We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely great”
Review of Riad Baoussala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Baoussala
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely great”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We really really enjoyed our stay here. The whole experience was so relaxing we really felt at home.

The food was awesome, the room very comfortable, the common areas great, and the location fantastic. Don't be fooled, this place is in the countryside, but its not that far into town if you have a car. If you have been medina hopping around Morocco this will be a welcome retreat.

We highly recommend you spend a few days to escape to this amazing place to relax, eat, and laugh. Many thanks to the amazing staff. Dominique is a cool lady who is very passionate about her business and her life in Morocco.

p.s. tall people mind the doorways

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    48
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
254
269
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

We had an amazing 4 night stay. Dominique and Leah made us feel truly welcome and we loved the laid back attitude. The food was lovely, simple and authentic. Lighting the fire in the room at night was a lovely routine and truly unique.

We hope to return with our children next time.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank blimeylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

quiet, relaxing, wonderful food and hospitality. I travelled in mid February and the weather was fantastic (no matter what your weather guide says about the temperature you will need sun screen!) don't be put off by suggestions the wind is a problem, Baoussala is sheltered. All the rooms beautifully decorated, the fire in my room at night was a real joy for a city dweller like me as was walking in the surrounding countryside. Thanks to Leah for a fantastic massage (do take advantage of the hammam as well) and the loan of her dog. Thanks to Dominique for her hospitality, lifts into town and the loan of her cats. Thanks to all the staff for their attention and charm, don't hesitate - go, I really hope I get to go back some day.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We had such a lovely stay at Riad Bauossala. Our room was great and the food fantastic. Leah was so helpful in arranging our trip into town and made us feel so at home. The staff was very warm and welcoming. It was so nice to be close to Essaouria but away from the hustle and bustle. The pool area was particularly beautiful.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had three days at Baoussala with our two daughters aged six and eight. Leah and Dominque could not have been more accommodating. We felt more like guests in the home of a good friend than hotel guests. Our room was gorgeous, the food was outstanding (especially the lunches; we ate lovely French salads with goat cheese and lardons of bacon, which was a nice little break from the traditional Moroccan cuisine we ate on this trip). The most lasting impression however is of the level of hospitality we received. The staff were so lovely and helpful, it seemed like nothing was too much trouble. We would go back to Baoussala in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyDaniellef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Fantastic place to relax. Wonderful countryside location yet still near to the charming town of Essouira. Excellent hosting and very friendly staff. Just simply lovely! Our walk from the property was a highlight - on the way to the beach where we came across a tortoise, a goat herd and several donkeys and then along the beach horses and camels.

Room Tip: We were in the Blue Suite which has it's own terrace and plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horsford71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Baoussala was the most perfect retreat. Absolutely wonderful, such a haven. Nothing was too much trouble, the staff were fantastic (special thanks to the ever-smiling, ever-polite Rashid!), delicious food. Dominique's philosophy that Boussala is your home is absolutely right and you do feel perfectly at home there.

Allow at least 2.5 hours for the drive to and from Marrakech airport; we were happy to laze by the pool and soak up the Moroccan sun most days, but if you want to get out and about more often/more freely then I would recommend hiring a car (Boussala are more than happy to arrange this for you) as the location is quite isolated (we loved this!).

Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful - we will be back! Thanks to all at Boussala for a magical holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
8.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.8 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
4.7 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baoussala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baoussala

Property: Riad Baoussala
Address: Douar El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Baoussala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Baoussala is a lovely house situated in the nature, 9 kilometers south of Essaouira, and near by the wild beaches of Sidi Kaouki. This charming hotel is composed of 3 rooms and 3 suites, all differents, comfortables and stylish, they offer a quiet and peacefull atmosphere.From the gardens to the roof terraces, the pool to the Hammam, with your family of just as a couple, the Riad Baoussala is the perfect place to chill out and enjoy a stay near Essaouira.The pool is now heated at 28° all year arround thanks to an ecologique system. We offer a free access to the Hammam and we propose scrubs and massages upon request.Dominique, Leah and their team welcome you in this uncommom place where modernity and tradition are mixed for your pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Baoussala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Baoussala Essaouira
Riad Baoussala Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing