We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis in the desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Baoussala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Baoussala
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An oasis in the desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

10 out of 10 - this is one of the best places we have ever stayed in. The rooms are spacious and full of fabulous touches, very tasteful and comfortable and with everything you need. The breakfasts and the terraces where you eat are amazing, the pool is beautiful, the salad bowl lunches are ideal, the dinners are copious.. but its the people who work there that make this place shine. The owner, managers and all the staff gave us loads of useful tips, great advice re things to do, were lovely, helpful, attentive and informative and interesting. Leah and Rasheed were amazing. It's a well run, well staffed hotel, noone is too stressed or rushed to speak with you. We will be going back for sure. There's plenty to do in the area and we hired a car to explore and after a long day out we were always pleased to come home to our oasis of calm! And as much as we loved exploring there were one or two days where we just wanted to relax at base because it was just so lovely and easy there.

Room Tip: Our room the red room was perfect, with a real fireplace, spacious, beautiful touches, comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polkadotsophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    46
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
249
268
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

This was our first experience of an Ecolodge and a wonderful suprise it was!

It is beautifully designed within a woodland off a non - tarmac road. We arranged collection from Marrakech airport via Dominique and Leah. This was definitely worth it. We had a great driver and a 4x4 and it took about 2.5 hrs to get from Marrakech to Essaouira. 800 Dirhams each way so worth it.

The ecolodge itself is about a 20 min drive from the main town of Essaouira off the main road. It is a dirt road and not all taxis will drive on this. So best to make transport arrangements eg taxi collections via the riad team.
The lodge has a lot of spaces to relax and enjoy the peace and tranquillity of the surrounding area. No TV or tel in our cottage. Not a bad thing. There is Wifi though. The cottage had a fire place and it was great having a warm fire place in the evening.
Food was superb. Wonderful b/fast. There is a lunch menu and dinner has to be booked in advance. Dinner is a set menu on the day but delicious and very reasonable. We ate out at a few fantastic restaurants in Essaouira town after advice from the team. The town itself is ok. Not as frenetic as Marrakech with a Medina. Shame to see all the plastic litter on the beach spoiling the local environment.

Dominique is a very interesting woman and spent time telling us how she set this rather remarkable riad and all about the local area and traditions. She has cleverly incoroporated local fabric and materials in the design of everything and food is traditional fare.
Leah arranged horse riding on the dunes and beach of Essaouira. What an amazing experience.

A special mention about Rashid. He is just amazing and cannot do enough. What a genuinely nice gentleman and he and the remaining staff always have a warm smile.

Rashid you are a great guy and we appreciate all your efficiency and genuineness. Thank you to all the other staff too including the super chef.

Dominique and Leah thank you for all the arrangements and looking after us so well. Dominique you are inspiring.

Definitely recommend this place for couples and families. For a non-hotel, unique and thoroughly relaxing experience this is the place to be. There is even a hammam and massage if you need it!

Carlos, Jonathan and Zita
UK








 

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank de_souza_carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Riad Baoussala is a family orientated, stylish retreat with fantastic pool and bags of character. It is a very beautiful and charming place to stay, with a mix not just of Moroccan, but Mexican, Greek, and French styles going into the mix. We stayed in the Marabout Cottage which is very pretty and we were able to have a fire every night in our sitting room, with firewood provided every day. The bathroom and shower area is lovely covered in Zelliges, but they could re-hang the door to the loo the other way, to make it a bit easier to get inside! They very thoughtfully provided lots of candles and tea light holders to make the place even more atmospheric.

Breakfasts were delicious, and the dinners were also very good, especially the Moroccan dishes with some good Moroccan wines to choose from. It is a great place to relax and chill out, especially if you need some time to unwind after Marrakesh. We would have liked to stay longer and explore the beaches but we did get to see Essaouira which was very interesting.

One tip - accept Dominique's recommendation to get a driver arranged from their Riad as the Marrakesh taxi driver we used got lost and grumpy, charging us much more than agreed for having to drive the last couple of kilometres on a bumpy road.

Room Tip: We had to flip a coin to decide who got the large double bedroom, and who got the huge round bed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZazuGreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Beautiful place with lovely themed rooms. Located about 10 minutes by car from Essaouira, this thoughtfully designed space has a light arty feel, and is perfect for a peaceful and relaxing break away from (but still within easy reach of) the hustle and bustle of urban Morocco.
We are a couple and had a great romantic couple of days, but it would also be good for families and groups of friends too - with plenty of separate areas around the grounds (including a lovely pool) to accommodate all guests.
We stayed in the Sahara Suite which was very spacious with simple yet stylish interior design and decor. All the other rooms looked pretty as well, with their own different style.
All in all, this was great experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferluamelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This small guesthouse is really great! The rooms are stylish and are all different, the people you will meet are friendly and enthousiastic, the food is very good, the gardens are lovely and full of nice small corners to sit and there is a great roof terrace! For kids (and for adults) there is a large swimming pool and there are a lot of pets (cats, dog, turtles) and other animals (donkeys, birds, sheep).
The location is fantastic: you are in the very last house of the small village of Ghazoua, which is close to the sea (and beautiful beaches) and surrounded by extensive bush country. Ghazoua is only a 15 minutes drive away from the scenic coastal town Essaouira.
And, very important: here, you will be treated as a guest and as a human being - not as a tourist!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Eulalia del Rio, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

what a wonderful place. I stayed with my wife and 3 kids ,16,8,6. We had a lovely relaxing time . the food was delicious and refreshing , lovely salads and very reasonable. The pool area was really nice and great place for lunch. Our room was very nice with two bedrooms and a nice living room , being january , although the days were warm we had an open fire at night which was made us feel at home. The surrounding area is fantastic lots of huge beaches and countryside , camel rides, dune buggies etc. and essouira is a very relaxed town with some great restaurants . Breakfast was lovely on the roof and we enjoyed a few days just relaxing in, with such great staff and company it was a joy especially after the madness of marrekech . I cant recommend this Riad highly enough and without doubt will return for another visit.

Room Tip: ask for advice from Dominique as they are all different and will suit different needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nic p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Lovely place - great staff, nice and comfortable rooms. The food was very good, felt well cared-for and like we were in another world. I would only stay away if you have severe cat allergies, but you will have an issue with this most anywhere in Morocco. I would definitely return (especially since they are paving the road). Would be great to come with a group of girls to just chill out by the pool.

Also, my 7 yr old loved it. Loads of animals and nature to play with, beautiful grounds. They even let my daughter have a cooking lesson one night. She loved it.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Blue Room. Very peaceful and by the pool. Lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracySouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
8.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.8 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
4.7 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baoussala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baoussala

Property: Riad Baoussala
Address: Douar El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Baoussala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Baoussala is a lovely house situated in the nature, 9 kilometers south of Essaouira, and near by the wild beaches of Sidi Kaouki. This charming hotel is composed of 3 rooms and 3 suites, all differents, comfortables and stylish, they offer a quiet and peacefull atmosphere.From the gardens to the roof terraces, the pool to the Hammam, with your family of just as a couple, the Riad Baoussala is the perfect place to chill out and enjoy a stay near Essaouira.The pool is now heated at 28° all year arround thanks to an ecologique system. We offer a free access to the Hammam and we propose scrubs and massages upon request.Dominique, Leah and their team welcome you in this uncommom place where modernity and tradition are mixed for your pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Baoussala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Baoussala Essaouira
Riad Baoussala Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing