We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Riad.”
Review of Riad Al Madina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Al Madina
Ranked #30 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This Riad was much better than expected, given the previous bad reviews that nearly put us off. It is in a great position right in the middle of the medina, but not too noisy, apart from the early morning call from the muezzin at 5.30am! The rooms were charmingly decorated and fairly comfortable, although the bathrooms were a bit basic. We only had dinner on one night and the food was very good. Breakfast buffet was accompanied by freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee and pancakes delivered to the table. The staff were helpful and pleasant.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Naomi010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

charming little hotel in the heart of the medina. close to everything; shopping, food, sea, sights. the staff were very polite, serviceminded. delious maroccon food. the arcitchture was somethings special with a green oase in the middle. worth the money for sure!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Riad al madina was the second riad we stayed in during our trip to morocco. We had high expectations after a perfect stay in a riad in Marrakech and were so disappointed to arrive at the riad al madina, and be welcomed...well I say welcomed I mean handed a card to fill out by the unfriendly receptionist and give a key to our room. The man who brought our luggage to the hotel also rudely demanded a higher tip from the other family who arrived with us! Great start! No smiles, no hellos how are you's, just fill out the form and go up to your room. Aesthetically the riad was okay, but the atmosphere there was just so depressing we never hung around for too long! The staff there were just so unfriendly, unlike all the other people we met in Morocco. The room was spacious and nicely decorated but was situated on the busy market street and we were woken up constantly by horses which were so loud that it sounded like they were in our room, people walking and talking outside all sounded like they were in our room. The bathroom was not very nice at all and the whole floor would get soaked at every shower. For some bizarre reason they had doors at the top of the stairs and the bottom so at night we were trapped on the top floor! On several occasions we wanted to go out for the night and couldn't and we couldn't reach staff as our room telephone didn't work. We would ask the man who looked after the riad at night why they kept shutting these doors and he said for security, but I fail to see the security we had being trapped on the top floor of a riad. He was so unhelpful and didn't even care that we wanted to go out or come back in.
Essaouira is a lovely lovely place and I would defiantly go back but the riad al madina is the most depressing place I have ever stayed, but I mainly out this down to the staff.

Room Tip: If you want a good room choose a good riad, not this riad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nataliajames1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

From the beginning, this riad was a bit disappointing. Upon check in, we weren't given any information about our stay, the city, etc. The woman at the check in desk was unfriendly to the point of being almost rude. We were checked into our room, which was tucked away in a part of the riad away from the main courtyard and up 4 flights of stairs. The room looks out onto a busy street of the medina and it's really quite loud at all times of night and day. There is no fan or windows apart from those that open up onto the street so unless you want to be hot, you will have to deal with the noise. There was no wifi in the rooms, no complimentary filtered water, no bath products and when housekeeping took the towels at around 10 am, they were not switched out - they only returned the towels in the late afternoon so if you wanted to dry your hands or shower at any time midday, you were out of luck. Also, apparently breakfast was included in the price of our room but we were not told that so we didn't take breakfast and yet were still charged for it in the end. The staff, again, was quite rude about it when I objected to it being included in the bill. Poor value for money, rude staff, all around disappointing. Can't recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlamNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The location is really good, just off the main square in Essouira and a short walk to the port, the beach, the souks, the ramparts, the restaurants -- everything. It is an older property and definitely has some charm. The main building is traditional riad style with rooms surrounding an open courtyard. The rooms themselves are pretty basic and seemed a bit run down, but then this is not an expensive hotel by Essaouira standards so you get what you pay for. Breakfast is good and very pleasant too, being served in the open courtyard every morning. If you want luxury you won't like this hotel but if you just want a convenient place to stay Riad al Madina is very acceptable. I would stay again.

When I researched Essaouira online two main problems were mentioned, the proliferation of motor bikes in the medina (old town) and the deterioration of the ramparts. Supposedly motorized vehicles are not allowed in the medina but there are motor bikes roaring and beeping everywhere because the police can't be bothered to enforce the rules any more. Sooner or later (probably sooner) the streets here will be like Marrakech where so many bikes are jammed into the narrow alleys that walking around the old town is quite dangerous. As for the ramparts they seem in good condition on the town side which is the part most tourists see. I took a walk on the outside beside the sea (quite difficult to get to, you need to climb over a low wall near the rocks in the main square). On the sea side there is terrible damage to the walls and obviously nobody is fixing it. Also the rocky area outside the walls is littered with disgusting rubbish. Essaouira is lovely town, potentially world class as a beach resort. It's a shame to see the city authorities let this World Heritage location deteriorate. By the way if you get a day without strong wind then that's the time to take a walk along the beach. On really windy days it's impossible because of wind blown sand.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerrot v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This riad is a feast for the eye, but once you enter the room, it's a different story. Our rooms were small and dark, and the bathrooms needed renovation badly. My friend and I each booked a 30-min hammam with exfoliation session. We were asked to go together. We presumed we'd be treated separately by two ladies. When we arrived at the spa, the lady at the reception desk asked us to pay first. Then she left us in a small hammam room where we splashed ourselves with hot water, applied black soap all over our bodies and waited. Later she appeared again in swimming suit. It turned out that she was the only one to scrub us. The so called exfoliation was a joke. It lasted for 3 mins max in total for the two of us. I can do much better than that with a loofah. And there was a hygiene problem. We had to lie on a massage platform to be scrubbed. After my friend was done, the woman poured a bucket of water over the massage platform to "clean" it. Then she rushed me to climb up the slippery platform and lie face down, where traces of black soaps were still visible. My forehead rested on the towel soaked with my friend's sweat, and the woman scrubbed me with the same mitts she just scrubbed my friend with. It's so disgusting. After a minute the woman poured a bucket of water over my body and announced it's done. I wanted to clean myself with more water but the lady threw me a wet towel and signalled me to go. We were supposed to get 30 mins each. We arrived at the spa at 6 pm, and we were all done at 6:30pm, including changing. The whole experience was so unpleasant. We did not feel refreshed or cleaned. It's a total rip-off. As we could not find any management staff around, we complained to the hotel manager the next morning before we checked out, he just couldn't care less. He said he could do nothing about it. The worst thing was that both my friend and I found itchy, angry red bites all over our faces, necks and shoulders . As we did not share a room, and the other 6 people in our group did not get the bites, we're certain it's a souvenir from the spa. So think twice before booking the spa service at Riad Al Medina in Essaouira.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatmuimui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This was my third stay at Al Madina over a period of 12 years. First time was excellent, second good, this one not so good! There is a difference between 'rustic' and rundown. Rooms were clean enough but looking very tatty. Seating area on the roof terrace left lot to be desired. Staff were nowhere near as friendly as before and service was very slow and almost non existent sometimes! Shame as it's in a great location and still has heaps of potential to be as good as it used to be.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 75 in Essaouira
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#26 of 75 in Essaouira
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#34 of 75 in Essaouira
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#35 of 75 in Essaouira
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#42 of 75 in Essaouira
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 75 in Essaouira
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Madina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Madina

Address: 9 Rue Attarine, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range: £35 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Al Madina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
this elegant owned is located in the heat of essaouira.200 metres from the beach ans near all the attractions and souks.it has a central courtyard with fireplace and stream room on site or you will be offered massage and sauna.Also restaurant Riad El Madina served both traditional moroccan cuisine and intarnational dishes.free wifi,bar,patio and panoramic terrasse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Al Madina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Madina Essaouira
Riad Al Madina Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing