We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous!”
Review of Riad Baoussala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Baoussala
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Beautiful place with lovely themed rooms. Located about 10 minutes by car from Essaouira, this thoughtfully designed space has a light arty feel, and is perfect for a peaceful and relaxing break away from (but still within easy reach of) the hustle and bustle of urban Morocco.
We are a couple and had a great romantic couple of days, but it would also be good for families and groups of friends too - with plenty of separate areas around the grounds (including a lovely pool) to accommodate all guests.
We stayed in the Sahara Suite which was very spacious with simple yet stylish interior design and decor. All the other rooms looked pretty as well, with their own different style.
All in all, this was great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferluamelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

This small guesthouse is really great! The rooms are stylish and are all different, the people you will meet are friendly and enthousiastic, the food is very good, the gardens are lovely and full of nice small corners to sit and there is a great roof terrace! For kids (and for adults) there is a large swimming pool and there are a lot of pets (cats, dog, turtles) and other animals (donkeys, birds, sheep).
The location is fantastic: you are in the very last house of the small village of Ghazoua, which is close to the sea (and beautiful beaches) and surrounded by extensive bush country. Ghazoua is only a 15 minutes drive away from the scenic coastal town Essaouira.
And, very important: here, you will be treated as a guest and as a human being - not as a tourist!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

what a wonderful place. I stayed with my wife and 3 kids ,16,8,6. We had a lovely relaxing time . the food was delicious and refreshing , lovely salads and very reasonable. The pool area was really nice and great place for lunch. Our room was very nice with two bedrooms and a nice living room , being january , although the days were warm we had an open fire at night which was made us feel at home. The surrounding area is fantastic lots of huge beaches and countryside , camel rides, dune buggies etc. and essouira is a very relaxed town with some great restaurants . Breakfast was lovely on the roof and we enjoyed a few days just relaxing in, with such great staff and company it was a joy especially after the madness of marrekech . I cant recommend this Riad highly enough and without doubt will return for another visit.

Room Tip: ask for advice from Dominique as they are all different and will suit different needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nic p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Lovely place - great staff, nice and comfortable rooms. The food was very good, felt well cared-for and like we were in another world. I would only stay away if you have severe cat allergies, but you will have an issue with this most anywhere in Morocco. I would definitely return (especially since they are paving the road). Would be great to come with a group of girls to just chill out by the pool.

Also, my 7 yr old loved it. Loads of animals and nature to play with, beautiful grounds. They even let my daughter have a cooking lesson one night. She loved it.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Blue Room. Very peaceful and by the pool. Lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracySouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Travelling with a todler, this was the spot. Turtles in the garden, Donkeys that came to say hello for breakfast. The best staff, who came with hot chocolate and pancakes, if the kid wake up early. Super Rooms and surroundings. We chilled by the pool, watch sunsets on the roof or went exploring/shopping in lovely Essauoria City - 15 minutes drive. Dominque, our host took us siteseaing and was super cool, sharing tips and tricks from 12 years in Morroco. Tip!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Staying in places off the beaten track has been my preference since I discovered backpacking years ago, but few have come close to Riad Baousala. I arrived weary and left buoyant. The room was perfect, the food sublime and the hospitality the best I have every come across. Dominque's Travellers Choice Award 2013 was well deserved.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent 6 fantastic nights under the care of the Riad's owner Diminique for an absolutely unforgettable experience. The service, the warmth and the wonderful surroundings made our stay one that we will never forget! Small, cosy and perfectly finished it was the perfect introduction to Morocco. Thanks again to Dominique and all the wonderful staff for delivering such an experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dempster1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
683 reviews
8.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
299 reviews
5.9 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 75 in Essaouira
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
861 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
5.6 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baoussala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baoussala

Address: Douar El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £86 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Baoussala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Baoussala is a lovely house situated in the nature, 9 kilometers south of Essaouira, and near by the wild beaches of Sidi Kaouki. This charming hotel is composed of 3 rooms and 3 suites, all differents, comfortables and stylish, they offer a quiet and peacefull atmosphere.From the gardens to the roof terraces, the pool to the Hammam, with your family of just as a couple, the Riad Baoussala is the perfect place to chill out and enjoy a stay near Essaouira.The pool is now heated at 28° all year arround thanks to an ecologique system. We offer a free access to the Hammam and we propose scrubs and massages upon request.Dominique, Leah and their team welcome you in this uncommom place where modernity and tradition are mixed for your pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Riad Baoussala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Baoussala Essaouira
Riad Baoussala Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing