We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to stay close to the Beach and the Medina”
Review of Hotel des Iles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel des Iles
Ranked #53 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very friendly, nice Chambers, Lovely people, good (kite)Surf-spots and nice souks, Beach and Medina close to the Hotel, cool traditional music, relaxed Life-style, little Port, nice food, people are not into the Face, calm mentality with a lot hospitality

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vera_Regina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

Spent week after Christmas here - hotel is closest (5min) outside old town to walls and fishing harbour with its dozen or so fishermen's restaurants with their daily catches on display for your selection and cooking - exceptional - drool with the memory.

Hotel itself is sort of 30s Moorish, clean, tiled floors, large pool garden area surrounded by chalets (holiday huts). Food was ok and bar had some live and local music.Room was large with balcony overlooking beach which is across the corniche - enjoyed the week. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ttomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Our huge tour group had lunch at the top most floor of this hotel . It was an al fresco seating set up, and it was nice enough . After the salad consisting of green leafy vegetables , our table was served a seafood basket with different varieties of fish , and some shrimps . After which we had salad of fresh fruits . Service was rather slow, but somehow I would understand since they are dealing with great volume of people . There is a also a bit of a language barrier, but it is quite understandable .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctorfoxtrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My spouse and i stayed at the Hotel des Iles as part of a tour group. Our room overlooked the water and was quite comfortable. One night we had dinner at the hotel that was just awful, but that might have been the responsibility of the tour group management. Breakfast was adequate and all the usual items were available. Adequate, not special. The is a bar at the pool level that might be a problem at night. I did not see it myself, but I heard there was a fight in the lobby that originated in the bar. Other people were kept awake by loud music. You can walk everywhere from the hotel. A good clean place for tourists.

Room Tip: Rooms on the water side are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esccec2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

April 2013 we stayed in Essaouira for two nights. The first night we stayed at Atlas hotel which looks really swanky and nice. It cost over $125 a night. It was a huge disappointment. We stayed at des Iles the next night and it was perfect for only $65 per night! It was clean, conveniently located to the medina and the bed was comfortable. We will stay here both nights next time we travel to Essauira. My husband and I kept saying - why did we spend double the money for the hotel the first night when the des Iles hotel was so nice and cheap.

Thumbs up for us and I am quite critical and picky!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Najib A, Responsable réception at Hotel des Iles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions vivement pour votre commentaire favorable pour notre établissements . Nous espérons vous cceuillir très prochainement ou tout notre attention et soin vous sera réserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This hotel is in the middle of renovations and everything is torn apart. The grounds have not been maintained in a long time, the locks on the windows at ground level don't work, the whole hotel smells from paint, and the sound of hammering can be heard from every room. We went there first and then quickly left for a lovely riad around the corner. I don't know what it will be like after the work is completed, but at the moment I can't imagine anyone finding it comfortable or pleasant.

Room Tip: None at the moment would be acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeTravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I have been staying here, half board, since 28th August and leave on Saturday. On arrival I too had a problem with my booking, but our fibre optic superhighway is not infallible. Following a brief apology I was cheerfully shown to a room, better than the one I had booked, and heard no more. I cannot speak for the bungalows but my room was clean, spacious with a well appointed bathroom and the maid service is daily The lobby and lounges retain an opulence of a bygone era, as do the cocktail bar and restaurant on the first floor.
The buffet breakfast is ample, as is the evening meal, and, save the occasional lack of attention to detail, the staff are friendly and attentive.
The hotel grounds have seen better days, but are regularly tended. The pool is clean, well maintained and there are plenty of sunbeds, parasols, tables and chairs There is a bar/snack and the lifeguard is there until sundown, also playing an eclectic mix of background music, save for the regular interruptions of the amplified muezzin from a nearby minaret!
50 yards from the beach, or 15 minutes for the surf beach, the hotel is ideally placed for both the port where can be found 20 odd seafood outlets (chez sam is excellent value), and the medina with its countless restaurants and cafes.Most hotels and riads welcome non residents and you can enjoy a drink, meal or both from the rooftop terraces. Taros, near to the port on the big square has panoramic views over the town and the bay.
Back to the hotel. Yes there are 2 clubs nearby but nothing like as loud as claimed by this lady. The hotel is undergoing expansion and there is a recently opened club by the front forecourt but again it is not intrusive.
Prostitutes coming and going in a hotel? Whatever next! The separation of the oldest profession from the international leisure industry is as likely as the Second coming of Christ! This lady has clearly made the effort to get out more by visiting Essaouira, but I fear with an outlook like hers she will not venture further afield having precuded any visit to most major holiday destinations and several thousand others! Perhaps she should visit Monasticholidays.com where she may find the sympathy, comfort and tranquillity she clearly craves and, ultimately, everlasting peace!
In short, for good value and superb location alone, you could do a lot worse.
Glenn, Cheltenham.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms do not overlook the main road 30 yards from hotel entrance and are in shade after mi...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
4  Thank GLENN279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.8 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
283 reviews
4.7 mi away
Riad Dar Etto
Riad Dar Etto
#2 of 2 in Ghazoua
34 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#28 of 75 in Essaouira
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
5.3 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#13 of 75 in Essaouira
443 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Iles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Iles

Address: Blvd Mohammed V | Boulevard Mohammed V, ESSAOUIRA 44000, Maroc, Essaouira 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#16 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £32 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Iles 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel des Iles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Iles Hotel
Des Iles Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing