We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views and location.”
Review of Madada Mogador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madada Mogador
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Views and location.”
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Lovely place to stay. We had suite on room with private terrace. Felt very private and exclusive. Rooms could have been updated slightly - our iPod dock didn't work and fixtures a little tired however the location, view and service made up for it.
Breakfast or drinks on the terrace were of good quality. Discretely delivered and cleared away. Hotel staff extremely knowledgable about local Attractions. Do take their restaurant recommendations.
Not your usual hotel layout but a nice change the the norm. Two placid cats will keep you company if you want it ( though easily shooed away if you want to be alone)
A physical door between bathroom and bedroom (rather than sliding screen) and a little cosmetic work and it would be the prefect seaside hideaway in the sun.


  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephieH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    93
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
51
284
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

This beautiful hotel lies snuggled against the ramparts next to the Orson Wells Park and in easy walking distance to the port, souks and beaches. If approached by car, there is a parking lot next to the park, a stone’s throw from the hotel.

From the outside, Madada Mogador is just another Moroccan hotel. But once you reach the first floor, a whole new world opens up. To quote the hotel: “The magic of the place is created by a subtle alliance between orientalism and zen. A different art de vivre where silence and intimacy invites you to relax.” - So true!

The main area (reception/lounge/small library) is done in a very hip and contemporary loft-like style with beautiful Moroccan paintings, indirect lighting and WiFi throughout.

The highlight of the hotel however, is its gorgeous terrace. Furnished with Dedon-like lounge chairs, tables and sofas, it was definitely our favorite spot. We particularly enjoyed having a very delicious breakfast up there with a view to die for!

Our room “Pacha” had direct access to the terrace facing the ocean. The room size is not particularly big, but spacious enough for storing two large suitcases and with the built-in wardrobe, you can stow away all your stuff. The bathroom features a large bath and a lovely hand-basin in aged brass.

There is no WiFi on the terrace and therefore in the rooms up there, but I guess that shouldn’t be an issue while on

We also enjoyed having dinner at the After 5 restaurant with its international cuisine and peaceful atmosphere. The food was extraordinarily delicious and worth every dirham. And if you get bored with your company, there’s excellent WiFi reception :-)

All the the employees at Madada Mogador are very friendly and attentive. They help you in every way possible and really make you feel at home. It’s really recommended to use their help for making reservations at the more popular restaurants in town.

Last but not least, we fell in love with their two most gorgeous cats, Sultana and Sultan. If only we had had the space to smuggle them out … we so wanted to!

So anyone thinking about staying in Essaouira should consider this amazing place, its simply perfect.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank missliberty8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property and for your kind words! We hope you come back and visit us again soon!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epse, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

A very nice B&B , a few steps from the beach and the little port of Essaouira. The room was absolutely stunning with a very nice litle private balcony. On the roof there is a big terrace with wonderful seaviews , comfortable lounge chairs. You can take your breakfast there or in the room.
I was there with my son, sonit was not a problem buy...the door of the room was a few meters from the reception and the kitchen. So if you are in love and you expect to make some noise during the night, it could be a problem.....
We discovered a Cockroach in the room and he was....huge.... But never mind, it is Morocco....

Don't go to eat in the port. I csn not remrmber the nsme but it was dirty snd you have to wait a very longvtime...go to Le chalet de la Plage. Very tasty. If you take a mixed fish grill, it is enough for 2 persond....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneEpse_Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
It was a pleasure to having you at Madada Mogador. Thank you very much indeed for your Comment

We are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Live2travel
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We spent 3 glorious nights at Madada Mogador. The location of this Riad is outstanding. Within the medina but just steps from the beach. We had a room with a private terrace which boasted a beautiful view of the harbor and beach. The room also had an amazing bathroom with a giant soaking tub and a door overlooking the ocean. You have the option of eating breakfast on your terrace or on the rooftop terrace....we did both and both were fantastic. We also just simply enjoyed an afternoon glass of wine on the terrace. The staff could not be more friendly or willing to help make your stay any better. They make you feel as if Madada Mogador is your home away from home. While there, we also decided to take the 1/2 day cooking class. It was such fun and I would highly recommend it. Afterwards you can eat the fruits of your labor (we did pretty well as students as it was delicious). I also would recommend the restaurant next door, The After Five Lounge. We had a really great steak there which was quite welcome after eating all of the tagines.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IIive2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property and for your kind words. We think our staff is pretty awesome as well and we appreciate your saying so! We hope you come back and visit us again soon!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Pauline welcomed me warmly with friendly smiled and a full briefing on what to expect, see and experience while in the riad and Essouira in general. Loved my accommodation and the al fresco terrace upstairs with amazing views of the sea beyond the old walls. I also had a wonderful, relaxing massage in the highest room again with amazing views and relaxing ambiance. The massage therapist, Hannan such a fantastic job that I booked her again prior to my departure. Breakfast was ample and was served in the terrace every morning. I had salads for lunch which was delicious and simple. The location's great where one can easily access the beaches and the Medina, within just minutes. Staff's super friendly and efficient : Pauline, Azziz and Wafa, I believe. I loved my 2-night stay and wished I could have been there longer. I will be back for sure. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Nothing beats a room with sea views of course. One thing I can say is, be aware of the noise brought...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alikatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property and for your kind words. We think our staff is pretty awesome as well and we appreciate your saying so! We hope you come back and visit us again soon!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2012

a perfect delight!
I can't describe how much I enjoyed visiting and feeling like I was "home."
very nice indeed.

I hope to see you all again sometime soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timkyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
It was a pleasure to having you at Madada Mogador. Thank you very much indeed for your

Comment we are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I cannot say enough great things about this place. I saw photos online and a review in lonely planet and it did not disappoint! We stayed in a room with our private terrace overlooking the water. The terrace was actually on the old medina wall - it was so amazing! The terrace also had a spectacular unobstructed view of the ocean. The room was super clean and the bathroom had this amazing large tub from which you could soak and see the ocean. We had breakfast on the terrace one morning and the other mornings ate on the amazing rooftop lounge. The rooftop had plenty of space and amazing coastal views. We even spent time on the rooftop having drinks one afternoon. All of the staff were super helpful and spoke excellent English (and other languages!). They even booked reservations for us at some local restaurants and gave us tips on places to visit. The breakfast was large and always had fresh fruit. The hotel itself is right inside the medina, and a 2 min walk to the port and the beach. Really, I could go on forever! But I will say this: whenever I go back I absolutely will stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosanne_milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear Rosanne,

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your kind words! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Maya
Dar Maya
#5 of 74 in Essaouira
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
669 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Riad Dar L'Oussia
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
386 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madada Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madada Mogador

Property: Madada Mogador
Address: 5 Rue Youssef El Fassi, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madada Mogador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Against the blue of the ocean, Madada Mogador is an intimate address hidden behind the ancient ramparts. The magic of our contemporary house comes from the subtle blending of oriental refinement and well appointed open spaces. The result is an ambiance of pure Zen and serenity that invites guests to truly relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Madada Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madada Mogador Essaouira
Madada Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing