We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“4 blissful days and nights!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Al Madina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Al Madina
Ranked #28 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“4 blissful days and nights!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Riad Al Madina for 4 nights as part of a twin centre holiday with Thomson holidays in October 2013. I have to admit that I had also read the negative comments throughout 2013 and had tried to change the accommodation, but Thomson assured me that they would not offer this Riad if it did not meet their standards.
We were delighted with our stay. The owner gave us a very warm reception and we checked in. Our suite was on the 2nd floor and had a lounge area with a tele. It was clean and had everything we needed. The courtyard was gorgeous.
Although it had a street view from the bedroom window we never felt disturbed by the noise. The breakfast was very nice and we enjoyed one 'special' evening in the restaurant with a seven course meal and entertainment. It was great fun!
Essaouira was just fab. It has a lovely clean beach, restaurants and bustling souk. We had a great time and after the heat and madness of Marrakech it was welcome relief before we travelled home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lurchergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    153
    48
    20
    12
See reviews for
77
157
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We really enjoyed our 3 nights at the Al Madina hotel in Essaouira. The location in the medina was great for shopping and eating out. We went in December so there was no need to be closer to the beach since we weren't spending much time there although it's only a 10 minute walk away. Breakfast was a good selection and rooms were clean and the decor was very nice. The only negative thing I can say is it seemed there were locals taking over the tv room on the first floor. Every evening for our 3 nights stay when we tried to use the room these older gentlemen were drinking and smoking in there which kept us away. We would check back every hour or so but they were there late into the night and there wasn't alot of other indoor space (since it was cold) for a group of 5 to hang out. If they were guests that would be fine but they did not seem to be since we never saw them at any other point going into a room or at breakfast. I received the hour long hot oil massage and they are much different from what I was expecting. The object seems to be to slather as much oil on you as possible and just lightly rub it around. The massage at riad al madina was my 2nd one in Morocco and they were both the same so my assumption is that's just how it's done here. I was looking for more pressure to get out knots from hiking so just be aware that is not what you will get. We were on the 5th floor which was a hike upstairs but we like the exercise and the privacy and of course there were great staff to help with our bags. Overall I would recommend this hotel for it's great staff, location and clean rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We have stayed several times at Riad Al Madina, in the heart of Essaouira. Next to the fact that we adore Essaouira, we feel at home in this Riad. Convenient location since both the main square, the castle and the beach are close. We appreciate especially the spacious patio, where we enjoyed breakfast every morning, especially the crepes. Excellent restaurant inside as well, good value for money. We stayed at the 2nd floor in a family room. Room clean and tidy.
Tip: the roof terrace is the ideal place to read, or to just enjoy the sun. The service was great, very friendly staff. We look forward to our next stay.

Family with 2 children of 7 & 11.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This Riad was much better than expected, given the previous bad reviews that nearly put us off. It is in a great position right in the middle of the medina, but not too noisy, apart from the early morning call from the muezzin at 5.30am! The rooms were charmingly decorated and fairly comfortable, although the bathrooms were a bit basic. We only had dinner on one night and the food was very good. Breakfast buffet was accompanied by freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee and pancakes delivered to the table. The staff were helpful and pleasant.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Naomi010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

charming little hotel in the heart of the medina. close to everything; shopping, food, sea, sights. the staff were very polite, serviceminded. delious maroccon food. the arcitchture was somethings special with a green oase in the middle. worth the money for sure!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Riad al madina was the second riad we stayed in during our trip to morocco. We had high expectations after a perfect stay in a riad in Marrakech and were so disappointed to arrive at the riad al madina, and be welcomed...well I say welcomed I mean handed a card to fill out by the unfriendly receptionist and give a key to our room. The man who brought our luggage to the hotel also rudely demanded a higher tip from the other family who arrived with us! Great start! No smiles, no hellos how are you's, just fill out the form and go up to your room. Aesthetically the riad was okay, but the atmosphere there was just so depressing we never hung around for too long! The staff there were just so unfriendly, unlike all the other people we met in Morocco. The room was spacious and nicely decorated but was situated on the busy market street and we were woken up constantly by horses which were so loud that it sounded like they were in our room, people walking and talking outside all sounded like they were in our room. The bathroom was not very nice at all and the whole floor would get soaked at every shower. For some bizarre reason they had doors at the top of the stairs and the bottom so at night we were trapped on the top floor! On several occasions we wanted to go out for the night and couldn't and we couldn't reach staff as our room telephone didn't work. We would ask the man who looked after the riad at night why they kept shutting these doors and he said for security, but I fail to see the security we had being trapped on the top floor of a riad. He was so unhelpful and didn't even care that we wanted to go out or come back in.
Essaouira is a lovely lovely place and I would defiantly go back but the riad al madina is the most depressing place I have ever stayed, but I mainly out this down to the staff.

Room Tip: If you want a good room choose a good riad, not this riad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nataliajames1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

From the beginning, this riad was a bit disappointing. Upon check in, we weren't given any information about our stay, the city, etc. The woman at the check in desk was unfriendly to the point of being almost rude. We were checked into our room, which was tucked away in a part of the riad away from the main courtyard and up 4 flights of stairs. The room looks out onto a busy street of the medina and it's really quite loud at all times of night and day. There is no fan or windows apart from those that open up onto the street so unless you want to be hot, you will have to deal with the noise. There was no wifi in the rooms, no complimentary filtered water, no bath products and when housekeeping took the towels at around 10 am, they were not switched out - they only returned the towels in the late afternoon so if you wanted to dry your hands or shower at any time midday, you were out of luck. Also, apparently breakfast was included in the price of our room but we were not told that so we didn't take breakfast and yet were still charged for it in the end. The staff, again, was quite rude about it when I objected to it being included in the bill. Poor value for money, rude staff, all around disappointing. Can't recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlamNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#25 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#34 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#35 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Madina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Madina

Property: Riad Al Madina
Address: 9 Rue Attarine, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Al Madina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
this elegant owned is located in the heat of essaouira.200 metres from the beach ans near all the attractions and souks.it has a central courtyard with fireplace and stream room on site or you will be offered massage and sauna.Also restaurant Riad El Madina served both traditional moroccan cuisine and intarnational dishes.free wifi,bar,patio and panoramic terrasse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Al Madina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Madina Essaouira
Riad Al Madina Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing