We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Riad Al Madina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Al Madina
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We stayed here during our 3 night visit and it was fine. The room was clean if a little on the small side, and I think that it could use with a little updating. With all the wonderful Moroccan fabrics/textures/colours available, I cannot understand why they have not used them! The room felt like it had last been decorated in the 80's.I agree with the other reviewers that it seemed a bit overpriced for what it offered.

Pros: Fantastic central medina location! Nice courtyard.

Cons: Running out of hot water in the morning 2 days out of 3. Mediocre quality bed linens.

Breakfast consists of tea/coffee, french bread, fresh preserves (fig, apricot, strawberry), fresh fruit salad, eggs (ask for a boiled one to avoid the pale scrambled ones on offer), cold cereals, croissants, yogurt, fresh OJ, Moroccan pancakes and raisins.

The staff were friendly. I think for a short stay this riad is fine.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of consistent hot water
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CA_expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    158
    49
    21
    12
See reviews for
80
162
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2008

Great Riad - beautiful courtyard - nice rooms. We stayed for a couple of nights in Essaouira. The town is nice and compact and much more laid back than marrakesh - the shopkeepers are not in your face. The Riad did good food - had breakfast lunch and evening meal there - all good with friendly staff. well situated in the Medina and mear the beach and fish port.

  • Liked — beautifuk riad
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anet-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2007

We stayed here one night and were very happy with the location and size of room. The breakfast was also good. The only downside was that the Hammam, one of the reasons I booked in the first place, was under construction (aka not availble). They did not discount us. Make sure to ask before you go! They are too pricey to not be 100%.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeymoonersonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2007

We stayed here by accident, on a tour of Morocco, after the hotel we were booked at "lost" our group reservations. We came out the winners in this one. Yes, the rooms are really small, but I am not sure why this would matter to a tourist, because presumably, you aren't spending much time in your room. Nonetheless, the building had a distinctly Moroccan feel to it. We had a two-level room with a lovely sitting area on the entrance level, and the bed and bathroom at the top of some stairs. Beautiful tiling and woven fabrics add to the ambiance. The courtyard is a great place to relax and enjoy a coffee when you want a break from the crowds of the market. The breakfast is also quite good, and was one of the few places in Morocco that had some protein (or other-than-carbs) options! I would recommend this place to anyone who doesn't intend to spend half of their day in the hotel room, watching tv.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
7 Thank ug97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2007

stayed here in 2006 thaught it was a nice change to the more traditional hotels i have stayed in over the years and gives you an authentic morrocan feel staff were very freindly and was able to book camel riding and quad biking at reception would highly reccomend as an alternative to a modern hotel as the courtyard is beautifull and a nice way to start the day eating breakfast with the moning sun glistening down on you and the restaurant serves nice food also but a little on the expensive side compared to other local restaurants

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank aridgeback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigton, cumbria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2007

At first I was a little disturbed about the decor in the bedrooms but it did give a real Moroccan feel to everything and it soon grows on you. The service was very good and helpful, the rooms were kept pristine and the resteraunt was excellent - we ate there most nights and never got sick of the varied menu - even the wine was of high quality.
No telly but who comes to Morocco for a telly?
Ideally situated for the old town and very well placed for the beach, shopping, sightseeing, ect.
Roof terrace was perfect for late afternoon rests / sunbathing.
Courtyard breakfasts were to die for.
I would come back again and would certainly use the same riad.

  • Liked — atmosphere and staff
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank denniskath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerp
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2007

The rooms (rooms 18 and 21) are very small and have no modern comfort. In the hotel-book we see: "vivre du 18ème siècle - live in the 18th century" This riad need to be restaurated very quickly, including the furniture on the roof. A study "How to be friendly to guests" is also very recommended. The breakfast is OK., but you see us never again in this bad riad.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — restaurated the rooms!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arablover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#24 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#33 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#36 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Madina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Madina

Property: Riad Al Madina
Address: 9 Rue Attarine, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Al Madina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
this elegant owned is located in the heat of essaouira.200 metres from the beach ans near all the attractions and souks.it has a central courtyard with fireplace and stream room on site or you will be offered massage and sauna.Also restaurant Riad El Madina served both traditional moroccan cuisine and intarnational dishes.free wifi,bar,patio and panoramic terrasse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Al Madina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Madina Essaouira
Riad Al Madina Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing