We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moroccan, Honeymoon”
Review of Madada Mogador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madada Mogador
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Moroccan, Honeymoon”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My wife and I got to spend 3 lovely days at the Madada Mogador in Essaouira. This stylish retreat is in a wonderful location in the Medina. The room was wonderful and had its own private balcony. Great for a refreshing Moroccan mint tea. The staff were friendly and helpful. They made tea whenever needed. Their recommendations for restaurants were spot on and they booked them for us each time. The restaurant downstairs is spectacular and we had a wonderful 1st dinner there.

I would highly recommend getting the Madada staff to book you into the cooking class downstairs as it was an excellent experience! They even take you on a tour of the spice market!

Overall superb place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Madada room which was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 81andyb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madada, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your kind words! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    91
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
50
282
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aix-en-Provence, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I recently spent a truly romantic and delectable evening at this hotel with my husband.

We ate dinner in the La Table restaurant located beneath the hotel - this restaurant is a "must" even for those not staying at the hotel.

With a comtemporary, yet relaxed and elegant style this restaurant positvely induces one to kick -back and indulge all the senses; quite a feat of decoration and thought as it is a very large space and yet invites a wonderful sense of warmth & intimacy; the orange embers of the fire in the corner beautifully mirroring the touches of orange accessories scattered about the room.

I dwell a little on the aesthetic of this restaurant as it is crucial to the experience of eating here and extends to the food and service - which was impeccable from first to last. Fresh and delicious food served with a sincere and welcoming smile on the part of all the staff. "Mabruk" to the sibling team and staff who run this show !!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
It was a pleasure to having you at Madada Mogador. Thank you very much indeed for your Comment

We are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Warmest regards from Faty and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villiers-sous-Grez
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Two glorious weeks at Madada Mogador: the perfect room with breakfast on our terrace in the morning and a cosy log fire in the evening. Meals at La Table, just next door were delicious, so the perfect combination. Run by brother and sister, Christine and a great team: Pauline, Wafaa, Mohammed and Aziz. Nowhere else to stay in Essaouira!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
It was a pleasure to having you at Madada Mogador. Thank you very much indeed for your Comment

We are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We recently spent three nights here in one of the suites.

The location is perfect, in the ramparts of the town, and the riad itself is very stylish. Style sometimes triumphs over substance (a beautiful stone bath with a hand shower, but no wall fixing so you have to hold the shower rather than having the option to stand under it), but it's no more than a minor annoyance.

The restaurant is also very good.

I'm sure we'll be back

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlantheTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
It was a pleasure to having you at Madada Mogador. Thank you very much indeed for your Comment

We are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
483 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

They first organized transportation for us from Marrakech. The minibus driver was waiting for us. Going there was smooth as silk. Our luggage was brought to the riad.
Very warm welcome upon arrival with a freshly squeezed OJ and minth tea. My companion and I had booked the Madada room and we're glad we did. Well appointed, with it's own small terrace.
The bathroom is fantastic with it's old Morrocan tub.
Breakfast served on the rooftop terrace is made with local products and traditional dishes.
It's perfectly located within the medina and across from the beach and the harbour.
The service is outstanding. We're really sorry that we only spent three nights there.
Merci pour tout.

Room Tip: Go on the website and select your room. If you're lucky enough (I doubt) that there is some prem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guillaumeleconqueran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

A great hotel, in a perfect location just on the median wall with a fantastic roof terrace over looking the ocean. The rooms are a high standard, with lovely linen and comfortable beds. The staff are also wonderful, extremely friendly and helpful. The person on reception even upgraded our room so that we were facing the ocean. I highly recommend this hotel, for a lovely relaxing break... you will find it hard to leave!

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bongoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadadaMogador, General Manager at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
It was a pleasure to having you at Madada Mogador. Thank you very much indeed for your Comment

We are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

A delightful small hotel just within the medina walls, making it a great location close to the souks, harbour and ramparts. We had a lovely large room (Madada room) with its own private terrace with a sea view, and a super bathroom with huge tub which my husband really enjoyed. A good breakfast was served on the rooftop terrace. Do make sure to have a meal at the restaurant downstairs Le Table, and also at one in the main street called Eliza I think. We had excellent meals at both of them. Wafaa and Pauline were very welcoming and helpful with suggestions on what to see and do. Highly recommended as a place to relax at the end of a holiay in Morocco.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadadaMogador, Front Office Manager at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and

look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Maya
Dar Maya
#5 of 74 in Essaouira
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
662 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Riad Dar L'Oussia
#17 of 74 in Essaouira
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madada Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madada Mogador

Property: Madada Mogador
Address: 5 Rue Youssef El Fassi, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madada Mogador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Against the blue of the ocean, Madada Mogador is an intimate address hidden behind the ancient ramparts. The magic of our contemporary house comes from the subtle blending of oriental refinement and well appointed open spaces. The result is an ambiance of pure Zen and serenity that invites guests to truly relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Madada Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madada Mogador Essaouira
Madada Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing