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilyPress
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Wonderful experience from start to finish!!!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 for a stay in February 2013

The highlight of our trip to morocco was Dar Leila! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel right at home. The house is beautifully decorated and furnished to an exceptionally high standard and is immaculately clean throughout. The service from the housekeeper's is second to none, they are so friendly, helpful and made us feel right at home. If you have children I guarantee that they will love Aisha, the housekeeper. We are in the process of organising a return visit. Highly recommended. 5 Stars *****

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alieyl
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Simply magical”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Taxi driver met us at the airport with the Dar Leila sign and we were whisked off to this rather magical place. Very comfortable and as far away from a faceless corporate hotel as you can get. Our little boy instantly took to the wonderful housekeeper. Fresh juice, coffee and croissants on the roof terrace. We took it on with friends and it was a great place for being sociable or finding your own little corner to curl up with a book. Essaouira itself is lovely - think I'd rate it as one my favourite places in the world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: breakfast/drinks on the roof terrace and the wonderful staff
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EthanS09
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Truley magical retreat right in the heart of the fasinating walled city of Essaouria.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in March 2013

This was our second stay in this lovely Riad and we cannot recommend it highly enough - if fact we are considering a spring break there next year with my wife’s parents.
The Riad is a stunning and quiet oasis right in the heart of the medina which is just a few steps away from the front door.
We particularly loved our breakfast relaxing on the large roof terrace.
The staff will make you very welcome and can babysit, allowing you to sample some of the best restaurants to be found in Morocco, all within a 10 minute walk.
Transfers from Marrakesh were organised by the owners which made the whole experience simple and enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, decor and hospitality of the staff.
Liked least: Nothing, we are considering going next year for a 3rd time says it all.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelMe...
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifull house,cental in the medina,local shops on the doorstep and service excellent”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were met by Abdoul as promised and he couldn't do enough to help us.Arranged parking and took us to the house.The house is inside the walled city and equipped to a high standard.Local amenities are very close and the house is an easy walk from numerous restaurants.Aisha made every effort to comply with breakfast requests and we were spoilt rotten.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private warm rooftop area,close to the beach
Liked least: Old city odours emanating from the drains
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$94
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing