We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only used their pool for £5 per day!”
Review of Hotel des Iles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel des Iles
Ranked #53 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
cathathowells@yahoo.com
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Only used their pool for £5 per day!”
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We used the pool and gardens at Des Isles during our stay in Essaouria at a cost of £5 each for the day which was extremely good value and all non-guests are able to do this. The hotel was very lovely with pleasant flower beds and garden area around the large pool. It was extremely breezy when we were there in July and there was little shelter from it around the pool.

The bar area was pleasant with a nice leather sofa seating area outside. There were also a couple of computers in the reception area. The price of the drinks was in line with the other bars in the town.

Please do not be misguided by the map. The hotel is two minutes walk from the medina and fishing boats as well as being on the seafront across the road from the beach.

Ironically, the main reason I did not choose to stay in this hotel was because I did not like the sound of seagulls sharing the pool, but ended up being very grateful to swim in it in the end!!

Any questions about the town, give me a shout, Cathy

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cathhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    51
    36
    24
    26
See reviews for
31
60
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

We turned up at this hotel late in the day when our Riad in the medina had fallen through, we were drenched through to the bone and the baby was crying and hungry - basically, it was our last hope. We asked how much it was, and, even though we knew the price quoted was ridiculous (£70!), we had no other options and so coughed up and checked in.

The room was hilarious - designed by someone's granny back in the 60s and not touched since. Electric blue frills and polyester sausage pillows - it was rather revolting. But it was clean, warm and dry, and the hot shower worked perfectly well, which was all we cared about.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, and to our amazement they had wifi (though only in the lobby area). Breakfast was basic, but again with friendly service.

The hotel gave us what we needed at a difficult time, has a perfect location on the sea front and next to the medina. And there was nothing deeply wrong (apart from the offensive decor, that still haunts me in my dreams) For half the price I wouldn't complain. But the price when you walk in off the street - as with most hotels - was outrageous. I won't be going back in a hurry.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fianna_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Essaouira hotels

London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2009

This is a really bad hotel. The main reception staff were extremely rude and overcharged us for our stay and just shrugged their shoulders when challenged. They couldn't care less. The rooms are reasonably large and clean but basic and poorly maintained. It wasn't possible to lock the external balcony windows in ours. For even half the price per night this would be a rip off especialy given the number of good hotels available. The only good thing about it is that I never have to go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2008

Greeted by unfriendly reception and went downhill from there. Porter struggled to get into room as door handle was hanging off. I am usually pretty easy to please but this place was a major disappoinment. Only stayed here as Riad wasn't available until following night. Very unremarkable stay. Only positive was friendly waiter in restaurant. Stayed at Riad (Dar Loulema) following night was like comparing chalk & cheese.

  • Liked — one friendly staff member
  • Disliked — aged appearance and lack of security
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandringham27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

Please do not book this hotel. Please walk into the Medina, turn left and book the Riad L'Oussia or any of the other interesting Riads in the city.

As my friend stated, the keys open ALL the rooms. And the people working the lobby, who are truly adorable and helpful, will nonetheless deny this even as you are showing them that you are opening a room that is not yours with your key. "impossible" they say.

If after knowing that, you still want to go to l'hotel des Iles, then maybe you should...

Oh, and the renovated rooms (I was in one) means they took off some of the mold on the walls. But not all of it.

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — Arriving
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sur_la_route
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2008

The experience was a complete ripoff and fraud. We booked through Expedia on March 20 and they confirmed the booking on the 21. The booking was for the 25-30 June which included the weekend of the Essaouira festival. (The reason we were going there).Fxpedia reconfirmed before travel.When we arrived the hotel told us we could only stay for 2 nights as the Hotel was full for the Festival weekend. They showed us a piece of paper which purported to be a fax from a travel agency called Sahara Tours in Agadir, which they said was Expedia Morocco, dated the 8th of May on which was hand written that they had replied on 9 May saying that the booking could only be for 2 nights. They said this fax was the only communication they had about the booking. They then passed us on to somebody called Abdul on a mobile phone, who they said was the Expedia agent in Agadir ,to "explain" the "problem". Essaouira was completely full for the Festival with not a room to be had but this person rang back within 10 minutes to say that he had got us a suite in a Riad.
We phoned Expedia who said they they do not use agents and they had faxed confirmation from the Hotel on 21march which the hotel denied. We stayed the 2 nights because we had nowhere to go and had had an exhausting journey, flight and drive to get there. The Hotel insisted we leave on the Friday although they kept saying that they would find another hotel which did not materialise. After a certain point they would not put any more phone calls theough to Expedia USA because we were saying we would not be paying for them. Expedia have no way of dealing with problems online. We were refusing to discuss the situation with a morroccan mobile phone of which Expedia saiid they had no knowledge. The attitude of the staff was quite intimidating. We left on the Friday after the 2 nights, missed the Festival had a ruined holiday driving to and from Marrakech. As of time of writing ( 12th July) we have not had a refund either from the Hotel or Expedia of the money debited in March to pay the full cost.
The hotel only takes halfboard bookings but we were too uncomfortable to eat in the restaurant.
Reading other Tripadvisor reviews on our return we see another party had a similar problem with them refusing to honour a Hotel.com booking
DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL IN ADVANCE

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themaevequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2008

Was part of a film crew that stayed there for 11 nights. Quickly discovered that our room keys could open all the doors to all the rooms.. so no worries if you forget it inside, just ask your neighbour for his or her key. Same goes for the bungalows, where the patio doors seem to not close shut. Some of our crew members woke up to wide open doors while they had shut them the night before to make sure cats would not walk in. And Essaouira is not known for having Hulk-like cats.

The seagulls in the pool is an interesting feature. Them cwacking all night can be a problem if you need to wake up early the next morning. If screeching birds do not wake you up, perhaps you can also not be bothered by the live band in the hotel bar, next to the pool, a few meters away from the rooms and bungalows. If you have a seafront room, you will not be bothered by this, but no worries - there is a discotheque right next to the hotel entrance. And sound isolation is not an Essaouira speciality.

The staff is helpful and nice, and on a positive note, the internet is free in the lobby. But if you want to be charmed and have a romantic experience, this is not the place. There are beautiful Riad within the medina, at the same price, where most of our crew moved to after a couple of nights ...

Oh, and they are renovating the place. Make sure to wake up before 8AM, before the noise does.

Enjoy.

  • Liked — the view from the room
  • Disliked — lack of security
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank loic44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#23 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Al Jasira Hotel
Al Jasira Hotel
#42 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Iles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Iles

Property: Hotel des Iles
Address: Blvd Mohammed V | Boulevard Mohammed V, ESSAOUIRA 44000, Maroc, Essaouira 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Iles 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel des Iles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Iles Hotel
Des Iles Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing