We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Madada Mogador
Nearby Hotels
Villa Quieta(Essaouira)
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Essaouira Lodge(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Maroc(Essaouira)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Zahra(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Gonatouki(Ghazoua)(Great Value!)
US$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
380
103
26
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
380
103
26
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla tableprivate terracea hot water bottlethe ownermain terraceboutique hotelsmall hotelperfect locationbreakfast terraceour honeymoonoverlooking the oceanlate at nightjunior suiteorson wellespancakesa great stayrestaurants and shops
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 518 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed at the Madada Mogador in early Jan - a relaxing few days in Essaouira before the craziness of Marrakech. We stayed in the Assala room. A standard room but charming and perfect for our needs. Staff were all very friendly and gave us excellent suggestions for restaurants and a hammam spa. Breakfast was great especially with the company of the rather majestic Sultan and his mum Sultana the resident cats. It was lovely to see Sultan stretched out fast asleep in the lovely internal central patio when we got home at night. We arrived late at night so didn't see the view of the sea until the next morning. What a fabulous view from the terrace. We also enjoyed dinner at the sister restaurant and had a fun time at the cookery school. A great combination of facilities and experiences. Loved Essaouira itself and look forward to returning again one day!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sashacat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Sasha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your experience at Madada Mogador.
We are extremely happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and you would choose our Hotel for a return stay.
We look forward to being of service when you are back in Essaouira.

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We just returned home from the most wonderful week staying here. We had been to Essaouria before in a rented riad. This was a much better choice! A boutique hotel/guest house overlooking both the harbour and beach. Yes there is a park and some parking in between but this is a very real town and place to stay as opposed to anything too clinical. They in no way spoil the views.

Madada only has 7 rooms but they are all very spacious as are the communal areas-terrace and lounge. We stayed in Charife Suite which was so much more than the website suggested-bedroom, cute little lounge where we had our breakfast each day, great bathroom (and a bath I used twice daily it was so comfortable), and an amazingly spacious and well furnished terrace complete with the furriest and friendliest of cats!

We ate in the Madada restaurant 3 times and each one was faultless. This could have been in the best areas of London...it beat the socks off other places we ate in but there are some I would recommend for lunch and/or dinner such as Saharnd the Cinema Restaurant where we had an exclusive viewing (it is very new!)

Staff could not have been more accommodating. Decor great. Vibe relaxed. I am an interior Designer and have run a high-end B&B and am known to be a tad on the particular side!!)

The town is clean. A truly charming, interesting, beautiful, historic destination. Stunning beaches. A mix of boho and sophistication. We were two women together-no hassle or feelings of intimidation. We will be returning and hopefully to Madada, maybe even later this year!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jude01_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Jude,

We thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We went to Essaouira towards the end of our Morocco trip and were looking to mainly relax. The rooms are spacious and have great sunlight. The rooms on the terrace are a little low on privacy - while the glass windows are opaque from the outside, it is still a bit creepy to laze in your room while the terrace gets busy.

The highlight of Madada is the terrace... A lazy breakfast can go one for hours in its comfortable chairs and superb views of the ocean, that combined with the constant screeching of the gulls complete the beach experience. We dined at La Table it's restaurant one evening and the food is amazing. There's a great terrace massage room and most packages include a free massage!

For those looking for an economical transfer to Marrakech or beyond, CTM buses are a good option. Not as frequent but do the job!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadadaMogador, Responsable relations clients at Madada Mogador, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear guests, thank you for taking the time to post a review on Madada Mogador.

We'll share this one with the whole team and look forward to welcome you for a stay longer than 2 days..
We also have superior room and large suites and we'll be sure that you'll appreciated for another stay with us :-)

Kind regrads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Hotel is in need of a revamp and lick of paint. Although the hotel is affiliated to the restaurant downstairs they are of very different standards, the restaurant has a much better decor and excellent food, though disappointed the cookery courses advertised were not running when we stayed. Photos of the hotel must be several years old and are quite deceptive, stayed in the madada superior room which was pictured with beautiful wooden windows however poor standard aluminium doors on arrival and the roof terrace looks much more modern than it is. Room was advertised as having terrace overlooking the sea however it was much further set back than in photos and overlooking not so nice a park and rubbish bins aswell, people sitting on park benches could see through to bathroom if windows were open. On the plus side the staff were excellent, very warm and accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_scott95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadadaMogador, Propriétaire at Madada Mogador, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

5 months later your comment is not up to date!!
We would have like to have been aware of your unhappiness the day of your check out on the 3rd of July.
Being aware of your opinion looking for a hotel in the countryside, we are giving to understand that Madada was not the good place for you to stay.
Insofar as our house upkeep is concerned as highlighted recently by excellent comments travellers, we make an effort on a daily basis to improve quality and comfort.
Madada Mogador’s soul has been forged over the years, which is what gives its charm and Madada room nestled on the ramparts is 13 meters high overlooking the old port and it’s impossible for people to see you!!!

We didn’t wait for your review and maintenance of the house was done in September after the season...

Regards,

Christine Dadda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

There are many positives already left here by other 'trip advisors'; we had a great stay here in a central location, but also affording somewhere to spend a peaceful day in the sun away from the markets of Essaouira. I have tried to add here some additional thoughts rather than repeat what you have no doubt already discovered.

1) If you get a taxi here; the driver will inevitably drop you at the main entrance to the Medina (where there is a handy cash machine!). This will entail you needing one of the porters that wait here to help you with your bags. You could ask to be dropped at a gate which is closer to the Riad (approx. 30 feet from the front door of the Riad); your choice, for the sake of a $1-2 and helping the porters out, you could stick to plan A.

2) The restaurant attached to the Riad (La Table) is a superb venue; I'll review elsewhere - but also note that this is the location for one of the most popular (as voted by Tripadvisors) things to do in Essaouira; the cooking course. So you are well placed for this.

3) Some of the rooms are directly off the terrace on the first floor. This may feel like a loss of privacy (especially when you look out from the rooms and realise it's just glass between you and the public area - mirror glass that is!) - but actually we didn't feel this; there was never anybody using this space late at night so no noise issues. This is where breakfast is served, so if you are looking for a lie-in you might want to avoid these rooms.

4) If you are travelling onto Marrakech from here (city or airport) it certainly worked out cheaper to organise the taxi from the Essaouira end (the down-side being they might not know exactly where you are going in Marrakech as we discovered ......).

If we were heeding back to Essaouira, this would certainly be a first choice for where to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews