We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”
Review of Riad Al Madina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Al Madina
Ranked #30 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2006

We went to Essaouira over our honeymoon and stayed at the Riad al Madina. There are two areas of the town, a tourist area, and a local area. The Riad is located on the border of both, right in the heart of everything and within walking distance of the ocean.
The rooms were clean and housekeeping was thourough. It is quite in expensive, as most things are in Morocco. It is a tourist/traveler hotel, so you will not find any locals staying there. The food at the restaurant is alright, but it is one of the few places around where you can get a drink (alcoholic that this).
There is one big problem. We stayed on the fifth floor and there are no elevators in the place. The porter helped us with our luggage both times so that was nice, but going up and down and up and down got a little old. It's also a maze in the building, but that gives it quite a bit of character.
Jimmy Hendrix stayed there in the 60's during the American soul searching hayday of the country.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank vega1star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 418 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Poole, England
340
Reviewed 31 March 2006

Riad al Madina is right in the heart of Essaouira. Easy walking distance from anything you might want to see, the riad is built in a traditional style with an open-air courtyard in the center. All rooms have windows into the courtyard and out onto the streets.

Superb attention to detail in the rooms and the larger hotel. Each room is different and seems to have been designed from the space already there. Some rooms have two stories, others have charming seating areas.

Highly recommended to all travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ouassinih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank henridomingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Je pense que nous avons eu la plus mauvaise chambre de l'hotel la 28
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinep87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-rené D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Seul bémole, et encore ce n'est peut-être au fond pas si mal, la wi-fi n'est disponible que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilles74160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#37 of 75 in Essaouira
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 75 in Essaouira
502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#43 of 75 in Essaouira
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#25 of 75 in Essaouira
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#34 of 75 in Essaouira
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 75 in Essaouira
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Madina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Madina

Address: 9 Rue Attarine, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range: £33 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Al Madina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
this elegant owned is located in the heat of essaouira.200 metres from the beach ans near all the attractions and souks.it has a central courtyard with fireplace and stream room on site or you will be offered massage and sauna.Also restaurant Riad El Madina served both traditional moroccan cuisine and intarnational dishes.free wifi,bar,patio and panoramic terrasse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Al Madina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Madina Essaouira
Riad Al Madina Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing