We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to chill out.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Baoussala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Baoussala
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“A great place to chill out.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Baoussala. The place was beautiful, stylishly decorated and very comfortable. Being out of the way of the main town it was peaceful, relaxing and we spent a lovely couple of nights drinking wine on the roof terrace looking at the stars (which we don’t see much of in London!)

We were made to feel completely at home by the owner and staff, who were as friendly as they were helpful. The food was delicious; we preferred our dinners there to those we had in the town.

All in all we thought it was excellent value, and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_W_149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    45
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
247
266
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed at Riad Baoussala for 3 nights back in May and we wish we could have stayed longer! If you want to just totally relax and eat lovely food then this is the place for you. The Riad itself is in the middle of nowhere but this is exactly what we wanted after a 4 days stay in Marrakech. The Riad is about 20 mins away from Essaouira itself however we spent one day/evening there and didn't feel like we were missing out. Dominique and her staff are extremely helpful and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble for them. We stayed in the Red Room which was decorated beautifully and was very cosy and romantic. The food at Dominique's was the best we ate in Morocco and was superb value. The pool area was relaxing although there probably could do with more sun loungers especially when it;s at full capacity. If you want to completely relax and do nothing then Riad Baoussala is for you! !

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

Staying at Baoussala has been nothing but a pleasurable experience. Whilst booking with owner Dominique, I could already feel that this was going to be a stay to remember. Her correspondence was immediately prompt, professional and warm. On arrival on the premises, she greeted us and gave us a little tour of this little haven. Riad Baoussala is warm, colourful, extremely clean and just perfect to hide away from life's madness whilst chilling and soaking up the Moroccan sun. The food was also divine and the service friendly and impeccable. I spent my 30th birthday there and can happily say that I wouldn't have changed a single thing about my choice of location!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tachapeyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

We recently stayed for a week at Baoussala with our 15th month old daughter and will hopefully be back one day. The riad is about a half an hour drive from Essaouira down the bumpiest, rockiest road you will ever drive down and is literally in the middle of nowhere, but once inside the gate it is like an oasis of calm and relaxation. The staff are incredibly welcoming and do everything they can you make you feel at home. We ate dinner every night in the courtyard and enjoyed a variety of tasty Moroccan cuisine. Our daughter had a great time too and learnt to walk whilst we were there. A taxi ride into Essaouira costs 100 dirhams each way and we went in a few times to haggle very poorly in the souks! We loved Baoussala and thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifteen_15_Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

What an amazing place! We had a fabulous stay with Dominique and will defiantly be revisiting the unique and beautiful ‘Baoussala’ in the near future. Each room is uniquely decorated with style, attention to detail and charm, and the gardens and courtyard add to the feeling that you’ve found an oasis.

The staff are such warm and inviting people, they made each day such a pleasure. The hospitable atmosphere is perfectly complimented by the entertaining characters, making your time here magical.

We ate at some of the most highly regarded restaurants in Essaouria, but can safely say that the meals at Baoussala were by far the best and most exciting.

Dominique, Emanuel and Rachid are such wonderful hosts, we look forward to seeing you soon!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camille_Lucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

We found this hotel on the internet and, despite the fact it was in the middle of nowhere, we decided to end our trip around Morroco with 2 nights there relaxing. We are so glad that we did!

The taxi took us along an unmettled road, and you really wonder where you are going, and then you pull into Baoussala, and the smiling staff arrive to whisk your bags to your room, bring you drinks by the pool and entertain your children!

Our 2 children loved it. Our 4 year old ran around exploring with another young boy that was staying, swinging in hammocks, playing with kittens and tortoises and discovering new plants. Our baby was provided with a cot. There were toys and floats by the pool, food for children was produced whenever you asked for it (and often not charged for), laundry could be done - bliss!

This meant that the adults could do some serious relaxing. There was always great music playing by the pool, wine and beer appeared whenever you asked for it, and it was such a sociable place! As there are only 6 rooms, everyone spoke to each other, talking around the pool or over dinner.

Our suite was beautiful - it looked a bit like an Italian trulli. It had its own patio outside with plenty of candles, so kids could be put to bed and then you could sit with a drink and a good book. There were plenty of other places for lounging to - the lounge indoors is beautiful and full of african art, drums, guitars, cushions, etc.

This places was perfect - and would be amazing for a big group of friends for a house party. The only tiny negative is that you are in the middle of nowhere surrounded by wild donkeys, ferral dogs and lots of goats, so you can't go wandering far. Getting a taxi to Essaouira or Sidi K costs about 15 euros each way, so quite expensive. I suggest going, chilling, and leaving totally relaxed!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thewanderingkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

We stayed at Baoussala for 7 nights with our two year old daughter. We have never experienced sucg genuine hospitality and great service. The feel of the riad is very chilled out and laid back. The staff are always around to accomodate your needs. The food was very tasty and great value. This is a great place for children, very child friendly. Our two year old felt very at home here and could wander around with ease. The rooms are uniquely designed and very comfortable. I would stay anywhere else in Essaouira. There is great local information on hand and Dommenique and her staff are on hand to offer advice and tips on where to go and what to do. It was a shock to our system when we left for Marrakech to our next riad as the service and hospitality was no where near as great as this place.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank filis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.0 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
5.5 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
7.0 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#21 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
4.3 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.2 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#9 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baoussala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baoussala

Property: Riad Baoussala
Address: Douar El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Baoussala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Baoussala is a lovely house situated in the nature, 9 kilometers south of Essaouira, and near by the wild beaches of Sidi Kaouki. This charming hotel is composed of 3 rooms and 3 suites, all differents, comfortables and stylish, they offer a quiet and peacefull atmosphere.From the gardens to the roof terraces, the pool to the Hammam, with your family of just as a couple, the Riad Baoussala is the perfect place to chill out and enjoy a stay near Essaouira.The pool is now heated at 28° all year arround thanks to an ecologique system. We offer a free access to the Hammam and we propose scrubs and massages upon request.Dominique, Leah and their team welcome you in this uncommom place where modernity and tradition are mixed for your pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Baoussala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Baoussala Essaouira
Riad Baoussala Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing