We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Dar on a top location”
Review of Dar Ness

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Ness
Ranked #32 of 178 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed in this Dar for 5 nights. Very helpfull staff. In the evening they made a fire wood in the sitting room where we could use our laptop to watch tv via wifi with a nice cup of mint tea. A good breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace or in the patio. We could park our bikes in the patio of the Dar.

Room Tip: We slept on the first floor in a beautiful bedroom with authentic details. This seems to be the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenkenCobiDiepeveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

Very well restored Riad, rooms furnished with great taste and very clean, each of the rooms has its own atmoshphere and colours, with all necessary confort (without TV thank god). Breakfast on the terrace is wonderful. Located inside the Medina, but calm and very close to port (seafood from the grill) and beach, and just next to Café de France and Gelateria where to have wonderful capuccino in the afternoon.
Many many thanks for the warm welcome of the owner couple Elisabeth and James and their staff, esp. Leila and Ali, who all made our stay unforgettable while fulfilling all our special wishes (including a dinner party for 17 people) with friendlyness and high competence.
For those who are not used to the slight sound of a bell tower at night or the muezzin at sunrise: You cannot escape from it in Essaouira, so just get along with it. You will like it.

Room Tip: If you feel to need wifi also in your room book on the first floor. If you prefer to have some sun i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hummel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Spent two weeks in Morocco at Christmas and ended the holiday at Dar Ness. What a great finish! The staff were helpful and friendly. The night manager recommended some great restaurants for dinner and made the best mint tea in town when we got home in the evening. Was so nice to sit around a nice warm fire at night and read when we weren't exploring town.
The rooms were spacious and the whole property was lovely. Beautiful sunny rooftop for breakfast (if you aren't afraid of the seagulls!)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I spent 2 nights in this hotel with my wife and daughter. the hotel is not very comfortable but it is lovely and quiet. it is well located in the medina of Essaouira near the port and the place hassan 2 where you can attend activities during the festival but at the same time, it is far from the noise of the place. there is a parking at 100 m (2 € for 24 hours). The hotel is an old traditional house, decorated in a traditional way, the team is very friendly and welcoming. Food is 100% natural. only concern, no wifi in the rooms but you can log into the courtyard and lounge.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We travelled to Essaouira from Marrakech for a change of scenery and cooler temperature and stayed overnight at Dar Ness before returning to Marrakech the following afternoon. We found it easily in a very central location along a quiet street just off the Main Square and very close to the beach. Although not on the sea front, the sea can be seen from the roof terrace. The staff were very helpful during our brief stay. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The main Mosque is very close so the 4 am prayer call is very very loud - perhaps ear plugs might muffle the sound a little or just go up on to the roof terrace and soak up the Moroccan atmosphere which is what it's all about really! Would recommend Dar Ness to other travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolesusan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I stayed in this hotel for three nights during the annual Gnawa festival. It was ideally situated, being close enough to the main stage to be agreeably lulled to sleep by the last concert of the night, but far enough away not to be bothered by crowds in the street outside the hotel. The staff are charming and helpful, my room spotlessly clean and roomy. Breakfast was good, and it was truly that cliché "a haven of peace" to return to when I had enough of being outside in the mêlée.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We chose this hotel just the day before we arrive and it became one of the best surprises in our trip. Although the people were a little more friendly than in the other riads we were, they were always pleased to help us with what we asked for. The only missing thing was the mint tea that in other places always offered us.
The room was amazing, absolutely clean, beautiful and incredible iluminated.... I think there was the only rrom we stayed at that had a big window and natural light.
We had breakfast at the roof of the riad, a fantastic experience, hearing the birds and enjoyning the sun, wonderful.
I will not hesitate to return to the same riad if I go again to Essaouira.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaJoseY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Casa Lila
Riad Casa Lila
#27 of 75 in Essaouira
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#13 of 75 in Essaouira
820 reviews
0.1 mi away
La maison des artistes
La maison des artistes
#24 of 75 in Essaouira
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad O Gre du Vent
Riad O Gre du Vent
#8 of 178 in Essaouira
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Loulema
Dar Loulema
#58 of 178 in Essaouira
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jack's Apartments & suites
Jack's Apartments & suites
#27 of 178 in Essaouira
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ness

Address: 1 Rue Khalib Ben Walid | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: £38 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dar Ness 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Dar Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing