We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Cats!!”
Review of Madada Mogador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madada Mogador
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love the Cats!!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at the Madada Mogador for three nights with our two boys (14) and (11). The hotel was very pleasant and elegant. Our rooms were comfortable, very spacious with lovely double beds. The cats made our stay very enjoyable and were always keeping us company in the lobby. Also, the staff were friendly and there was a very nice receptionist who gave us tips and locations to visit.

The only negative were that we could hear a lot of noises from the streets, but the location was amazing and it was really quick to reach the souks and restaurants in the centre of the town.

(Written by my son, Marco age 11) Approved by Me

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyLP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Kelly,

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your kind words! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    90
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
49
277
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We booked for 2 nights and were so lucky to be able to extend twice and stay for 4 in this cool Riad. Our room was a big double and the bed was large (good as we are not a couple!) and firm. Staff amazing - celebrated my birthday and got a big hug and the use of some exquisite champagne glasses with absolutely no fuss! We were welcomed to the restaurant La Table next door which is owned by the same people - faultless service and fantastic personal attention by the warm manager/owner. The terrace at the Riad overlooks the beach and we had nespressos bought to us in their own little silver platter with lid! No need to have snacks in (there are some) as Essaouria is a gastronomic delight and you have the location to get to all these on foot. Enjoy!

Room Tip: I think we stayed in the Sabra double and it was massive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Laura,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at Madada. It is our goal to make each guest feel at home and we are very pleased to hear that we accomplished that for you.

We thank you once again and hope to serve you again in the future.

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The only good thing about this hotel is its location. The hotel room was terrible, double bed was so uncofortable that my husband and I developed back pain after sleeping for 2 nights. Air conditioner wasn't working so we had to sleep with the door open. We brought this to staff's attentonion several times. They said (No problem, we'll fix it) It never happened. When we arrived they offered us 2 beers and charged us for them later. No TV, WiFi is so weak that you can use it only in the lobby. No restaurant available, snacks are very expansive. Be careful when touching lights you WII burn you. That is all you will get for $200.00 per night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Magdalena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadadaMogador, Propriétaire at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Madam,

In our constant effort to maintain and improve our standards of service, we are more than happy to accept constructive criticism and suggestions. However, we cannot and will not abide the bad faith of your review. We therefore feel it necessary to respond openly to your complaints, and let Trip Advisor readers make up their own minds.

- Our complimentary welcome drink is a pot of traditional mint tea. Your order of two beers was, obviously, reflected on your bill.
- The price of your oceanfront room is 135€ per night, including breakfast. Not 150€.
- The most expensive snack on our terrace menu costs six Euros.
- Our restaurant, La Table, is located downstairs from the guest house and serves many seafood specialties and fine Mediterranean cuisine. We are surprised you were unable to find it, as it is clearly advertised in the lobby and our website, and is open seven days a week.
- The air conditioning in your room was and is in perfect working order. We checked it twice. However, anyone might tell you that air conditioning is always less efficient with wide open windows!
- Our staff was attentive and helpful to you during the 48 hours of your stay, but you apparently were not moved by their dedication to making you feel comfortable and welcome. The tone of your message puts this into clearer perspective.

Trip Advisor is a clever and useful tool for travelers, but in the wrong hands, it can become a spurious expression of one's bad faith. In the face of this, we can not and will not fail to react to such an unjust attack on our reputation.

The reviews of our other guests clearly illustrate that, for ten years, our establishment has maintained the highest level of quality and our staff has always done its utmost to make every guest's stay as wonderful as possible.

We wish establishments where you book future travels, the best of luck.

Owner of Madada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Madada Mogador is ideally located just within the medina walls and fabulous views across the beach and fishing port from the sun terrace. There are seven bedrooms in total. For the sea facing bedrooms - there are two rooms on the first floor facing out to sea and three on the second floor - where two of them form an integral part of the sun terrace area and there is the junior suite with its own private balcony. Breakfast is served on the balcony each morning subject to weather. The bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. Our Junior Suite had a bath with a handheld shower. Wafaa and Nezha in reception are very helpful and provide a great deal of local knowledge. They have an excellent restaurant below called "La Table by Madada" - the food, ambience, service are all excellent. A really relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for the seafacing rooms. I personally would choose those on the second floor because you can ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Zan,

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We came from 2 lovely nights at Riad Awa in Marrakesh and found ourselfs not liking this hotel that much. The rooftop is lovely no doubt about it but thats about it. We stayed in a room that was so loud and noisy. We were waking up 10-15 times every night by doors slaming, people yelling on the street below our window ( every night even sunday and monday night) The music from the hotels restuarant was also really loud. The sound of toilets flushing was also disturbing. The lobby/"inside hanging out area" felt very unpersonal and not so nice.
The staff was very kind and helpful but all in all i would never go back here and dont rekomend it if you like to get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PellePo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadadaMogador, Propriétaire at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
The review before yours “Calm before storm’’ was written by guests were in the same room as you “Assala room”

We are so surprised by your comment, as during your stay you never mentioned any kind of noise at all!!!
As you wrote in your review we have very helpful and friendly staff who would have assisted you with any problems concerning your sensitivity to noise and found for sure a solution to make your stay enjoyable.
Madada is extremely appreciated for his calm and our guests always spent a relaxing stay.

We regret and find this unfair for you as for us not to say a word during your stay.

Christine Dadda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed at the Madada Mogador in early Jan - a relaxing few days in Essaouira before the craziness of Marrakech. We stayed in the Assala room. A standard room but charming and perfect for our needs. Staff were all very friendly and gave us excellent suggestions for restaurants and a hammam spa. Breakfast was great especially with the company of the rather majestic Sultan and his mum Sultana the resident cats. It was lovely to see Sultan stretched out fast asleep in the lovely internal central patio when we got home at night. We arrived late at night so didn't see the view of the sea until the next morning. What a fabulous view from the terrace. We also enjoyed dinner at the sister restaurant and had a fun time at the cookery school. A great combination of facilities and experiences. Loved Essaouira itself and look forward to returning again one day!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sashacat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Sasha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your experience at Madada Mogador.
We are extremely happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and you would choose our Hotel for a return stay.
We look forward to being of service when you are back in Essaouira.

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We just returned home from the most wonderful week staying here. We had been to Essaouria before in a rented riad. This was a much better choice! A boutique hotel/guest house overlooking both the harbour and beach. Yes there is a park and some parking in between but this is a very real town and place to stay as opposed to anything too clinical. They in no way spoil the views.

Madada only has 7 rooms but they are all very spacious as are the communal areas-terrace and lounge. We stayed in Charife Suite which was so much more than the website suggested-bedroom, cute little lounge where we had our breakfast each day, great bathroom (and a bath I used twice daily it was so comfortable), and an amazingly spacious and well furnished terrace complete with the furriest and friendliest of cats!

We ate in the Madada restaurant 3 times and each one was faultless. This could have been in the best areas of London...it beat the socks off other places we ate in but there are some I would recommend for lunch and/or dinner such as Saharnd the Cinema Restaurant where we had an exclusive viewing (it is very new!)

Staff could not have been more accommodating. Decor great. Vibe relaxed. I am an interior Designer and have run a high-end B&B and am known to be a tad on the particular side!!)

The town is clean. A truly charming, interesting, beautiful, historic destination. Stunning beaches. A mix of boho and sophistication. We were two women together-no hassle or feelings of intimidation. We will be returning and hopefully to Madada, maybe even later this year!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jude01_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Jude,

We thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#21 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Chbanate
Riad Chbanate
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Maya
Dar Maya
#6 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madada Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madada Mogador

Property: Madada Mogador
Address: 5 Rue Youssef El Fassi, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madada Mogador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Against the blue of the ocean, Madada Mogador is an intimate address hidden behind the ancient ramparts. The magic of our contemporary house comes from the subtle blending of oriental refinement and well appointed open spaces. The result is an ambiance of pure Zen and serenity that invites guests to truly relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madada Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madada Mogador Essaouira
Madada Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing