We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Al Madina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Al Madina
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
milano
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“nice place but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

The Riad is nice, room so and so. clean enough but not really. do not look under the bed ever...
the lady at the reception is nice at your arrival but then.... then i tried to pay by credit card the morning i checked out: she said there was no connection..i said i'll be back by 2 pm and then let's see. at 2 pm she said "no connection, i told you before the credit card doesn't work today..." and i replied "to who did you say that?....". she is basically a lier, didn't want to be paid by CC because Visa or whatever charge her some percentage. i always say: tell the truth.
so watch your back at the Aal Madina Riad.

Room Tip: room #29 not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fedeluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    158
    49
    20
    12
See reviews for
80
161
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amberley, New Zealand
Level Contributor
180 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

This Riad was described on our tour documents as "one of the most elegant mansions in the historic district of Mogador" ! It doesn't say much for the others !
A good 8-10 minute walk from the Medina gate and the most 'hungry' baggage porters we encountered in Morocco -not a good start.

When we found him, the receptionist was efficient and polite. We struggled through a number of doorways and up three flights of narrow stairs to the smallest room of our journey. It overlooked the street below, a mosque at the end of the street and the blank old city wall straight ahead. Imagine the noise, starting with the call to pray about 0415. And, as another reviewer mentioned, the plumbing contributed to the cacophony !

Our room was small with a firm double bed.
There were no amenities in the cramped bathroom and the towel rail was a piece of string.

Breakfast was adequate but basic; and having checked out the dinner menu for price and variety we ate at a restaurant down the street.

As this hotel was part of a pre-booked 'all-inclusive' tour by Alizes Travel I can't comment on value but would suspect it's over-priced for what we got.

Room Tip: Reading other reviews it sounds as though there is a varying range of rooms so be specific as to wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldWideKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Dirty rooms, really noisy plumbing, and rude people at the front desk. Not worth the price!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We had problems initially in contacting the riad to confirm our Groupon as they didn't seem to look at their email. I phoned and spoke to someone and after that they did acknowledge our booking.
The riad was easy to find when we got to Essaouira. We were immediately impressed by the beautiful courtyard with big pots of flowering plants and rose petal filled fountains. The staff got us a mint tea while we filled in the form, then took us to our room. The room was traditional in style, bright and clean. They gave us a room with a double bed and a single (this option hadn't been available via Groupon, but they were happy to make the change with no extra payment).
The breakfast was good and varied, and was served in the lovely courtyard. The dinner (which was included in the Groupon) was average. The riad was right in the middle of the medina, but with the thick walls and so on was not noisy. As it happened, we were unwell while we were there, and really appreciated the coolness and quiet of the room.
Part of the Groupon deal was a hammam and massage, and we upgraded the hamman to include a scrub. This worked well, though the location was a bit cramped and not like the lovely traditional one we had in Turkey a few years ago. This is a relatively new part of the building, though still in traditional style.
The staff were charming. The only negative note here was when we had a 'chariot' to help us to the bus station; the member of staff accompanying us wasn't happy with the tip we gave him even though the desk had said it was free and a tip was all that was required.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We transferred to this riad after a bad experience at another hotel the previous night. What a relief. Lovely room with friendly staff. Excellent location!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
175 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

This is the place to stay in Essaouria. Great old houses converted to hotel. Very exotic rooms and hotel furnishings and design.

Room Tip: No elevator, so being lower might be good, but there is a great patio on the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harvey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

I just went here for lunch with a friend of mine. They offer this fantastic lunch menu 3 course for 80 MAD which is dirt cheap and food was very yummy. I think the best part of this place is its traditional architecture and friendly staffs. They let me walk around the building while I was waiting for the food. Stunning building!!!
It has a beautiful patio with fountains filled with roses and traditional decos. It was pity that we went here on a day trip but if you stay here overnight, I would definitely recommend this.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jungleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#24 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#15 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#33 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#30 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#34 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Madina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Madina

Property: Riad Al Madina
Address: 9 Rue Attarine, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Al Madina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
this elegant owned is located in the heat of essaouira.200 metres from the beach ans near all the attractions and souks.it has a central courtyard with fireplace and stream room on site or you will be offered massage and sauna.Also restaurant Riad El Madina served both traditional moroccan cuisine and intarnational dishes.free wifi,bar,patio and panoramic terrasse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Al Madina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Madina Essaouira
Riad Al Madina Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing