We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Laid back Moroccan chic with fantastic breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madada Mogador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Madada Mogador
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Laid back Moroccan chic with fantastic breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

We spent four nights at the Madada Mogador as part of our honeymoon recently. We had one night in the Pacha room off the roof terrace and 3 nights in the Mogador suite with its private balcony just within the ancient city walls. The pacha room was small but perfectly formed and the suite was large and airy with a mezzanine lounge area. Both had beautiful bathrooms and were spotlessly clean. Breakfast was served on the roof terrace with its amazing views over the ocean or on the private balcony. A continental style moroccan breakfast selection of delicious local breads, jams, juice, fruit and yogurt was the perfect way to start the day. The staff in the Madada were extremely helpful, organising restaurant reservations, recommending activities and booking transfers. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return in a flash.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adventuremonkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    89
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
48
276
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

I was really excited about going to Madada Mogador, especially after browsing all the photos on Mr and Mrs Smith. However, a variety of disappointments led to us staying one less night than planned.
We arrived to find the only windows in our room looked directly onto the communal terrace, used by others to have drinks and breakfast. 3 out of 4 of the lights in our room were not working on arrival - one of which gave anyone who tried to go near an electric shock! There is no pool - which is not at all uncommon in Essaouira, but I would have really enjoyed. There were building works nearby which were a bit noisy - but in the medina this is apparently hard to avoid.
The whole hotel needed a bit of looking after - bird poo on the deck chairs, a rusting satellite dish on the roof, holes in the chairs..... As one of the more expensive hotels, I felt it unacceptable for these things to have been overlooked.
The positives: nice, friendly staff, clean rooms (with exceptionally soft towels!), convenient location, and a great cookery school downstairs..... just don't expect the plush setting the pictures would lead you to believe.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

I was very disappointed to arrive at Madada Mogador to find it sitting above a new hotel that was currently under renovation!! Indeed we had to enter through the construction works just to get to the front door... Having spoken to the owner prior to arrival i feel this could have and should have been mentioned.

They did offer us a very small discount on a different room (our choosen room was simply to noisy) which was over looking the beach and much quieter than the rooms directly above the construction. However, after our second day we were asked to change room obviously due to a new guest requesting our room.... needless to say we left!

Not the sort of treatment you expect at a hotel published in Mr & Mrs smith... Breakfast was poor and at an average room rate of 130 euro per night i have to say that with the huge selection of Riads available in Essaouira, give this one a miss...... Sorry!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

Madada Mogador is in a great location on the ramparts of the the city, and close to the beach as well.
The service by the staff was impeccable, nothing too much trouble.
However the prices were expensive, its clear to see when new the rooms were stunning but they are now tired and need a lick of paint.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loubLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

Madada Mogador is in a great location with lovely views and is very comfortable. Christelle provides fantastic service, giving a great overview of the city, potential places to eat and things to do, including perfect hammam selections. She also helped us find a local liquor store and even had great (Moroccan) wine recommendations for us to buy. She continued to help us out (with taxi/transport issues while we were in another city 4 hours away) the day after we departed, and the transfers she organized were ontime and very comfortable and professional, a far cry from our Marrakech experience. The decor was contemporary, the terraces were great, I'd definitely go back.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lissa6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

Perfect location: inside the city walls, but close to them, so access to transportation is easy.

Christelle was extremely amiable and helpful. She continued to provide us with service via email even after we had departed.

Nice, simple, contemporary decor.

Free wi-fi, iPod docking.

Beautiful deck.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esme_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

The best thing about this hotel its location: It is right at the wall of the old city, with a stunning view of the town and the ocean. You really can't appreciate what you are getting by staying here without seeing this.

The room I had was beautiful and faced the terrace on the roof with the view mentioned above. I was very pleased with the room, and would stay here again if I ever get back to this definitely-the-most-beautiful-place in Morocco (the only place I wish I had tacked on a fifth day, although Touradant was wonderful too).

Both the town and hotel are a truly wonderful place to be.

My only comment is that the rooms on the lower level are all around a central common room where people chat, have breakfast and surf the web. If you want a quieter environment, I would suggest the rooms on the terrace level (which are the better rooms, in any case). If you don't care about this (and I heard no complaints), then this shouldn't be a problem.

The staff was wonderful and friendly, and it was great to be able to use their internet access, without having to find an internet cafe just to check for mail.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would return to the same room, should I ever go back to Morocco again

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seetheworld9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#11 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dar Maya
Dar Maya
#6 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madada Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madada Mogador

Property: Madada Mogador
Address: 5 Rue Youssef El Fassi, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madada Mogador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Against the blue of the ocean, Madada Mogador is an intimate address hidden behind the ancient ramparts. The magic of our contemporary house comes from the subtle blending of oriental refinement and well appointed open spaces. The result is an ambiance of pure Zen and serenity that invites guests to truly relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia and Hotels.com so you can book your Madada Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madada Mogador Essaouira
Madada Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing