We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven in Morocco!”
Review of Riad Baoussala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Baoussala
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spent two weeks in the middle of the hottest part of the year in Morocco, starting in Marrakech, then up to the Atlas Mountains and finally for the last week with Dominique and Leah in their wonderful oasis hide-away just outside Essaouira. From the moment our family arrived we were made to feel like long lost relatives (I had been on email with Dominique quite a bit prior to our holiday!). The gardens, rooms and pool are all delightful, tranquil and restful. We loved eating our meals in the central courtyard under the attentive eye of the lovely Rashid and his team! My daughters (aged 10 + 11) had their own room just opposite ours, and within the courtyard walls so felt super safe - as if in a bedroom in a friends house. Food was fabulous, it was always so lovely to come in from a day out to the smells of dinner being cooked in the central and cosy kitchen - which anyone could just wander through to sit and play cards, do a bit of cat-worshiping or sit in the cool sunken living room just near by. Thank you (very belatedly) for such a wonderful stay - we will be back! The Joneses xx

Room Tip: Oasis room is nice and quiet - away from the central courtyard.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (672)
There are newer reviews for Riad Baoussala
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

Make sure you print off the directions map if you choose to stay here as there are no signs pointing you towards the rough, bone-shuddering 3km track that leads to Riad Baoussala. Once you reach this isolated haven of tranquility, you will feel instantly relaxed. Arriving after a long drive from Marrakech airport on an unusually cloudy and drizzly day we were shown to the delightful Oasis room, tucked away in a quiet corner of the compound. Having stayed in riads previously, the Oasis room had the benefit for us of being set away from the central courtyard where breakfasts are served.

The following morning we met the owner, Dominique, the epitome of efficient Gallic hospitality, who effortlessly makes you feel part of her extended family. Baoussala is the organic evolution of 12 years’ labour of love, sympathetic to its remote environment but with all the necessary comforts you might need.

What might have initially appeared as minor annoyances, e.g., wi-fi connectivity is poor by the pool and in the room, turn out to be positives, forcing you to unwind and disconnect from the outside world.

Breakfasts are simple Moroccan fare, available wherever you choose to eat, from 8 until late morning. A lunch menu is available, with enough variety. Dinners must be reserved in the mornings, and can be adapted to individual tastes – we ate in three nights out of four. On our last night we dined on a delightful courgette soup, and lamb cooked in aubergine in Dominique’s rustic kitchen, accompanied by Gingko, her Labrador, as well as Bob the cat.

Dominique, Leah, Rashid and the rest of the team looked after us well, there if we needed them but never intrusive.

If you go to Sidi Kaouki, I suggest avoiding the shortcut track if using a rental car – the road is rougher than the track from Ghazoua and single file for most of its length.

Riad Baoussala was far and away the best, most hospitable of three of our stops in Morocco.

Room Tip: Pick the Oasis room for two people (three at a push?), tucked away in a quiet corner of the compound
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garfster_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here mid-way through our Moroccan holiday. We had a little trouble finding the place initially as it's not sign-posted from the main road but that only amounted to 10 minutes delay.

Baoussala is a sprawling, calming and beautiful place to stay. Our days were filled with highlights: delicious and extended breakfasts, conversations with staff and guests, enjoying the pool and sun loungers, trying the spa facilities, watching the sun go down from the roof terrace, candlelit dinners in the courtyard, giggling at Bob’s (one of the two household cats) hunting expeditions.

The staff are uniformly excellent – all extremely friendly and we felt spoiled for the whole of our visit. Food is also fantastic. I’m usually reluctant to eat in the same place twice on holiday but it was so lovely, easy and great value that we ate in on four out of five evenings. The dips and olives with sun-downers were also something we looked forward to each evening.
It is useful to have a car as the cost of taxiing will soon mount up if you want to do plenty of day trips. We tried kite surfing lessons near Essaouira, surfing and stand up paddle boarding – all based on advice from the staff and had a great time.

Thank you Baoussala!

p.s. Please be wary of speed traps on your way from Marrakech... we were caught out by a suspiciously temporary and hilariously close cluster of reduced speed signs.

Room Tip: We were very happy with the blue room. It is spacious and comfortable - plenty of lounging opportuni...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArabianPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Absolutely beautiful house and gardens in which to unwind and recharge your soul. Dominique has created a wonderful environment which allows guests to feel at home and cared for whatever their needs.

We were collected by the taxi arranged for us and met by Leah and Rachid at the house, as it was dark the candles were lit and the house looked magical. We were shown to our room and greeted with mint tea. On arrival we were tired after two days in Marrakech, we said we wanted to do nothing and were actually left to do nothing but enjoy the peace and rest. All the while we fully understood that we could explore and if we needed anything we just needed to ask. We had asked for the evening meal and enjoyed the first of many delicious meals. A rare treat for us was the care to provide gluten free options including making gluten free flat bread from the flour that Dominique had asked us to bring.

After the first Zen day we planned a few activities and Leah arranged everything for us. The whole team have a very calming effect on guests and adapt to their needs. It is clear that Dominique treats her staff well everyone is happy and nothing is too much trouble.

A huge thank you to all of you, we will return

Christine, Alex & Ella

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank RoamingButty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

After 5 days fighting off the touts in Fez Medina followed by 5 days of long car drives from Marrakesh to Erg Chebbi and back, I really just wanted to do nothing and relax for a few days. Riad Baoussala provided me with the peace and tranquility that I desperately needed. I enjoyed 3 perfect days of rest and relaxation in this gorgeous riad. The staff, especially Leah, was wonderful. Food was ridiculously tasty. I had such good sleep during my stay at Riad Baoussala.

I had lost my wallet while at Fez so I was low on cash and did not have a credit card. Leah was so sweet and just told me to pay when I returned to the US. Incredible!!!

Thank you everyone for your kindness. I hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virnamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This place is PERFECT. In all of the chaos and craziness of Morocco when you walk you step on to this property you feel like you have reached paradise. Peaceful, quiet, beautiful gardens, stunning pool area with lounge chairs and a hammock and gorgeos eco rooms, with a real southwest america feel. Every detail about this place has been thought about with care and pride. The owners are very friendly. The only downside was that I did not book to stay here longer, next time for sure. Come here, without hesitation and you will be more than happy you did. Escape the chaos and find this little oasis of calm. Not to mention, a dash of hipness with a outdoor cinema as well. Stargaze, lounge by the pool, get a hamman. Just dont leave.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eeprichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Baoussala feels like a sanctuary for people, animals and plants, and it was our favorite place to stay during our 3-week trip to Morocco. We stayed for 5 nights after an amazing 5-day desert trek from Marrakesh to Merzouga. It is like a home away from home. The photos on their website are understated. When we arrived, it felt like walking into a beautiful calm oasis, and we immediately felt connected with this beautiful Riad and with the staff. You feel connected, but there is so much privacy. The pathways through the desert gardens invite you to a multitude of comfortably furnished outdoor patios, and the huge roof top terrace has many different places to relax. Beautiful negative edge pool. You can eat at any time of day anywhere on the property – around the pool, up on the roof-top terrace, or in the beautiful courtyard of the Riad. The food at Baoussala is delicious, it was also the best food we had in Morocco. In the mornings, we were always offered eggs along with various accoutrements including freshly baked bread that had the consistency of a Parisian rugged baguette. We enjoyed their food so much, that we ate out only once in Essaouira, even although there are restaurants that we had planned to go to. We just didn’t want to leave this place! Dominique has that French culinary and artistic flair. She emanates casual class, and has a great sense of humor! There is beautiful artwork through the property, inside and out. There is an outdoor cinema. How cool is that? I had my first hammam followed by a massage. I felt like a queen afterwards! We did visit the amazing beach, Sidi Kaouki just south of the property. A definite worthwhile and effortless day trip which Dominique arranged a car rental for. And we also enjoyed a day walking around the beautiful old town of Essaouira. There is this incredible wood furniture store called Centre Artisanal D’Essaouira which just blew us away. Our only regret was not being able to stay at Baoussala for longer. We could easily have spent a couple of weeks here. We live in western Canada, so it is a long way for us to travel. Hopefully we can return to this wonderful Riad again sometime. Morocco is definitely an exotic and incredibly beautiful country to visit, and we have so many treasured memories of our 25th wedding anniversary. Thank you so much, Dominique, Leah, Rashid, and staff for giving us such a wonderful holiday experience, and sharing your beautiful paradise with us. You are all amazing. Wishing you all of the best with your continued successes!

Chris and Al Block, Vancouver Island, Canada

Room Tip: We stayed in the Red Room which was very roomy, private and romantic.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisblock88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
641 reviews
8.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
256 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
435 reviews
5.9 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
523 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Jardin des Douars
Le Jardin des Douars
#6 of 74 in Essaouira
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baoussala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baoussala

Address: Douar El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £83 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Baoussala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Baoussala is a lovely house situated in the nature, 9 kilometers south of Essaouira, and near by the wild beaches of Sidi Kaouki. This charming hotel is composed of 3 rooms and 3 suites, all differents, comfortables and stylish, they offer a quiet and peacefull atmosphere.From the gardens to the roof terraces, the pool to the Hammam, with your family of just as a couple, the Riad Baoussala is the perfect place to chill out and enjoy a stay near Essaouira.The pool is now heated at 28° all year arround thanks to an ecologique system. We offer a free access to the Hammam and we propose scrubs and massages upon request.Dominique, Leah and their team welcome you in this uncommom place where modernity and tradition are mixed for your pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Riad Baoussala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Baoussala Essaouira
Riad Baoussala Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing