We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing hideaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Baoussala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Baoussala
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
maslerdanch
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Four nights in Riad Baoussala and we wished it had been more. We were expertly welcomed by Dominique and Leah and the rest of their team after a long drive from Marrakech.

The drive down the track is fine and we accomplished it in a rather small hire car, the road is bumpy but drivable so don't let it put you off. We were happy to be out of Essaouira (it's only a 20 minute drive to the car park outside the medina) but able to pop into town for shopping, days out or the occasional meal.

The whole riad is beautifully furnished and laid out. Our romm was wonderful and the bathroom lovely. We ate in on one night and wished it had been more beacause it was excellent but had already booked tables in Essaouira on reccommendations from friends.

The pool and the area surrounding is well sheltered out of the wind and a perfect place to relax, either on the sun beds or in one of the hammocks. Lunch, poolside, is cheap and well made with a good choice of salads or barbecued food along with soft and alcoholic drinks. The excellent staff are always on hand to look after you.

Highly reccommended!

Room Tip: We were in the 'red room' which is spacious and beautifully decorated. It is on the main cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maslerdanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    45
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
247
266
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We just stayed for 4 nights and had the most wonderful time at this magical beautiful riad. All of the staff are so welcoming and friendly. The swimming pool is fantastic and really sheltered from the wind which is a god send in Essaouira. I just wish we could have stayed for longer and would definitely stay here if I come again to this area. The road to get to the riad is a little bumpy but we managed it in a v small economy Daihatsu hire car so it's really not a problem, don't let that put you off as you will be hard pushed to find anything this lovely with a pool in Essaouira.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jammcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

My 7 year old daughter and I flew out to Morocco as part of a large 50 person Wedding party staying in multiple locations on the fringes of Essaouira. We were lucky enough to stay at the Riad Baoussala where the Wedding was hosted. Both my young child and I were looked after extremely well, nothing was too much trouble and the staff were exemplary. The owner, a really lovely lady named Dominique was there the whole time to meet, greet and see to her guests. Well supported by her manager Leah who was also superb! The hotel and catering staff did all they were asked to manage the needs and expectations of all guests (including my 7 year old daughter!)

Each day breakfast was served in a soft and friendly manner by the lovely Rachid who was also a dab hand at deflecting any unwanted insects that tried to gate-crash our honey! The breakfast variety suited my daughter as we were offered daily treats such as home-made doughnuts, croissants and pancakes.

The pool area is delightful and a lovely setting to enjoy a freshly cooked lunch whether it be meat kebabs or tagliatelle with home-made pesto. Lot's of menu options to choose from.

All the adult and child guests were well looked after and the Wedding Day itself was 'utterly magical'. Dominique, Leah, Rachid and all the hotel staff co-ordinated and worked tirelessly to give the happy couple a 'special day to remember', but what they also managed to achieve was giving the guests a 'wedding they would remember' forever!

I can't thank Dominique enough for her kindness and thoughtfullness. I can however, recommend this Riad to travellers visiting Essaouira who want 'something special' when visiting an adventurous place like Morocco. Don't be put off by the unkempt road leading to this hidden gem... it's worth every bump!

Room Tip: My young daughter and I stayed in the Hamman Room. It was bright White with beautiful coloured glas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We arrived after delayed fight with an irate driver. Lovely welcome. Helpful and friendly staff and wonderful accommodation. Pool was cool due to extremely high winds. Ideal location for events such as weddings, but it was depressing to see dying flowers and unchanged water ignored for the whole of our visit.. Our biggest single disappointment, contrary to expectations, was the quality of dinner in the evenings, especially since there was litlte alternative other than a taxi into town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

I can honestly say that Riad Baoussala is a Hidden Gem! First time I came to Riad Baoussala was Sept 2010 and did not know what to expect, because of the road bumpy track (at the time; but the road is now being done), But my boyfriend (now husband) and I fell in love with the place! Leah, Dominique, Rachid and all the Baoussala Staff are just great people! They do things very naturally. So we came back to Baoussala June 2011 to see if we feel de-same as last time, and yes we did! It felt like home. We asked Leah if they can do a wedding ceremony and reception at the Baoussala for the June 2012, It wasn't a surprised for us when they said yes. Because they are just so nice and do enjoy doing a wedding once in a while! So we had a lot of email's back and fort between us and the Baoussala. But we trusted them to do what they need to do on the organising everything for the wedding and OMG, Riad Baoussala just made our Special Day a lot more Special!!! Everything was perfect, we really can't fault anything. The place look so beautiful, food is so yummy, Dj was brilliant, fire in the garden and roof top was blazingly perfect, photographer was very good, Berber musician we're so amazing and very entertaining, Baoussala staff are brilliant on the day of the wedding as well as on all the day's of our stay. Leah and Dominique are so amazing host/people. Everything they do is so natural and never is a problem! As long as we are all having a good time, safe and never hungry or even running out of drink's. Lol!

All our friend's who stayed at Baoussala was amazed how we found it and the beauty of the
Riad Baoussala. Even all our guest from the wedding, which is over all 50 people was just gob smack with the beauty of the place and staff.

I just wanted to say Thank you to Leah, Dominique and all the Baoussala Staff for everything you have done and made everything perfect for us and our friend's. We are all lost for words.
Stefan and I can't wait to go back soon.

I love you guy's!

Shiela xxx

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mailauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We've just got back from our Wedding at Baoussala and every moment was absolutely perfect! Having visited twice before we had already fallen in love with the place and knew it was the place for us to marry! The setting really is magical, all of the rooms are comfortable and quirky each with their own character; the pool provides a blissfully relaxing place to wile away a day or two; and the food is always fresh and delicious.

We were however still overwhelmed by the whole experience. Dominique, Leah and all the staff were just wonderful. Not just on the day but throughout our 4 day stay. Nothing was too much trouble and we had friends and family staying elsewhere visiting for lunches, dinners, campfires, and swimming throughout our stay. They were the pefect hosts and they really did make it the most memorable few days of our life. Everyone of our wedding guests now understands why we choose a place down a dusty track just outside Essaouira. We hope to visit again soon.

Shiela and Stefan

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

Riad Baoussala oozes relaxation and peacefulness. I immediately felt comfortable; Dominique, Leah and all the staff make you feel do at ease straight away. Our room, the Hammam room, was the smallest room but still had a fireplace, seating area and multicoloured skylighted ceiling. Pool area is beautiful and looks very stylish! There are so many lounging areas that you can "get away" too, and the breakfasts are very tasty.

We ate in the riad almost every night; 15 euro for 3 amazing courses, tea and water. There's also wine and beer available, looking up at the star filled sky with a glass of red wine was a real highlight!!

Essaouira is 9km away, and even though the riad is down a 3km track, a taxi will take you to town for around £6-7. However, Dominique kindly dropped us into town a few times, which saves the pennies!

I absolutely loved this place, and I definitely would return if a relaxing short break is needed!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wootie209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.0 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
5.5 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
7.0 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#21 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
4.3 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.2 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#9 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baoussala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baoussala

Property: Riad Baoussala
Address: Douar El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Baoussala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Baoussala is a lovely house situated in the nature, 9 kilometers south of Essaouira, and near by the wild beaches of Sidi Kaouki. This charming hotel is composed of 3 rooms and 3 suites, all differents, comfortables and stylish, they offer a quiet and peacefull atmosphere.From the gardens to the roof terraces, the pool to the Hammam, with your family of just as a couple, the Riad Baoussala is the perfect place to chill out and enjoy a stay near Essaouira.The pool is now heated at 28° all year arround thanks to an ecologique system. We offer a free access to the Hammam and we propose scrubs and massages upon request.Dominique, Leah and their team welcome you in this uncommom place where modernity and tradition are mixed for your pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Baoussala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Baoussala Essaouira
Riad Baoussala Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing